Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stewart salute reveals double standards

The Dodger

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,25351907-5016307,00.html

IF Greg Bird ran out for the Sharks today, would you stand and cheer?

Given the events at Brookvale Oval last Sunday, it makes me wonder.
Despite still facing police charges for an alleged assault on a teenage girl, Brett Stewart returned from a four-match ban and was hailed a hero.
The Manly fullback finished with a hat-trick in a performance that almost single-handedly got the premiers' season back on track.
Good on Brett. I enjoyed watching one of the most brilliant individual performances seen in a long time. On the footy field is where he belongs.
And Brett was immediately talked about as a possible Test and State of Origin candidate.
Meanwhile, Greg Bird is today living in France awaiting the outcome of an alleged assault that took place last year. Where is the consistency? This is in no way meant to be a personal attack on Brett, or an attempt to defend and justify Greg's alleged actions.
I'm simply trying to point out the double standards at work in our game - and the frustration that comes with what I believe is an unfair system. If Brett Stewart's suspension is now the benchmark, I would welcome Greg Bird back to the fold today.
Every NRL coach would do the same, if their decision was based purely on football. Our club was forced to make a exposes the double standards within our gamestand last year on Greg's future.
Given the backlash from fans and the game's administrators - but most importantly our sponsors - we had no alternative but to release our star player.
Last Sunday, Sea Eagles fans couldn't get enough of their try-scoring machine. They gave him a standing ovation. Players then celebrated with a lap of honour.
Double standards? Seriously, you tell me. Manly could argue the difference is Greg Bird allegedly hindered the investigation by lying to police and the club. We still don't know fully what happened at Manly's season launch and in the days that followed. The courts will judge that.

For now, Stewart plays on. A month ago, when the NRL was at war on bad behaviour, administrators pulled out the big stick and said "no more''.
But as soon as the hysteria died down, the issue was swept under the carpet. The NRL said a flat no to calls for an independent tribunal to judge off-field incidents.
When Greg Bird was still at the Sharks after his alleged assault, women's groups were threatening to protest at our matches, while concerned sponsors were ready to pull the pin. But last weekend Brett Stewart received unwavering support.
How do we treat the next case? If it comes down to winning and losing, and the decision is made by clubs, they will attempt to do what is best for the football team. But is that best for the game?
I arrived in Adelaide on Thursday to prepare for our match against North Queensland and discovered an AFL player down here is returning after an alleged assault on his girlfriend.
The club initially stood him down indefinitely - but after just one week he is back. What message does this send to you? We're not the only code with a problem - but we do have a problem, and it must be fixed.

gunnamatta bay

Wasn't the official reason for stewarts 4 game banishment because he was drunk in a public place? I'm sure David Gladwrap said this was the case and was nothing to do with the sexual assault charge. Which kinda makes Birds exile all the more puzzling given Gladwrap throughly supported the sharks stance.

btw This article seems to take a differing view to that of zaps.

Special K

You get the feeling Sticky really wants Bird back.

Hmm I wonder if we could make a play to bring him back.

redback

Didn't our resident "know all" say that there was no pressure from sponsors to stand down Bird. He is proven wrong again!

Mate I am pissed off already.

I believed the club did the right thing - initially, with the Bird Case - but the hard cold facts are the cold hard facts.

What really hit me in the face with a king hit was the double standards in the Buster (Set up and filmed bought by Channel Niene and exploited)bloke rocks up to training AM the next day - trains nothing said then..... 2 match sus plus 20grand, and then Wathough snots a sponsor gets a fine (allegedly) and never misses a farkin' game.

Throw in the Donkeys three in a cell, Lockyer tackling a bar manager, Donkeys stealing the alcopops ... you know the story ........ blah blah blahhhhhhhhhh.

The east bloke blah blah blahhhhhhhh

The rest of the incidents blah blah blahhhhhhhhh

It's farkin too late to adopt a different stance Ricky my friend...

We are a laughing stock behind every committee room door in the NRL with the exception of Canberra and outside of the NRL we have the support of one Womens Lobby Group.

"I can just picture the trophy cabinet as I type"

Declared Idiot #88

Feej

It's simple, we're pissweak and thats why we'll never win one.

Would love to know what the sponsors that leaned on the club and board will be thinking about when he runs out with another NRL club in the next year or so.

The Popper

You get the feeling Sticky really wants Bird back.
Hmm I wonder if we could make a play to bring him back.
' I feel the same way, SK. I was gonna post this article myself, but it had already been done. Like I said earlier on another thread, the perception definitely comes through that Manly and Easts support their players and we don't. As for Manly's attitude, I guess that could be a benefit of private ownership. Guilt has not yet been proved, so the player continues on until such time as it has. Not us.......we seemingly bend to the whims and wills of the sponsors.........always wanting to look `politically correct'. I don't blame Ricky. I don't believe it was any of his doing. The decision came from another echelon.
Ricky says; `Our club was forced to make a stand last year on Greg's future. Given the backlash from the fans and the game's administrators - but most importantly our sponsors - we had no alternative but to release our star player.' Believe me - I was NOT one of those fans......and I firmly believe that the club (as they say) `has cut off its nose to spite its face.' :(
Punishment prior to conviction - what a joke. And so are we.

Since 73

Those fat merkins at brookvale are laughing at us. Their defence was to go on the front foot straight away.
Blame the media, blame the girl's dad, blame the NRL and argue that their player not be punished.

It worked.

We played a somewhat different hand.
Suspend and fine.

We lost Bird for good and 2 games while Buster was out.

This whole situation just pizzes me off.
Simply because EVERYONE ELSE gets away with it except us.

• 3 broncos in toilet incident- no punishment.
  • Broncos who tackled and hassled Publican - no punishment.
  • Whatmough - no punishment.
  • Stewart - slap on the wrist. returns to be a hero and play SOO and test footy.
  • AFL player - 1 week ban for same indescretion as Bird.
  • Andrew O'Keefe (media celebrity) - no punishment, no public backlash, no Danny weidler exclusive, no public apology at Shark Park despite being filmed EXACTLy as buster was. Pizzed and falling over a woman.
Us?
We're just suckers.

but reading Sticky's comments this morning - I reckon he's changed his view.

The Popper

Yep. I'd guess we're hanging on by our finger nails to remain part of the scene and have become `yes' men and everybody's doormat to remain in favour. :crazy: