Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Soward Wants To Stay A Dragon

Don't know how so many were/are so protective of K Stanley but are happy to put faith in Drinkwater being some sort of first year messiah. Not saying you won't be forgiving if Drinkwater dishes up anything less than you hope but can't see how his experience is anymore advanced than when Stanley was being shielded on here.

Is it because Stanley was a junior therefore a lot of you guys had seen more of him?

No it is because for 2013 we have no real alternative. So fingers crossed he does a DCE and gets rookie of the year,

SaintArsenal

Sorry, on Soward I should add that I think he needs to muscle up this year. Even though it wasn't the best year overall for the team and it may have impacted his game I still think he should have taken control more during the season. You won't always get the platform you want but deal with what is happening. I attack that is. Think his defence has been great.

SaintArsenal

No it is because for 2013 we have no real alternative. So fingers crossed he does a DCE and gets rookie of the year,

But we do. I think Fien could add more than Hornby did last year. He may not play every game but that may be a good thing for him, Drinkwater and the team. Our forwards played quite well up the middle last year and I reckon they will be even better this year and Fien will benefit from that and King and Rein.

I am not arguing against Drinkwater having the opportunity for a breakout 1st year but am curious about the differences in faith and cautiousness between Stanley and the new guy.

hardbaby

Stanley has a great skill set. He is perfectly suited to five eight. Bennett anointed him as a long term five eight. Whenever he was given an opportunity in that position, he shone. It's where he wants to play. There are plenty of reasons to have had faith in Stanley. And only one reason not to. Unfortunately that one reason is why he is sitting in the stands all year.

SaintArsenal

Stanley has to be given another chance!

Not as first choice though. If we get a chance to purchase someone we see as first choice or someone puts their hand up from within then Stanley should be considered as depth. Not because of his lack of talent but purely because of his injury history and the amount of time spent out of the game over 2 seasons.

It sucks. I was really keen to see him kill it but it hasn't worked out that way and we can't ignore that if other better options become available.

hardbaby

Stanley will have his chance. He is contracted for next year. Fien is retiring. Soward may move on. But we will definitely be signing another half and I am backing Drinkwater to go well. He will be the third or fourth choice. But he is young and talented. He'll make it back at some point.

Breathingfire

Part of being a superstar is actually running onto the field to play. I don't care what sort of skill set or potential the guy has, it is no good to us unless he can use it. He should be cut from club!

Cagey Mac

There is definitely a reasonable argument to support BF's suggestion. It depends how much room in the cap we have and how his scans look.
I don't see his post as anything but pragmatic (if a little blunt)
You would certainly want to put an injury clause into any future contract IMO

Slippery Morris

Soward has a huge year ahead of him playing for his contract. We may see the best of him yet. Someone said that he needs someone more direct next to him to make him a better player. Wasn't Hornby a direct player. He ran to the line sometimes got through but had no support runners. Drinkwater will probably provide the same style of play as Hornby imo. Hornby cops heaps of slack but just watch the Manly game last year when Saints won to see who set up the winning try for Nighty with the kick of the season in the corner for Nighty to score.

Soward can be too safe sometimes. Saints will be up by 6 then Soward will spend the next few sets kicking the ball for the sidelines to keep the opposition in there half. It's as if he takes the foot off the accelerator as soon as he does something good or when they are in front. Only when they are down he will start playing more attacking football which does not always pan out. He has a great kicking game and it worked a treat in 2010 but they had a much stronger side which can defend and stop sides from scoring.

I think Bronson Harrison will help Soward more than anything. He will play the Jeremy Smith type role which we lacked. That is if he can stay fit.

Johnny-b-Goode

Soward will be up for it this year with a stronger forward pack yes...

The problem with Hornby over the last 2 years wasn't his skill or effort mate, it was his decision making, yes he would run to the line but when he would of passed it, and he passed it when he should have run to the line.. Okay he got it right from time to time but not enough!

Breathingfire

We're not talking about a guy who has had one or two injuries, its more like six or seven. He is clearly extremely injury prone and the fact is if we keep him contracted and he keeps getting injured, we are going to have situations like this year where we pull out of signing other players (Rangi Chase) because we are banking on an unreliable player to finally get on the field.

I've seen players do ACL's under extreme contact (ie. leg twisted under front rower etc) but this guy does them treading on uneven turf or fishing in the off season...he is made of cotton wool. It is a shame no doubt, but an even bigger shame is building a season around him only for an injury to leave us a play maker short for the season.

gypsy

Ruptured ACL's don't require extreme contact, despite what people believe.... It really is an injury where this is irrelevant. In saying that, either he has had bad surgery, bludged during rehab (which I can tell you is very tough), or he is made of cotton wool.

Either way, I agree with Cagey that his next contract must have an injury clause.

hardbaby

Bear in mind that under the current deal, Style has his medicals covered but only receives 25% of his contract. So we aren't out of pocket too much. That gives him next year to justify a new contract. I guess it's in the hands of the Gods.