Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

SMH Footy Guide Singelton agenda

ak47

Gould cant communicate on a 2 way street.........the reply button doesnt exist in his eyes

Hence all he does is write articles.........

He gets burnt everytime otherwise........he needs to jump from the commentary box still

Chachi

Thicko's I agree that we shouldn't hold our breath awaiting a response from this clown. You may have confused the poor b@stard with too many facts for him to comprehend.

It's just a shame that such a vocal and well-connected "commentator" finds pleasure in writing absolute garbage that not only rubbishes the teams he is not affiliated with, but also damages the competition and game in general. In some ways I pity this man as he clearly has not recovered from the Super League drama which so obviously clouds every statement that dribbles its way out of his mouth.

As we all know, the NRL is currently in a battle to hold market share over the likes of AFL and Soccer and the last thing we need is ignorant fools like this undermining our code from the inside. Let's leave that sort of crap to Rugby Union. Unfortunately he is too wrapped up in his own self-importance for him to crawl out of his own @rse and consider any other opinion.

reptar

Chachi said:
In some ways I pity this man as he clearly has not recovered from the Super League drama which so obviously clouds every statement that dribbles its way out of his mouth.

I don't know why he's so upset about the Super League episode (still!!!), he profited rather handsomely from it.

mongoose

I say keep it coming, the raiders thrive off this stuff. We were a bunch of nobodies in the late 80s and look what happened. I just hope the other teams are buying into this crap because if they are they are going to get absolutely steamrolled by our forward pack.

julian87

You won't get a response and when we lose our first game of the season he will say some thing along the lines of "Canberra fans have taken great offense to my tip that they will get wooden spoon etc" and it will be on camera.

reptar

julian87 said:
You won't get a response and when we lose our first game of the season he will say some thing along the lines of "Canberra fans have taken great offense to my tip that they will get wooden spoon etc" and it will be on camera.
I hope not. The last thing I want is for his ugly face on my TV. There's advantages to large plasma TVs, and there's disadvantages too...

trev

Hi Guys

I'm a Raiders supporter from Brisbane. The papers up here have been quite decent towards the Raiders over the off-season as far as neutral coverage goes. Typically, I'd be lucky to see much at all. Anytime the Raiders get any attention from most of the media, it's usually something negative, or if they have actually won something, it's because the other team wasn't on their game.

What I am getting at is I really don't care what the media say about the Raiders. I have got used to reading the same crap every week. The lack of coverage on free-to-air TV and very little coverage on adversiting campaigns is pretty normal.

It's a real shame because the team works damn hard and they are a really decent group of people, and deserve just as much good press as any other team.

I hope the Raiders do really well this year, so they can stick it up all the people giving them crap. I am confident they will do well.

shear_joy9

I got so fed up with the Raiders free-to-air coverage, that ended up getting Foxtel.

Also, I just shake my head in disbelief with every thing Gould says.

His love of his pet teams and players is quite sickening.
Funny though how he says that the Roosters are "well on the way to rebuilding towards past greatness" whereas the Raiders are just tumbling down.

We should all wear Roosters shirts and beat him up.

dubby

thickos said:
Sent this to Phil Gould's email address at the SunH (shsport@mail.fairfax.com.au) this morning. Like all of you I'm disgusted with the agenda at play here...

Dear Phil,
it is time you come clean with your agenda against the Canberra Raiders. I and many like-minded Raiders fans are sick of hearing uninformed and poorly researched opinion pieces saying that Canberra is a 'club in trouble.' If you want to tip us to run last in season 2007, then fine - that is your opinion and you are not alone, and someone has to collect the spoon. But to question our existence in the NRL - what right do you have to do such a thing, if you're not going to back it up with some evidence? Are you leading an agenda to have the Raiders' licence relocated to the Central Coast?

Fact is, the Raiders are supported by a string of league clubs throughout the ACT. We have a full array of sponsors - jersey, sleeve, short and signage - lined up for the next three years at a good price so there is no financial issue at stake. Canberra and surrounds produce some of the finest juniors year after year and some of the league's hottest young prospects are on our books right now - some until 2010. The Raiders club may have only been around for 25 years but we have produced more legends and won more titles in that time than many of the 'glamour' sides in Sydney who hog more than their fare share of media space - including your beloved Chooks.

So rather than writing 'easy' articles about "ooh look at all the players who have left Canberra" - why don't you do some research and write something positive about young guys like William Zillman, Todd Carney, Michael Weyman, or even rookie coach Neil Henry? These guys are going to be superstars and Neil has all the makings of a great NRL coach - yet all the Sydney-centric media can do is savage the Raiders to pieces, because, simply, it is the easy option. Last week when the Raiders lost to the Broncos 'reserves' it was like the beginning of the apocalypse in the eyes of the Sydney tabloids - you're only as good as your last match though and last time I checked the Raiders knocked off the 2005 premiers 26-4... and they were at full strength. However I'm sure the write-up will be that "it's only a trial" and "the Raiders are still crap." Funny how things like that stay true.

So Phil, either come clean with evidence or shut up about the Raiders' future. Your position and influence means that the unfounded diatribe you come up with about Canberra means that a lot of people will start to believe it and that is just not fair, right or just.

Looking forward to the Green Machine proving you, and all the critics wrong - again - because that is what we do.

*stands clapping hands*

Brilliant letter Thickos, bloody brilliant. Its a shame it probably wont sink into that thick head of Goulds. You used too many words that have more than 4 letters...:p

Good on you for sticking up for the club mate!

thickos

No reply... as expected :lol:

Thanks for the support guys, much appreciated. Gould will have to be reminded regularly about every bit of success we have this season :)

BTW did anyone read the comment about us in 'Rugby League Review' ? It was a humdinger....

"Couldn't league be better served elsewhere?"

mongoose

There is definately something fishy going on. Phil Gould is not stupid, he knows the kind of talent this club can produce and he has wanted his hands on it since his days with the roosters. Now for some reason he doesn't want to see it in canberra. I don't think hes a fan of neil henry either, who ofcourse was assistant to graham murray.