Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

State of Origin 2025 - NSW CHAMPIONS (Women's Edition)

King-Gutho94

The women’s NSW and Queensland State of Origin teams are now more popular than the Matildas.

Free-to-air TV ratings last week are the proof.

The women’s Origin game on Thursday night attracted 1.165 million viewers nationally on Channel 9 free-to-air and streaming.

On Friday night the Matildas v Argentina in Melbourne on Channel 10 got only 404,000.

These figures are not just a one-off.

All three State of Origin games have rated one million-plus while Matildas games over the past 12 months against Argentina, Chinese Taipei, Korea and Uzbekistan have averaged just under 500,000.

So what can we put this all this down to?

No Mary Fowler and no Sam Kerr would affect the Matildas numbers.

The bad publicity around Kerr’s poor behaviour in the UK would also have been a turn off.

Obviously, the Matildas numbers are far bigger at a World Cup.

But there’s no stopping the incredible growth of women’s rugby league in recent times.

“The level of skill in the women’s game has evolved so quickly,” said independent commission chairman Peter V’landys.

“I’ve never seen growth in any sport like the NRLW. We gave them the opportunity and they’ve delivered with extraordinary skill. It’s really exciting. I’m not surprised that their TV ratings have been so good.”

Imagine how big the NRLW will be in 10 years.

There are now 30,000 women playing rugby league in NSW alone. They make up 27 per cent of total registrations.

Young girls who have previously grown up to play netball or soccer have been inspired by what they have witnessed during the three State of Origin games.

They want to be the next Jessica Sergis, Isabelle Kelly, Jesse Southwell, Kezie Apps, Olivia Kernick, Kennedy Cherrington, Tiana Penitani Gray or Jaime Chapman.

JokerEel

Apparently the Matilda's played the other night...

Good to see the ladies getting what they deserve.

I wonder if they started the women's season earlier prior to SOO it would impact the veiwership.

King-Gutho94

Apparently the Matilda's played the other night...

Good to see the ladies getting what they deserve.

I wonder if they started the women's season earlier prior to SOO it would impact the veiwership.
I didnt even know the Matildas played no one mentioned anything in the media.

I think most of the Rugby League girls speak very well and do the sport proud.

A good bunch of girls to actually get behind. Similar to the Aussie cricket girls.

John Strange spoke very well yesterday on the footy show.

Said the NSWRL & QRL are doing great work with the pathways of women's rugby league.

Fired a shot at the AFL for expanding too soon and said NRL have been smart in our they built up the womens program.

For me personally i think the NRLW still has a way to go i reckon in terms of quality.

Outside of Women's origin which is the best quality of the women's game and the odd Parra game i don't tune & watch other clubs games as of yet as it hasn't peaked my interest.

Fired a shot at the AFL for expanding too soon and said NRL have been smart in our they built up the womens program.

100% Agree with that, not every club needs an NRLW side at the moment, expansion should be to regional sides not inner sydney clubs.

But the pathways are there, the quality in Female Junior Reps games has surged in the last few years now it is just getting that talent out of age limit football to open football which for the blokes is always a big step.

For me personally i think the NRLW still has a way to go i reckon in terms of quality.

Outside of Women's origin which is the best quality of the women's game and the odd Parra game i don't tune & watch other clubs games as of yet as it hasn't peaked my interest.
Yes, but we are getting there, unlike the AFLW that is low scoring dribble I am sorry to say.

King-Gutho94

100% Agree with that, not every club needs an NRLW side at the moment, expansion should be to regional sides not inner sydney clubs.

But the pathways are there, the quality in Female Junior Reps games has surged in the last few years now it is just getting that talent out of age limit football to open football which for the blokes is always a big step.

Yes, but we are getting there, unlike the AFLW that is low scoring dribble I am sorry to say.
AFL is hard enough to watch.

I had a mate who went & watched the Swans on Saturday night.

He isn't a AFL fan and said to me yesterday never again going back to watch that rubbish.

Apparently they got flogged by 100 points.