Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Something missing from Grand Final Week

thorson1987

My team didn't make the finals this year, but I am enjoying them all the same. As much as you would love to see your own team go around, I find it just as enjoyable to be able to watch a game with no bias to either team.
When watching with "blinkered" eyes you can miss the great footy from both teams and have a tendency to "blame the ref" or see things that really didn't happen if it goes against "your" team.

My 2c

This.

Haffa

The first week finals one between these two was a cracker despite the 4-0 score.

That said - the interest isn't great and it's because the media doesn't have a fairytale story to pump. Last year it was Des's first year at the Dogs, '11 it was the Warriors, '10 the Dragons and finally getting the monkey off the back, '09 the Eels flying home from 8th... Get the drift?

That's the medias fault for missing obvious chances to build the fairytales. Robbo is a bigger fairytales then Des was. Mini coming back from injuries to lead his team to a GF. Manly were written off by most post Des, so they could have gone with recovered after surviving Canterburys raids for players and coaches for the last 2 years. Stewart back from injuries and having his name dragged through the mud is now 80 minutes from being a 3 time grand final winner.

This year the hype was dominated by the eternally abysmal Cronulla, the Raiders f*ckwit factory and the Burgess wankfest. The media was caught out because it didnt focus on what was relly happening on the field.

SBW going into hiding this week hindered the promotion of the game. Manly, especially Watmong and Cherry Pie have been great in the media.Unlike SBW, they have really put back into the game.

Canard

I'm that pumped, as a warm up I think I'm going to watch the Wobblies lose this morning just for the laughs.

That's if I can stay awake watching it.

Card Shark

This year the hype was dominated by the eternally abysmal Cronulla, the Raiders f*ckwit factory and the Burgess wankfest. The media was caught out because it didnt focus on what was relly happening on the field.

Not to mention the mediocre performances of the Eels, Dragons & Tigers. ;-)

As much as I don't like these 2 teams, I think it will be an awesome grand final & I'm really looking forward to watching them.

It will be 1 hell of a tussle!

big hit!

Some of you blokes are mongs.

Actual clubs aside (I support Souths so not enamoured by Manly or Easts) this is a match-up of two tough 'teams' with brutal middle thirds, great halves combinations and game breaking threats and class all over the park.

On paper, one of the best GF's we should have in several seasons. Hope both teams fire on the night and turn it on.

eaglefan64

Have heard and read multiple media reports suggesting that the build up to this year's Grand Final has been a little flat.

Is this due to the absence of Bunniesman since Souff$ inevitable capitulation, the issue of most fans hating the two clubs participating or the hype vacuum since the elimination of all Burgii (other than Shayne)from Grand Final day matches....

To be honest, I have more interest in the big boat show at the Harbour than I have in the clash of the original cheque book champs

Thoughts ?

Another wanker who has to start a stupid threat.
If your not interested either f**k off, or even
better why not start a thread about why club is so
f**ked and is not playing today??

By the way f**kwit... Name me one club that
hasn't bought a player in the last 20 years?

thorson1987

University.

Daddycool

I'd say, the big thing missing from the week has been Souths. Foxtel sports programming has heaps of Souths stories on that would have been locked in weeks ago, so they were anticipating them being there. Combine that with the lack of Souths fans on here, particularly BM.

After years of coping it, I can appreciate the fact many Souths fans took great delight in dishing it out to all and sundry, on the back of their team finally winning regularly. I remember reading the Manly v Souths game day thread, before the game there were plenty of Souths fans. One in particular who was very cocky but I don't think has stuck his head up since. From then, very few have been able to bring themselves to post anything.

Desert Qlder

To be truly honest, I feel the same way as a neutral as I for any other year when my team has not been involved. The fact I am not terribly fond of either club in this instance makes little difference.

But one cannot deny the quality of football on offer this evening.

If the two teams give us anything close to what they delivered a few weeks ago then it will go down as one of the classic Grand Finals. And that is what is most needed, we have not had a true classic probably since 03.

Should this happen then it will be the perfect remedy to any perceived malaise preceding the game.

Grand Final breakfast? Only a minor thing but was always the media focus on Friday, and built intensity for the weekend.

Ulysseus

Earlier this week Watmong tried to get Western Syd on board by describing Manly families paying $1000/week rent as Aussie battlers! What more do you want? :sarcasm:

f**king lololololololololololololol

I can see it now "dave and tirsh are gonna do it tough this christmas, Dave only got a few thousand for his end of year bonus -they may actually need to get a silver tipped ivory back scratcher instead of a gold tipped one"

juanfarkall

nice to see that old bait still works on some..... Arko says G'day.

FWIW I remembered that Roy & HG were on and listened to the game. Even in their most inane moments they still have more cred than the tards on Nein (other than Sterlo).

Congratulations to the Roosters, at least old Nick makes sure he gets what he pays for, unlike the toothless grubs in their shadow.