Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Speculation

Blood Shot Eyes

I thinks its time to end all the speculation about whos coming and whos going (coaches included) and sit back and enjoy the season 2013.
Most of the conversations on here, myself included is absorbed with rumour after rumour.....Whether we recruit well or don't shouldn't take the place of enjoying our footy teams efforts week in week out win or lose......Ive noticed this season that most of the time we talk about whos coming to our great club than the players actually in it......lets just sit back and enjoy the ride because before we know it another year of our lives will be over.....that's just my thoughts at the moment anyway.

nrlnrl

I thinks its time to end all the speculation about whos coming and whos going (coaches included) and sit back and enjoy the season 2013.
Most of the conversations on here, myself included is absorbed with rumour after rumour.....Whether we recruit well or don't shouldn't take the place of enjoying our footy teams efforts week in week out win or lose......Ive noticed this season that most of the time we talk about whos coming to our great club than the players actually in it......lets just sit back and enjoy the ride because before we know it another year of our lives will be over.....that's just my thoughts at the moment anyway.

yeah it's a good point, but it seems as though clubs need to juggle the current plans in parallel with the future to keep up ( or even keep ahead )

twinkletoes

Problem is our club seems to want to destroy our enjoyment....we have been building some great team morale over the past few weeks...what effect will Jamie Soward leaving have on his teammates morale...our only playmaker, kicker and general. I hope this does not have the same effect as Bennetts decision to leave mid season. Just seems like the management want to sabotage whats been starting build in our teams performances

Ronnie Dobbs

Problem is our club seems to want to destroy our enjoyment....we have been building some great team morale over the past few weeks...what effect will Jamie Soward leaving have on his teammates morale...our only playmaker, kicker and general. I hope this does not have the same effect as Bennetts decision to leave mid season. Just seems like the management want to sabotage whats been starting build in our teams performances

:roll:

YEHHHBOYYYD

I don't think the announcement of Soward leaving at the end of the season will change anything for us.

To be honest, i reckon he'll start tearing shit up just to show us what we're losing, and the Panthers what they're gaining.

TheRev

o Totally understand your viewpoint

o All 2013 is to me is a chance to recruit externally and develop youth, thats the most interesting thing to me to talk about, that this club gets back on track with its playing roster for future years, not just watching the 30+ crowd go through the motions (exageration but you get my drift).

o Obviously watching the Dragons each week is fantastic & we have threads on that too, but ive mentioned many times that at best we can scrape the 8 in 2013, but we do not have remotely the roster to compete in serious finals football, 0% chance (my view), as a result there are very few threads on ‘omfg how good is Cummins going at Fullback?’ or ‘omg Rate that Quinlen Try’ or ‘omg Fein, cometh the hour cometh the man!’ or ‘JT is taking a pay cut to come to the Dragons!’, because our brand of footy is not that interesting, were just getting by with what we have.

o With so much uncertainty around our future coach and playing roster, and that we cant actually fill up our salary cap, you can understand why there is so much interest in which way we will go.. and by all accounts within a week we will probably know atleast 2 of our new signings.

R&WTILLIDIE

I don't think the announcement of Soward leaving at the end of the season will change anything for us.

To be honest, i reckon he'll start tearing shit up just to show us what we're losing, and the Panthers what they're gaining.

Yeah...the same way Beau Scott started tearing it up when he announced he was leaving mid season

Ronnie Dobbs

o Totally understand your viewpoint

o All 2013 is to me is a chance to recruit externally and develop youth, thats the most interesting thing to me to talk about, that this club gets back on track with its playing roster for future years, not just watching the 30+ crowd go through the motions (exageration but you get my drift).

o Obviously watching the Dragons each week is fantastic & we have threads on that too, but ive mentioned many times that at best we can scrape the 8 in 2013, but we do not have remotely the roster to compete in serious finals football, 0% chance (my view), as a result there are very few threads on ?omfg how good is Cummins going at Fullback?? or ?omg Rate that Quinlen Try? or ?omg Fein, cometh the hour cometh the man!? or ?JT is taking a pay cut to come to the Dragons!?, because our brand of footy is not that interesting, were just getting by with what we have.

o With so much uncertainty around our future coach and playing roster, and that we cant actually fill up our salary cap, you can understand why there is so much interest in which way we will go.. and by all accounts within a week we will probably know atleast 2 of our new signings.

