Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Soundwave 2009

newman

This is going to kill.
Rival Schools.
FACE TO FKN FACE!
alk3
Billy Talent
Goldfinger
LTJ
POISON THE WELL
Minus the Bear

That alone is the best punk rock line up seen in the country since Hot Water Music toured with Thrice, Alkaline Trio and The Nation Blue.

And then you have the great spectacles of Nine inch Nails, Hellogoodbye, Bloodhound Gang.

The metal section is solid too. Devildriver, Lacuna Coil, Lamb of God, In Flames. I have metalhead mates who are sh*tting emselves in anticipation.

I didnt go last year and heard the festival was run terribly. I hope they can sort their sh[t out like they have promised on the website cause this is going to go off.

Knightmare

So they should be. Hopefully they will release a new album within the next 6 months, their last one came out in 2006.

Evil Borad

So how did everyone enjoy Soundwave? I went to the Sydney one and saw

All That Remains
Unearth
Underoath
Anberlin
The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus
Dillinger Escape Plan
Funeral For A Friend
Horse The Band
New Found Glory
In Flames
Lamb Of God

elyod138

I went to the Brisbane one and saw The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Dillinger Escape Plan, Bloodhound Gang, Billy Talent, Alice In Chains and Nine Inch Nails.

AIC and NIN were the best by far for me.

Solid

Really enjoyed it. Best concert i ve been to. Organisation at the RNA was better than last year. Took about 20mins to get in which is good.

Bands i saw:

Unearth / All that remains: Dont know many of the songs from these bands but i enjoyed the sound. Some songs were just too generic. Theres only so much double bass drum i can handle. I enjoy heavy metal, but more so stuff like opeth and BTBAM.

Red Jumpsuit Apparatus: Really bad performance. I like there music alot, but there just not convincing live. Lead singer needs improving

Underoath: Lots of energy. Something different

Valencia / Houston Calls / Say Anything: All three were unbelievably good. Loved every moment of each set list. Easy to get on the barrier. No rough moshing which i liked. Happy music

Felt kinda disappointing after seeing RJA, but the Valencia to Say Anything back to back was brilliant.

AILD

yeah i was there aswell. really enjoyed it,.

big fan of unearth and ATR, first time seeing them live and i thought it was pretty good. Unearth are very "genric" tho...alot of their songs sound similar and they dont bring out much emotion in you live...but still i liked it. ATR was good...well atleast while the singers mic was working...for the first song and a half it wasnt on and he didnt know.

not a fan of alice in chains as they were big long before my time...but i really enjoyed their set, but only stayed for a few songs so we got time to get into the pit for In flames...in flames and lamb of god were f'ing awesome!!! the circle went off a few of us come away with bruises and cuts and whatever...

bloodhound gang were really funny...dont like their music but they are crack ups.

red jumpsuit apparatus were terrible as were billy talent...i dont like these guys but we were near the stages they were playing at and they were terrible.

Knightmare

Really enjoyed it. Best concert i ve been to. Organisation at the RNA was better than last year. Took about 20mins to get in which is good.

Bands i saw:

Unearth / All that remains: Dont know many of the songs from these bands but i enjoyed the sound. Some songs were just too generic. Theres only so much double bass drum i can handle. I enjoy heavy metal, but more so stuff like opeth and BTBAM.

Red Jumpsuit Apparatus: Really bad performance. I like there music alot, but there just not convincing live. Lead singer needs improving

Underoath: Lots of energy. Something different

Valencia / Houston Calls / Say Anything: All three were unbelievably good. Loved every moment of each set list. Easy to get on the barrier. No rough moshing which i liked. Happy music

Felt kinda disappointing after seeing RJA, but the Valencia to Say Anything back to back was brilliant.

NSW Labor could've organised the crowd better than they did yesterday. Only 2 entrances to the venue, catering for thousands of people with no seperate section for bag-searhes. We arrived just after 11 and didn't get in until nearly half past 1! :twisted: I hope whoever had the wise idea to make only 2 entry points and create the main one so that the crowd bottle-necked without a seperate bag-search areas is looking on jobsearch.com.au as I write this!!!

Knightmare

yeah i was there aswell. really enjoyed it,.

big fan of unearth and ATR, first time seeing them live and i thought it was pretty good. Unearth are very "genric" tho...alot of their songs sound similar and they dont bring out much emotion in you live...but still i liked it. ATR was good...well atleast while the singers mic was working...for the first song and a half it wasnt on and he didnt know.

not a fan of alice in chains as they were big long before my time...but i really enjoyed their set, but only stayed for a few songs so we got time to get into the pit for In flames...in flames and lamb of god were f'ing awesome!!! the circle went off a few of us come away with bruises and cuts and whatever...

bloodhound gang were really funny...dont like their music but they are crack ups.

red jumpsuit apparatus were terrible as were billy talent...i dont like these guys but we were near the stages they were playing at and they were terrible.

Billy were mad. The circle was pretty crazy for them as well, we even had people acting as human springboards for other people to jump on top of the pit.

AILD

agree about the entrances...we got there at about 9:30...waited by the gate then lined up for about an hour and a half-2hrs...got in around 11:30-11:45...i know the price of food and drinks at these types of events are crazy but the prices yesterday i thought were far more expensive than usual. $5 for a coke. $5 for chips.

meh guess it depends on your taste in music...the singers voice i cannot stand ..deadset homo.

