Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Smith should stay on at Eels: Hindmarsh

December 13, 2005 - 3:47PM

Parramatta backrower Nathan Hindmarsh has expressed his disappointment that coach Brian Smith won't be at the NRL club beyond next season, with senior teammates echoing the international forward's sentiments.

The Eels board accepted a recommendation by CEO Denis Fitzgerald not to renew Smith's contract beyond 2006, with his successor to be appointed before next year's kick-off.

Hindmarsh said the players had accepted the decision to end Smith's decade-long association with the blue and golds, although he admitted he would have liked for him to continue.

"I would have been happy for him to stay on, personally I would have," Hindmarsh said.

"I wasn't getting bored of him, I was learning new things from him all the time.

"I think Parramatta is run very professionally and that's a big reason why I keep re-signing here, just the way the club is run and the way the coaches coach.

"It came on as a shock, he's been here for 10 years so not being asked to re-sign is a blow to him.

"In the end he's been a top first grade coach, one of the best going around.

"Whoever we get (for 2007) we'll be happy with, we won't be kicking up a stink about the coach. We'll get on and play football, we just want to get a grand final."

Fellow backrowers Daniel Wagon and Glenn Morrison also said they wanted Smith to stay on, with Morrison citing the veteran coach as one of the main reasons he joined the club last year.

"I had him as coach for the Country side for a few years and always found him great, easy to talk to and a really good football brain," Morrison said.

"He brought out my best game and I think again last year I was playing good footy under him and the way I want to play.

"Definitely (I want him to stay), he was one of the main reasons I moved back down and signed to play with Parramatta.

"He's a great coach and it will be sad to see him go."

Prop Michael Vella said Smith's reputation as a prickly customer was unjust, stating he was largely misunderstood by fans and the media.

"Everyone seems to think that he's uptight and a bit of a control freak but he just loves his footy and he puts a lot of work into it," Vella said.

"I think everyone misunderstands him. I don't think many clubs need extra motivation but if ever there was any, (winning for Smith) is it."

Five-eighth John Morris was confident speculation over Smith's replacement wouldn't distract the team's preparations for next year, instead declaring it would be a source of motivation.

"We have just put that aside and let the club and the board deal with that sort of stuff" he said.

"I'm sure the boys will be putting in a bit extra for Brian."

© 2005 AAP
http://smh.com.au/news/Sport/Smith-should-stay-on-at-Eels-Hindmarsh/2005/12/13/1134236050126.html

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
We will need to work very hard to sign Nathan beyond this contract IMO :(

number8

A part of me could handle it on a moral level if he left with Smitty. I look back at 2003 or 2004 when he gave it to the fans on the Footy show in defence of Smitty & the teams drop in performance. And he was dead right.

They never did get an apology when they turned it around. All the fans that were booing them over that time just jumped straight back in like they had never turned. I'd bear a massive grudge if I was any one of those players & I half expect none of them have forgotten. I was actually very envious of the Knights early this year when they where getting caned, because their supporters never turned on them.

You want to talk about what gets you home emotionally in GF don't look at the Coach alone. The fans get their teams home. And all our fans who think our players are doing it for them............. Probably about half of you are right. That's not enough!

If Hindmarsh or Cayless or anyone for that matter follows Smith. I'd have to feel a bit like we deserved it. Loyalty goes both ways, as does support. We can never get back 2003 & 2004 when most fans showed their true colours.

I hope like hell we can win it next year too...I reckon its now or never (well maybe not never, but possibly a way off) - our experienced guys aren't getting any younger and our young guys have a year under their belt and some big game experience to learn from.

Fire up boys!

parra pete

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Briam Smith has been VERY good at the Eels. He has helped develop players both in their performances on and off the field. The Club is a better place for him being here. Whoever follows him has a very hard act to follow and BIG shoes to fill.

number8 said:
A part of me could handle it on a moral level if he left with Smitty. I look back at 2003 or 2004 when he gave it to the fans on the Footy show in defence of Smitty & the teams drop in performance. And he was dead right.

They never did get an apology when they turned it around. All the fans that were booing them over that time just jumped straight back in like they had never turned. I'd bear a massive grudge if I was any one of those players & I half expect none of them have forgotten. I was actually very envious of the Knights early this year when they where getting caned, because their supporters never turned on them.

You want to talk about what gets you home emotionally in GF don't look at the Coach alone. The fans get their teams home. And all our fans who think our players are doing it for them............. Probably about half of you are right. That's not enough!

If Hindmarsh or Cayless or anyone for that matter follows Smith. I'd have to feel a bit like we deserved it. Loyalty goes both ways, as does support. We can never get back 2003 & 2004 when most fans showed their true colours.

True.

But a lot of people spoke out of frustration. I say this because I criticised Brian in 2003 and 2004, but deep down I appreciated all the work he put into our club.

There are two ways to look at it:

(1) passion for the team, leading to frustration when they struggle and eventually boos;

(2) loyalty as in the Knights this year.

I think it's fair to say that every fan who has been critical of Brian and the team in recent years spoke purely out of love and passion for the club.

It is true what they say - you have to appreciate the low times to really appreciate the good times.

But to me, a team like ours should have performed better in 2001 and since. And to Brian's credit we got it together.

Kudos to him for that.

I didn't boo the team in 2003 or 2004, but I can certainly see why people would - that loss to the Premier League Dragons team was appalling. There was no heart, no passion, no skill- nothing shown at all that night.

Even in 2003 when we came from behind in consecutive weeks to defeat the Warriors and Cowboys we showed heart.

Hurriflatch

I just wonder how many Smith-bashers will feel that way if his leaving sees Hindy leave at the end of this current deal.

