Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Storm Moving to the Gold Coast

In today's Sunday Mail (Bris) there is a report that the Gold Mayor, Gary Baildon is approaching John Ribot and Chris Johns.
He's putting forward a proposal to have the Storm relocate to a warmer and friendlier part of the world.
The report has the Storm playing out of Carrara in 2003.

There is also speculation that Melbourne's decision has been prompted by the relocation of their only fan, Pepe, who is also moving to the Gold Coast.

P

pepe

willow

i'd just liketo dispel any rumors that i amjohn ribot.

i will be waiting patiently on the hill at carrera in my storm beanie and scarf most likely with the perspiration pissing out of me in tropical qld, hope a few more can join me in the outer.

i should be easy to pick out,i'll be there only supporter in the ground.

wishing you were there
pepe

It's a fair dinkum article Pepe. All true, except for the bit about you being the only supporter... we all know that StormGirl is also a supporter.
emwink.gif

However, Ribot and Johns have been keen to say that they want to saty in Melb. Why? I have no idea. lol.
Anyway the Mayor is apparently making a pretty good offer to them.
I hate to remind Cronulla supporters, but you're time is running out. The Gold Coast Sharks could just as easily be the Gold Coast Storm...
...come to think of it, the Gold Coast Storm has a nice ring to it actually.

K

Kipper

Willow - Are they going to build up the capacity of Carrara, and if so by how much?Also, how many storms does the Gold Coast have in a year?

I remember it pissing down on me at Dreamworld once when I was about 7, butKenny Koala'spixie friend told me I was bloody unlucky!

P

pepe

willow

i read the article earlier today,you have to take it with a grain of salt though,those gold coast phseudocelebrities are all about self promotion,the mayors probablycut out the article and pasted it in his photo album by now.

i stillthink the gold coast dragons has a certain appeal to it,rolls of the tongue quite nicely,that nice white uniform would reflect the sun as well.

those sharks won't be going anywhere judging by todays crowd,preston campbell would attract an extra 5000 through the gate alone,he is an excitement machine right up there with johnny gibbs from manly and our own stevie morris.

cheers pepe

Kipper:
Mate, we have a few whiz-bangers here. In the 3 or 4 years that I've lived here, I've had my electricity cut by storms about 10 times.
Sort of like the Sydney 'southerly buster', it buckets down for 2-3 hours and then calms into a pleasant summer's evening, by candle light.
emsmile.gif

Interestingly, the winters are less volitile and pretty dry.
Very unpredictable this weather stuff.

OK, pepe...
I just thought the Storm management might read this and upon hearing that you were moving up here, they might pull their fingers out and trade thoseWellington boots in for thongs.
emsmile.gif

It might happen. The Council here is loaded and it's not many councils who are openly advocating that they want spend money on Rugby League.

G@v

Don't worry guys! If theycan haveSharks in Sheffield, I'm sure the odd Storm on the Gold Coast wouldn't look out of place.

The only thing about such a move should it ever eventuate, would be that the NRL could be accused by it's enemies of retreating back to being just an east coast comp.

Maybe Cronulla might fancy having a crack at Melbourne.

B

Bomber

Melbourne Sharks, Gold Coast Storm, what now!

I read somewhere on the rumour mills that the Storm was going to merge with my mob, playing 10 games in Townsville and 3 in Melbourne - how that was going to work only God knows. The Northern Storm, I think they were going to call it.

Back when I was a little tidling, I read somewhere that Adelaide-St George was the way to go, it might have been 1992 when St George played a home game in Adelaide. The Perth Eels were also mooted for a while. How things have worked out!

Chances are though that if the Gold Coast Storm does eventuate, the Broncos would do anything to nip it in the bud.

Bomber

Bomber,
St George and Balmain played the first ever 1st grade RL game at Adelaide in about 1994... I'd have to check the date. It was a big success but I remember being frustrated by local sports writers and local game goers when they constantly referred to the team as being called 'St Georges' ... made me think the whole thing would soon wear thing as a novelty.
When David Waite came to St George in 1996, he said that he had to contend with only having several players left in the squad and a few club officials telling him the Dragons were set to move to Adelaide. So it was still on the agenda as recently as '96.

The rumours of the Storm relocating to SE Qld just won't die away. Ribot came out on the footy show two weeks ago and clearly stated they will not be moving.

Speaking of Carrara, would it be passable as a venue for an NRL team in it's current form? I wouldn't think so. It would definitely need an upgrade (as with the road that passes beside the stadium).

S

stormsally

The rumours keep going round, because we keep speculating.

Just because the Gold Coast Mayor is putting out "offers" doesn't mean that they are taken seriously.

I have heard Storm people say more times than I've had Mexican dinners that they aren't moving, and why would they?

I'm here!

R

roostergirl

The Road that you are talking about DolphinMatt is Nerang-Broadbeach Road and is a shocker without anything happening at the stadium. the train station is very close now, so public transport isn't an option.

Storm moving to the Gold Coast, in my opinion, wouldn't be a viable move. As much as the Gold coast love their league, we are still not willing to embrace our own team.
And as far as i know, most of Storms fan base are in melbourne. So if you take the storm out of melbourne, where does that leave the fans & support??

I think I should have also pointed out that the Gold Coast Mayor, Gary Baildon just loves seeing his name in the press. He's a big town hick at heart but we can't really hold that against him.
I found John Ribot's recent comments interesting.
After vehemently denying that the Storm will not be moving to the Gold Coast he then said something like: "Why would we want to be the 2nd string team in SE Qld?" Or did he mean 2nd rate team to Brisbane? Can't recall exactly....
Remember, this an NRL administrator who has close personal ties with the Broncos.
Interesting attitude he seems to have about anything outside of Brisbane.