AILD

had to walk about a kilometre to get from the eastern creek race way gate to the actual soundwave entrance too, that was the northern end...i was half rooted walking all that way...then had to stand there for maybe an hour or so before we got in. also if anyone else was there bout the same time as me and heard that dude that was drunk yelling out "f**k the police", "kill the coppers" and "f**k blacks"....he was still standing at about 12:30...i saw him and his mates downing some more grog...surprised he lasted that long honestly.

Knightmare

I saw this chick I know while waiting outside the venue, got chatting to this mate of hers and ended up buying 4 ritalin pills off him. After I'd got inside and taken all 4 it was hot and I decided I could really use some beer to wash it down, even if it was $7 for a can of Pure Blonde.

I walked up to the bar, waiting for the people already being served when further up I saw this chick not serving anyone. We made eye-contact and I smiled at her and walked straight over, saying "It must be destiny!" So I told her I wanted a can of Pure Blonde, gave her a $10 note and she proceeded to open two cans and give me back $3 change. There was this chick standing next to her who didn't say a word. I honestly don't know whether she gave me a free beer on purpose or whether it was a f**K up on her half, but I certainly didn't say anything as I smiled, told her to have a good one and walked off with the two beer cans in hand!

Trollhammaren

I went to Sydney. Organisation was ok, despite me not being able to get a single beer all day because the lines were ridiculous to get into those bar areas, and the fact that Lamb of God were still playing when everyone wanted to leave and had to walk through the moshpit.

Bands I saw:

Jaguar Love - pretty good. I have the album, it's ok, and they're about what I expected.

Poison the Well - boring as.

Red Jumpsuit Apparatus - perhaps that crappiest band I've ever seen. Their first song was good and rocky, then it went so downhill and by the end it was the worst thing I've ever had to witness.

Dillinger Escape Plan - band of the day. They always kick a*se live, and it was no different. So energetic and powerful. Great stuff.

Bloodhoung Gang - good and what I expected, stupid jokes and stupid songs. Enjoyable.

Lacuna Coil - I only went for a perv. Their music is so crap though, sounds like Korn. She should leave that band.

Billy Talent - not having heard anything from them before, they actually weren't too bad. I guess they're good at what they do, which I'm not really into.

Alice In Chains - bloody great!! I was sceptical going in but the new bloke really delivered vocally and the band were great. Awesome show.

NIN - Very good show. I just wish I could have heard some more of their 'hits' ie. Closer, Starf*ckers, The Perfect Drug. But they were really good.

I also, unfortunately, had to put up with a couple of Lamb of God songs on the way out and they were as sh*te as I expected.

mattyg

RJA seem to be copping it a fair bit but I thought they were awesome...dunno if its coz i was 2m from the fence right amongst it getting smashed or what but i loved them. I seen:
Bits of - Underoath, Dillinger Escape Plan, Lacuna Coil, Face to Face
Most of - Anberlin, Nine Inch Nails
All of - Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Bloodhound Gang, New Found Glory (mosh pit for all of these bands)

I got destroyed in the NFG mosh pit surprisingly...my shoe lace came undone and I was struggling to stay upright the whole time...copped at least 10 kicks/knees in the head from crowd surfers and I got badly sunburnt from the f**king bullsh*t 3 hour line up. Lined up at 11.30am and got in at about 2.30pm...f**king sh*t. I was really struggling to get out of bed today I could hardly move and i'm so sore at the moment still

Aaron_sfas

Jacks mannequin, NFG, anberlin, forever the sickest kids, less then jake, all brilliant.

got to meet andrew mcmahon from jacks. nicest guy i've ever met.

NFG pit better then any other. good times

braz

The northern entrance caused heaps of my mates dramas! We were lucky, followed some of the crowd to the southern entrance. 20 min walk and no line up!

Bands I saw:

The Subways - Pleasantly suprised - awesome
Forever the sickest kids - Lasted two songs, absolute rubbish
Poison the well - not bad
Every time i die - bloody good
Dillinger - awesome
Bloodhound gang - average. good for a laugh but was over it half way through their set
Billy Talent - Crapola. And they shut the main bar down at this time.
AIC - Highlight of the day. Been waiting to see them live since I was 15. New vocalist is great. Classic set
NIN - Very good as usual. Left early though to watch LOG.
Lamb of God - very impressive. Have only recently got into this band and i thought they put on a good show. Pretty blind by that stage though.

Awesome day out. Shouldn't have went out in the city afterwards though!

Aaron_sfas

The northern entrance caused heaps of my mates dramas! We were lucky, followed some of the crowd to the southern entrance. 20 min walk and no line up!

Bands I saw:

The Subways - Pleasantly suprised - awesome
Forever the sickest kids - Lasted two songs, absolute rubbish
Poison the well - not bad
Every time i die - bloody good
Dillinger - awesome
Bloodhound gang - average. good for a laugh but was over it half way through their set
Billy Talent - Crapola. And they shut the main bar down at this time.
AIC - Highlight of the day. Been waiting to see them live since I was 15. New vocalist is great. Classic set
NIN - Very good as usual. Left early though to watch LOG.
Lamb of God - very impressive. Have only recently got into this band and i thought they put on a good show. Pretty blind by that stage though.

Awesome day out. Shouldn't have went out in the city afterwards though!

yeh. took us 20 minutes at the southern, and it took a bunch of my mates more then 2 hours

InFlames

Pretty enjoyable day minus that f**king wait at the northern entrance. Noticed that the All That Remains singer really struggles to hit a lot of notes. Unearth were pretty bad ass though.