Brian Smith has done pretty much more for this club then any other coach

Yes Jack Gibson won a lot of titles and Brian didn't but the structure from HArold Matthews through to the top grade, development programs, training, recruitment etc that Brian has brought to the club has been by almost all his critics ignored.

but in saying that I think a change was needed but I don't think Brian should've been dumped completly if he wants it he should be offered a coaching director type role regardless of if a rookie coach like JT or someone with years of experience like Warren Ryan become coach.

Hellsy

parra pete said:
I've said it before and I'll say it again. Briam Smith has been VERY good at the Eels. He has helped develop players both in their performances on and off the field. The Club is a better place for him being here. Whoever follows him has a very hard act to follow and BIG shoes to fill.

Absolutely PP, he is going to be an immense loss to the club. I can't believe they haven't offered him a coaching directors role or something

number8

Brian coaches because he love it. He has stayed in the job here 9 years because he is so good at it.

Hellsy said:
Absolutely PP, he is going to be an immense loss to the club. I can't believe they haven't offered him a coaching directors role or something

Because they know what a slap in the face it would be to him. He is one of a very small group of great modern coaches & should be in a top job somewhere. If not here than elsewhere.

He's better than any title our club can give him other than head coach. We have nothing else to offer him. He is a coach & loves coaching. They know it & that's why nothing will be offered.

number8

Eelementary said:
I didn't boo the team in 2003 or 2004, but I can certainly see why people would - that loss to the Premier League Dragons team was appalling. There was no heart, no passion, no skill- nothing shown at all that night.

Even in 2003 when we came from behind in consecutive weeks to defeat the Warriors and Cowboys we showed heart.

I have to disagree mate. Not with everything but parts of that. There was plenty of ticker shown that night but you are right there was no skill. I watched it again on Sunday & They were doing all they could to claw back & that was the problem. They were trying too hard on a night that just wasn't ours.

People are also remembering that game as if we were playing a reserve grade team. Not so. All those guys almost immediately afterward forced permanant selection in the top side & simply showed they were always 1st graders waiting for a shot. Guys like Poore, Simms & Head, showed were good enough to see the Dragons release Firman & more recently Thompson.

The Dragons that year were much like we were this year with not just great depth but great talent & skill in that depth. The difference was they had injuries & had to run them. But I would expect our prems to stand up in much the same way if in a similar situation.

We didn't bend over. They were a better team. Get the old Programe out & look at the head to heads now with the benefit of hindsight. It wasn't so bad that they deserved what they copped (the boos). It was just a loss like many others.

I don't think there's a person here who doesn't want Brian to stay on in some capacity.

Hellsy

number8 said:
Brian coaches because he love it. He has stayed in the job here 9 years because he is so good at it.

Because they know what a slap in the face it would be to him. He is one of a very small group of great modern coaches & should be in a top job somewhere. If not here than elsewhere.

He's better than any title our club can give him other than head coach. We have nothing else to offer him. He is a coach & loves coaching. They know it & that's why nothing will be offered.

They still could have offered it and let Brian decide

who knows, maybe they'll still offer Brian another role, the problem is will Brian take a pay cut to accept that role? I can't help feeling that the root of the problem is that Fitzy wants a coach that doesn't cost as much to the club as the current one.

dazeely

eelavation said:
who knows, maybe they'll still offer Brian another role, the problem is will Brian take a pay cut to accept that role? I can't help feeling that the root of the problem is that Fitzy wants a coach that doesn't cost as much to the club as the current one.

JT would be perfecto then. Definately paid less than Hagan

dazeely said:
JT would be perfecto then. Definately paid less than Hagan

maybe? but then again any sort of deal offered to coach our first grade team with the set up and facilities on hand is a good one.

dazeely

If money was one of Fitzy's main concerns then JT would win over Hagan then. Considering Hagan has won a premiership and coaches an Origin team.

dazeely said:
If money was one of Fitzy's main concerns then JT would win over Hagan then. Considering Hagan has won a premiership and coaches an Origin team.

if reports are correct Smith is on 400K, Hagan is apparently no where near that amount so he won't be offered any where near the amount Smith is on.

If Fitzy is looking for an experianced coach? Hagan will win hands down, even if he has to pay that little extra to entice him at the club rather than give JT a promotion.

number8

eelavation said:
I don't think there's a person here who doesn't want Brian to stay on in some capacity.

I would love that more than anything.

The selfish Eels fan in me would hate to see him anywhere else. The scheming Eels fan in me would like to see him stay to squash danger of a later player exodus to a New Smitty coached club.

More importantly those selfish thoughts aside. I think he is a top coach & just like the bloke. I am very dissapointed in the decision.

Hellsy said:
They still could have offered it and let Brian decide

If they were giving the job to JT I could see a lot to gain from that. For both parties. If they do run with a Hagan or someone from outside, well...

Look, Put yourself in his shoes. I remember seeing you got a 10 year appreciation thing in your job a few months ago (congratulations on that btw). Imagine being told that business could no longer keep you on in the same capacity past this time next year. Imagine they told you what a great job you've done over that time but were afraid they have to offer you a reduced position or redundency. One week later Advertisments go out for the position you had held for a decade.

Say you were branch Manager for ten years & were asked to shift back to the shop floor after a decade. That is what the club would be doing if they offered Smith a reduced role.

I'd love nothing more than to have Smitty offer his continued support in whatever capacity the club would like. But that needs to be something done of his own steam & within things that he is in control of. A claytons role just wouldn't suffice. A slap in the face as I said.

The club should open the door for Brian to have some options without necccearily offering somthing up imo.