Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Songs and chants thread

DIEHARD

----
I think if we could arrange the ARL to play Men at Work's Down Under.

One of my favourite songs and easy to sing to.

I have a few ideas for chants that I will share with you later, I am sure people from the established supporter groups can help us out as well.

I think this is actually one of the most difficult aspects of the army. We need to file through what is workable or already works and what doesn't and what is lame and what isn't.

A supportive rugby league fan sent me this via email....I find it very interesting!

http://www.irbsevens.com/IRB/FORUMS/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=52665

Copa

There is probably a gazillion folk songs from the early colonial days that epitomise the struggle, overcoming adversity and mateship of the early days in Oz.

DIEHARD

----
OK I just finished my first chant. See what you think....

To be sung after we put 30 unanswered points on the Kiwis!

(Sung to the tune of Are You Sleeping?)
Are you watching?
Great Britain
We are going to smash you
50 nil 50 nil

Thank you very much! *bows*

supermario

Here is my first offering:

Che Sara', Sara'
What ever will be, will be
The Aussies will win, you see
Che Sara', Sara'

Swing Low version.....

We own, these Pommy Fools
We smash them here and smash them back home.

The trophy will be coming back home.

Big Bunny

Copa said:
There is probably a gazillion folk songs from the early colonial days that epitomise the struggle, overcoming adversity and mateship of the early days in Oz.

Colonial music for the most part is music written in Britain or like Waltzing Matilda is a new set of words set to an existing Irish tune. It would be better to skip those, in particular because they hardly represent mateship as you suggest, not unless you consider walking in a line across Tasmania to commit genocide to be a fair representation of what Aussie mateship is about.

Copa

Big Bunny said:
Colonial music for the most part is music written in Britain or like Waltzing Matilda is a new set of words set to an existing Irish tune. It would be better to skip those, in particular because they hardly represent mateship as you suggest, not unless you consider walking in a line across Tasmania to commit genocide to be a fair representation of what Aussie mateship is about.
I'd skip songs that Keith Windschuttle would enjoy.....

but I've known a few folk singers from my time hanging out with minstrels at Old Sydney Town for the 5-6 years my mother worked there and I'd spend every school holiday there and they'd come to my house to jam.

Some of the songs were quite good....and some quite funny.

Big Bunny

Copa said:
I'd skip songs that Keith Windschuttle would enjoy.....

but I've known a few folk singers from my time hanging out with minstrels at Old Sydney Town for the 5-6 years my mother worked there and I'd spend every school holiday there and they'd come to my house to jam.

Some of the songs were quite good....and some quite funny.

It's a shame that you've even had the displeasure of becoming accustomed to that name mate. Anyway if you reckon you can come up with something good from the tunes you know then give it a burl. At least they would be in an Aussie accent, unlike a lot of other chants I've heard at the footy.

Jeffles

I still call Australia home

I've been to cities that never close down
From New York to Rome and old London Town
But no matter how far or how wide I roam,
I still call Australia home.

I'm always travelling - I love being free
And so I keep leaving the sun and the sea
But my heart lies waiting, over the foam
I still call Australia home.

All the sons and daughters, spinning 'round the world
Away from their family and friends
But as the world gets older, and colder
Its good to know where your journey ends.

And some day we'll all be together once more
When all of the ships come back to the shore
I realise something I've always known
I still call Australia
I still call Australia home

-----

I Am Australian (selected verses)

I came from the dream-time,
From the dusty red-soil plains.
I am the ancient heart,
The keeper of the flame.
I stood upon the rocky shores,
I watched the tall ships come,
For forty thousand years I've been
The first Australian.

I came upon the prison ship,
Bowed down by iron chains,
I fought the land, endured the lash,
And waited for the rains.
I'm a settler, It's a Farmer's Life (I changed it because "wife" is demasculating)
On a dry and barren run,
A convict, then a free man,
I became Australian.

We are one, but we are many,
And from all the lands on earth we come.
We'll share a dream and sing with one voice,
"I am, you are, we are Australian"

I'm a teller of stories,
I'm a singer of songs,
I am Albert Namatjira
And I paint the ghostly gums.
I'm Clancy on his horse,
I'm Ned Kelly on the run,
I'm the one who waltzed Matilda,
I am Australian.

I'm the hot wind from the desert,
I'm the black soil of the plains,
I'm the mountains and the valleys,
I'm the drought and flooding rains.
I am the rock, I am the sky,
The rivers when they run,
The spirit of this great land,
I am Australian.

We are one, but we are many,
And from all the lands on earth we come.
We'll share a dream and sing with one voice,
"I am, you are, we are Australian."

-----

I'll personally photocopy song sheets with these two songs at the Sydney Test. About 400.

I don't like Waltzing Matilda - lyrics don't appeal to me.

Big Bunny

Jeffles, I love the first one, very stirring, but the other one.. I dunno, it's always come across as whiney to me. I'm sure it's just me but it sounds like a weak song, very feminine, almost a plea where the singers seem to be close to bursting into tears. Song sheets is a good idea though.

Jeffles

I agree with you BB. I am Australian always came across as PC and weak. Ironic that Pauline Hanson used it at the One Nation launch (with Judith Durham distancing herself from the party).

But the chorus is quite different. If you could use it on its own it would be great.

So we've agreed on Peter Allen! Brilliant - add it to the list!

Sun_Down

nospam49™ said:
Swing Low version.....

Haha, its very catchy.

c_eagle

nospam49™ said:
Swing Low version.....

Rhyming home with home was genius.

Sun_Down said:
Haha, its very catchy.

Thats the point.

See, chants have a few rules.

They cant be complicated.
If a guy on his 53rd beer cant sing them....then its not good.

They have to irritate the opposition
Hey.....its me. I know how to irritate a Pom better then anyone thats ever uttered the words "30 years of failure".

They have to make the loser feel really bad
Aussies signing to British League fans, using the tune of song used by English rugby union.....to point out, yep, you Poms have lost again! Perfect.

They have to be distinctive
You have to be able to recognise them from anywhere in the stadium. They have to be catchy, memorable and get right to the point.

So, you own GB, we have Owned them in Australia and in the UK....and we will take the Tri Series trophy back home with us at the end of the series.

American National Anthen

You Poms can not play
To save your own lives

We belt you at home
And we belt you away to

Like a constant nightmare
We'll fly through the air

We Land and we win
And we take home the trophy

As we sing and we cheer
And we drink all your beer

We drink to ourselves
And we laugh at your League team

They say that the Pommies will one day win something.....

Fat chance of that mate!!!!!

They cant win, to save, their lives!!!!!

Jeffles

We're happy little Vegemites as bright as bright can be
We all enjoy our Vegemite for Breakfast Lunch and Tea
Our mummy says we're growing stronger every single week
Because we love our Vegemite
We all adore our Vegemite
It puts a rose in every cheek.

-----

I really really really want to sing this with hundreds of other fans!!!!

supermario

To the tune of land of hope and glory !

We support Australia
Over land and sea
We support Australia
Champions of rugby league
We support Australia
Smash those Pooommiiiiiiiieeeeeesssssss !!!!! (Can be replaced with kiwis, Frenchies, Scotties, Yankees, just about any team the roos may play)

supermario

to the tune of "Road to Gundagai "

There's a pack
on attack
about to smash the kiwi hacks
along the road
to another try