Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Siosiua Taukeiaho

expert

Roosters powerhouse Sio Siua Taukeiaho has emerged as one of the most destructive forwards in the NRL but saved his heaviest hit of the season for former club the Warriors.
Two months after being told he wasn’t wanted the Auckland-born 23 year old made his NRL debut in 2013 at the Warriors, it was disappointing news at the time but after moving to Bondi he’s joined Sam Tomkins in questioning the clubs culture and professionalism.
“The Warriors is just all over the place.” Taukeiaho said.
“I didn’t learn much at the Warriors but I’m learning alot here from the coaching staff, Trent Robbinson and the players here as well.”
Taukeiaho has played every game for the premiership favourites this season in what is arguably the most feared forward pack in the NRL.
Roosters coach Trent Robinson has given Taukeiaho the ultimate compliment, labelling him his side’s replacement for Sonny Bill Williams, but the Kiwi firebrand says the club should take all the credit.
“The professionalism here is way different to back at home with the Warriors.”
“All the preparation they do and just how they prepare themselves for every game. That’s the difference.”
Taukeiaho has quickly adapted to the professional culture at the Roosters and has also taken it upon himself to lead the star-studded pack with fellow Kiwi Jared Waerea-Hargreaves out for the remainder of the season with injury.
“Losing Jared who is one of our top players, the one that leads our forward pack is a big loss for us.” Taukeiaho said.
“It’s an opportunity for me, Napa and Sam Moa to stand up and lead the team.” Taukeiaho said.
It’s been a remarkable turnaround for Taukeiaho on and off the football field, not so long ago his parents threatened to send him to Tonga in a drastic attempt to save him from mixing with the wrong crowd on the tough streets of Auckland.
Taukeiaho is now just five weeks away from achieving every players dream by winning an NRL premiership and is also considered a strong chance to become the first New Zealander to be crowned Rookie of the Year. http://www.sportal.com.au/league/nrl...a18f1g8vtbdqaw

Chook

Roosters powerhouse Sio Siua Taukeiaho has emerged as one of the most destructive forwards in the NRL but saved his heaviest hit of the season for former club the Warriors.
Two months after being told he wasn?t wanted the Auckland-born 23 year old made his NRL debut in 2013 at the Warriors, it was disappointing news at the time but after moving to Bondi he?s joined Sam Tomkins in questioning the clubs culture and professionalism.
?The Warriors is just all over the place.? Taukeiaho said.
?I didn?t learn much at the Warriors but I?m learning alot here from the coaching staff, Trent Robbinson and the players here as well.?
Taukeiaho has played every game for the premiership favourites this season in what is arguably the most feared forward pack in the NRL.
Roosters coach Trent Robinson has given Taukeiaho the ultimate compliment, labelling him his side?s replacement for Sonny Bill Williams, but the Kiwi firebrand says the club should take all the credit.
?The professionalism here is way different to back at home with the Warriors.?
?All the preparation they do and just how they prepare themselves for every game. That?s the difference.?
Taukeiaho has quickly adapted to the professional culture at the Roosters and has also taken it upon himself to lead the star-studded pack with fellow Kiwi Jared Waerea-Hargreaves out for the remainder of the season with injury.
?Losing Jared who is one of our top players, the one that leads our forward pack is a big loss for us.? Taukeiaho said.
?It?s an opportunity for me, Napa and Sam Moa to stand up and lead the team.? Taukeiaho said.
It?s been a remarkable turnaround for Taukeiaho on and off the football field, not so long ago his parents threatened to send him to Tonga in a drastic attempt to save him from mixing with the wrong crowd on the tough streets of Auckland.
Taukeiaho is now just five weeks away from achieving every players dream by winning an NRL premiership and is also considered a strong chance to become the first New Zealander to be crowned Rookie of the Year. [URL="http://www.sportal.com.au/league/nrl...a18f1g8vtbdqaw"]http://www.sportal.com.au/league/nrl...a18f1g8vtbdqaw[/URL]

SST is fast becoming the Beast of Bondi. I hope he stays on top of his game and I hope RTS read that.

Chook.

Chook

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ys-coach-andrew-mcfadden-20150903-gjeot8.html

Warriors coach Andrew McFadden says it was unacceptable for three of his players to be partying at a concert in Auckland on Friday, two days before an NRL clash in which the team was thrashed 50-16 by the Wests Tigers.

Konrad Hurrell, Dominique Peyroux and Manu Vatuvei went to the Ginuwine concert at The Studio and posted videos of them on stage with the American R&B star to social media sites. While there haven't been any suggestions that the players were drunk, it was a bad look for the embattled club, which has missed out on play-off football for yet another season.

I wonder how much the professionalism of the Roosters can be attributed to RTS and his form?

Chook.

If SST had a name that was easier to pronounce, he would be named Rookie of the Year by a country mile.

Unfortunately, I think it will go to Jack Bird, despite SST being (IMO) our best forward this year apart from JWH. In a team that boasts Cordner, Guerra, Aubo, Napa, Moa and Evans, it's incredible that he has been the standout.

Tommy Smith

He's not eligible for RotY as he debuted in 2013.

As for SST, I rate him a far more complete player than Taumalolo. Who would have thought we'd have a reckon ball with ball skills and a motor to put Taumalolo to shame in 2015!

mxlegend99

Reckon ball? Lol.

He's a beast. Wish Panthers had a wrecking ball like him. Our last was a Roosters reject in Mose Masoe and we let him leave early.

nick87

I hope Canberra back the f**king truck up for this guy when he's off contract. He's so good, probably my favourite player non raiders player in the game right now. I like him enough to over come my hatred of Fergo and make me want you guys win the comp.
Absolute weapon

He's not eligible for RotY as he debuted in 2013.

As for SST, I rate him a far more complete player than Taumalolo. Who would have thought we'd have a reckon ball with ball skills and a motor to put Taumalolo to shame in 2015!

He's eligible because he played less than 3 games in the NRL before this year. Unless they changed the rules?

Luke Brooks won the award last year, but made his debut in 2013.

expert

I'm as proud of this kid as I would be my own... Tauks is coming along nicely and his best footy is yet to come.

expert

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ys-coach-andrew-mcfadden-20150903-gjeot8.html

Warriors coach Andrew McFadden says it was unacceptable for three of his players to be partying at a concert in Auckland on Friday, two days before an NRL clash in which the team was thrashed 50-16 by the Wests Tigers.

Konrad Hurrell, Dominique Peyroux and Manu Vatuvei went to the Ginuwine concert at The Studio and posted videos of them on stage with the American R&B star to social media sites. While there haven't been any suggestions that the players were drunk, it was a bad look for the embattled club, which has missed out on play-off football for yet another season.

I wonder how much the professionalism of the Roosters can be attributed to RTS and his form?

Chook.
I don't think RTS will be half the player under the Fad..

Lambretta

Taukeiaho has been immense all year and is quickly becoming a fan favourite. Matagi has also impressed at times, pity he's been signed by Penrith

SpaceMonkey

Taukeiaho has been immense all year and is quickly becoming a fan favourite. Matagi has also impressed at times, pity he's been signed by Penrith

Matagi is ok but nothing amazing, which is probably why the Warriors let him go in the first place, we had better, younger guys in Lisone and Vete. I'm guessing the chooks saw the same. He'll have a decent journeymans career but that's about it. SST is great though.