Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should / Will Mateo Start Finals Week 1?

Parra Steve

I think we'll have a better game plan this week, last week seemed just to a warm up and a preview of what the dragons can do, now that we know hopefully we can shut them down.

Kornstar

Thats right BF, our gameplan is to play footy - offloads, 2nd Phase play, throwing it wide. Unfortunately, the Saints won't allow us to do that like other sides have so that is our dilemma.

They were awake to that last Friday and once they stopped our offloads we didn't stand a chance. Plan B?

I think we were going through the motions tbh. I don't think we took the game too seriously.

The way we played for 7 weeks would have troubled them on Friday night, even though they were almost perfect we could have went close. We weren't playing naturally imo.

There was no sting in our defence, to me it looked forced, almost fake.....

I am expecting this week to be a great game, just the 37-0 scoreline may be something that gets them over the line from a psychological point of view.

Yep.

Look, they needed to play well last week. They needed to give everything they had.

They were forced to, in essence, put their cards on the table whilst we were not.

Sure, they won't come out and play exactly the same as last week but their play on Sunday won't be so drastically different that we can't use last Friday as a semi-blueprint.

We, however, have the option of totally changing what we did and coming out as a totally different football side.

I would only start Feleti if I knew for certain he would have the same impact in the 80th minute than he would for the 1st minute.

Raudonikis

Mate I played for Port kembla, Did you ever have a onfield stoush or two with a good looking (not as good looking as HJ I'll admit ) second rower in your time? :D .

I only moved down this way couple of years back, in the nick of time to watch Wendell play at Ron Costello Oval :roll:

I played with and against heaps of the port guys,dont know how old you are,i was the era when walshy was there/russ kent/clem Renda.
No i didnt get into blues with forwards i was a half for collies and had forwards who looked after me like john piper, bill owens, Ned Ryan in those days. lol

Raudonikis

I would only start Feleti if I knew for certain he would have the same impact in the 80th minute than he would for the 1st minute.

Stagger im sure he would,with a break in between..We need him for the early breakthrough.We all know he has that ability in him and last week he showed what he is capable of.But it was to late at 18 down.