Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Some Sharks Fans Are A Disgrace

footy75

Stretched the family budget to get to the game against Manly on Friday.

We are Sharks fans for over 30 years.

Don't go to live games often as we cannot afford it always and thought I'll treat the family for the Sharks biggest game in 5 years.

We are of Asian heritage and had to put up with racists taunts all night.

Pathetic behaviour from some of the Sharks fans. If I did not have my 14 year old daughter and wife with me, I would have layed into them.

Chi chong chong chi comments directed at us all night.

Other comments were like "Manly are full of Monkeys, hardly an Anglo Saxon team"

What a disgrace for our Club.

Mate that's disgusting behaviour and I'm sorry it happened.

Your experience was ruined by a bunch of morons.

I know for a fact there are Asian kids in the Cronulla supporters group.
So I can pretty much confirm it wasn't them if this has in fact actually happened.

I also find it unbelievable if nobody within ear shot didn't give these people a mouthful.

Were you and your family wearing any sharks gear?

Generalzod

I know for a fact there are Asian kids in the Cronulla supporters group.
So I can pretty much confirm it wasn't them if this has in fact actually happened.

I also find it unbelievable if nobody within ear shot didn't give these people a mouthful.

Were you and your family wearing any sharks gear?

Its a load of crap....

BunniesMan

It's dismissed but there is a xenophobic culture that a lot of shire people support.

It's the only non upper class part of Sydney that is very white. Not having many "foreigners" as neighbours or classmates can lead people to grow up with racist beliefs.

I'm a white guy who was born in Liverpool, grew up in Cabramatta and went to a school that was close to 90% asian. Because of that I don't have a single racist bone in my body. I can see racism and xenophobia for the completely stupid and complete wrong mentalities that they are. And I am able to judge people by the content of their character and not the colour of their skin.

Sadly there is an undercurrent of racism among many people in Australia which is so sad considering Australia is the most successfully integrated society on earth.

But we still see things like I saw last summer on Australia day when a little girl with a strong aussie accent was wearing Aussie flag colours from head to toe and she was reduced to tears by some drunk nazi wannabe bogan telling her family to "go back to your own country because we're full". Their crime was being of asian background while not disturbing anybody.

Too many people ignore racism or just excuse it as "just a joke".

Stagger Lee

I'm a white guy who was born in Liverpool, grew up in Cabramatta and went to a school that was close to 90% asian. Because of that I don't have a single racist bone in my body. I can see racism and xenophobia for the completely stupid and complete wrong mentalities that they are. And I am able to judge people by the content of their character and not the colour of their skin.

Sadly there is an undercurrent of racism among many people in Australia which is so sad considering Australia is the most successfully integrated society on earth.

Quoted to compare to other Bunnyman posts

WaznTheGreat

If you grew up in Derpamatta you should be an Eels fan,2014 we got dis bruh

Hayne,Hoppa,Sandow the new big 3

How the hell does someone who grew up in carbamatta
know who has who as a neighbour in the shire?
I live in the shire and my neighbour is not an Aussie.
Canadian and Indian in fact.
My eldest sons two best mates at school are both from non Australian back grounds.
My youngest sons best friend at kindy is Asian .

Generalzod

It's dismissed but there is a xenophobic culture that a lot of shire people support.

It's the only non upper class part of Sydney that is very white. Not having many "foreigners" as neighbours or classmates can lead people to grow up with racist beliefs.

But we still see things like I saw last summer on Australia day when a little girl with a strong aussie accent was wearing Aussie flag colours from head to toe and she was reduced to tears by some drunk nazi wannabe bogan telling her family to "go back to your own country because we're full". Their crime was being of asian background while not disturbing anybody.

Too many people ignore racism or just excuse it as "just a joke".

My neighbour is Canadian my daughter and son best mates are all Aussies they have never ever been called once a Mediterranean Descendant, unlike when I as growing up it was a different era......

drake

People are racist. f**k me it's the lowest common denominator. It's not a shire thing, an Aussie thing or an Anglo thing. Shit loads of my mates are of Asian heritage, whether that be east, south east, subcontinent or middle east and I've laughed at all of them for making low brow racist comments. The funniest part is when they've replied, "I'm not white, how's that racist?"

Explaining that 'gwaylo', which translates to white demon or white ghost, is racist really cracked me up. Or laughing when a white man with an Asian wife pissed some of the boys off.

"All Aussies are lazy and thieves"
"Yoghurt has more culture than Australia"
"You f**k the Aussie girls, you marry the good (insert migrant culture here) girl"

The very best is the ancient racisms between two cultures that existed for thousands of years next to each, and hearing the same vilification spouted by both sides.

Face it, Australia, and Sydney in particular, is nowhere near as xenophobic as mist places on earth. How many other countries would tolerate whole suburbs that were essentially outposts forva foreign culture and the national language was barely spoken?

In essence dickheads are gonna be dickheads. It's the ones who say the stupid shit in English that get the spotlight.

firechild

Quoted to compare to other Bunnyman posts

I grew up in Mosman. I now live in Coogee. I understand you westies with limited intelligence don't know Mosman from Point Piper and Bondi from Coogee.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=395186&page=3

How do Souths play in Historic Homebush. The mysteries of the universe...

(My dad got his big promotion in 2005. So we moved to a bigger house in a nicer suburb that same year. Before then we lived in Kellyville).

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?p=8223910

Oh dear. :roll:

BDR

I have always disliked the Sharks because of their fans. In all of my years at DFS (or 1300 whatever the f**k) I only ever witnessed two fist fights - both involved travelling Sharks fans. One against a Cowboys fan and once with security.

A lot of bad apples in that bunch.

magpie4ever

People are racist. f**k me it's the lowest common denominator. It's not a shire thing, an Aussie thing or an Anglo thing. Shit loads of my mates are of Asian heritage, whether that be east, south east, subcontinent or middle east and I've laughed at all of them for making low brow racist comments. The funniest part is when they've replied, "I'm not white, how's that racist?"

Explaining that 'gwaylo', which translates to white demon or white ghost, is racist really cracked me up. Or laughing when a white man with an Asian wife pissed some of the boys off.

"All Aussies are lazy and thieves"
"Yoghurt has more culture than Australia"
"You f**k the Aussie girls, you marry the good (insert migrant culture here) girl"

The very best is the ancient racisms between two cultures that existed for thousands of years next to each, and hearing the same vilification spouted by both sides.

Face it, Australia, and Sydney in particular, is nowhere near as xenophobic as mist places on earth. How many other countries would tolerate whole suburbs that were essentially outposts forva foreign culture and the national language was barely spoken?

In essence dickheads are gonna be dickheads. It's the ones who say the stupid shit in English that get the spotlight.

Best post on here; there is plenty of racism in all cultures. Yeah, and some against the anglo-saxons.

Can't count the number of times I've been called a skippy convict or some "white devil" term from Islanders.

Still, bogans will be bogans from all races. I'm sorry that the O/P and his family had to suffered the verbal taunts from these grubs.