Excellent post mate. I've called for a change up in our style & to do the rebuild correctly.

It appears to me that they're doing that. So far as replacing Sowie - just be patient. You don't let a premiership winning 6 walk without a replacement in the pipeline. Timing is everything.

As I've said the last couple of days - the old dinosaurs don't let anything out. Its always been our way. Contrast this to the Bulldogs.

Blood Shot Eyes

Extract from The Revs reply.......With so much uncertainty around our future coach and playing roster, and that we cant actually fill up our salary cap, you can understand why there is so much interest in which way we will go.. and by all accounts within a week we will probably know atleast 2 of our new signings.

I totally agree regarding which way we will go mate I understand why theres so much interest ....just thought that we shouldn't let a whole season expire when we're worrying about 2014, 2015 etc

Ronnie Dobbs

I dont think we're letting this season go at all. I'm enjoying watching them at the moment. They are playing just about as well as they can, which is very pleasing. Its all you can ask for.

We're a finals contender and we'll be a team that the top tier teams see as a very good test of where they are really at.

Thats pretty good for a rebuilding year IMO.

BennyV

I dont think we're letting this season go at all. I'm enjoying watching them at the moment. They are playing just about as well as they can, which is very pleasing. Its all you can ask for.

We're a finals contender and we'll be a team that the top tier teams see as a very good test of where they are really at.

Thats pretty good for a rebuilding year IMO.

Include in there the fact that Drinkwater and Cook have already had first grade exposure (and it's only been 6 rounds), chances are Cummins or Quinlan will get a go at some point and Stockwell and Frizzell have cemented themselves first grade spots, we've lined up a very promising young backrower/centre, with a VERY big chance of landing a world class halfback for this year and beyond, and we've still got plenty of money under the cap to spend for next year...and yes, at the moment we are succeeding in our rebuild. Plus we have been playing some fairly entertaining football.

BradMackay

A lot of us are trying to see the bigger picture past 2013 to see if the front office can recruit the right players to be coached by the best person. So far it seems like our future planning is Rangi Chase and Crock Stanley and Busted Beale ofr 2014 coached by Mr Loses more than he wins

Blood Shot Eyes

Include in there the fact that Drinkwater and Cook have already had first grade exposure (and it's only been 6 rounds), chances are Cummins or Quinlan will get a go at some point and Stockwell and Frizzell have cemented themselves first grade spots, we've lined up a very promising young backrower/centre, with a VERY big chance of landing a world class halfback for this year and beyond, and we've still got plenty of money under the cap to spend for next year...and yes, at the moment we are succeeding in our rebuild. Plus we have been playing some fairly entertaining football.

Not trying to be smart but whos the world class half back you allude to...

I hope we sign both Carney, Chase, Dugan and Josh Morris. What a team we would have!

Possm go back to sleep Carney is staying at the Sharks, Dugan is still waiting for the NRL to make a decision and J Morris won't get a release.Thompson is a step in the right direction with Sam Williams having to weight up any options as he has a battle to keep his spot with Campese back and Cornish nipping at his heels.Chad Townsend is a real option surely now with Carney looking like he is staying and Robson around for at least one more year his days at the Sharks are over he'd be foolish to stay.

KiamaSaint

Mate, how good is Jacob Miller (our saviour) going??? Braith Anasta is keeping him out of first grade. I am not sure Townsend is our saviour either.

Nothing to do about being a Saviour its about looking at the future unless they fast track Shannon Crook into first grade I hope not he needs time to develop.I still think having Drinkwater and Todd Ryan playing for the Cutters as the halves pairings is a good move they can develop together strike up a combination and see how that goes.Letting Soward go could mean anything really its a wait and see game at present.