Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXXI - Honouring Phil Hughes. 63*

You won't be able to keep the title though. Your team this year is vastly weaker than the one that won the title last year.

I wouldn't be too sure of that.

We've lost a few very good players in Sam Burgess, Ben Te'o and Lote Tuqiri but we've picked up a couple of more than handy players in Glenn Stewart and Tim Grant.

You never completely replace a player like Sam and it's good that we've decided to go in a different direction and change it up a bit with the guy we've bought in for him. Stewart is a completely different style of player and will add a different option to our attack.

We are yet to see the best footy out of the Burgess twins, Johnston and Walker who are still only in their early 20's and we only had Keary running around for about 1/3rd of the year last year.

Of course, injuries can wreck any tilt at a title so everything is always conditional on how the squad holds up injury wise, but if we keep most of our team on the park for a good portion of the year, we will be very competitive again. To say that we are vastly weaker than last year is simply not true.

We've lost a few very good players in Sam Burgess, Ben Te'o and Lote Tuqiri

pointing-and-laughing.gif

Red Bear

I wouldn't be too sure of that.

We've lost a few very good players in Sam Burgess, Ben Te'o and Lote Tuqiri but we've picked up a couple of more than handy players in Glenn Stewart and Tim Grant.

You never completely replace a player like Sam and it's good that we've decided to go in a different direction and change it up a bit with the guy we've bought in for him. Stewart is a completely different style of player and will add a different option to our attack.

We are yet to see the best footy out of the Burgess twins, Johnston and Walker who are still only in their early 20's and we only had Keary running around for about 1/3rd of the year last year.

Of course, injuries can wreck any tilt at a title so everything is always conditional on how the squad holds up injury wise, but if we keep most of our team on the park for a good portion of the year, we will be very competitive again. To say that we are vastly weaker than last year is simply not true.
I think Souths will be fine at the right time of the year, but I suspect there'll be a fairly big flat spot in the middle, around the origin period. Full season last year plus a few key players in the internationals, then up fro the nines, over to England and back again. It's tough to stay 'up for it' that long.

Not sure about minor premiership because of all that, but I do think they'll still be very strong in September.

Chris Gayles knock tonight is the greatest sporting moment I've ever seen live. I'm speechless.

did you hear the egotistical wanker after his innings ?

what a dick

He wasn't far wrong, tbh. Everyone I spoke to said they came for him. Plus with the big grin on his face and poking fun at his own recent form I don't think he was being (or ever is) particularly serious.

Bulldog Force

Could the Titans do the rest of the league a favour and just end their miserable existence already?

And to think that when the Knights and Titans were in financial trouble, the NRL took over, yet when it happened to Souths, they get booted from the comp.

Bulldog Force

To think the situations are even comparable shows how much of an idiot you really are

So you're saying lack of funds didn't play a part in it?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good one mate.

Lesson #1 in business... MONEY TALKS.

Despite all the shit that was said in the media, despite the justification that was laid in the courts, despite EVERYTHING that was said and done, it all came down to one thing, MONEY!

Why do you think the Russell Crowe bought them? Because he likes them? LOL. Why do you think they now have Australia's richest man on board. For Passion? LOL.

It's all money mate, MONEY.

Rugby League has become a rich mans business, and if you don't have money to keep your franchise a float, you're busted.

Money talks.

Bulldog Force

To think the situations are even comparable shows how much of an idiot you really are

Now that we've spoken about money, let's talk about the comparisons...

The Knights were owned by cash-strapped Tinkler. We all know how that went down... the NRL took control of them.

What about the Titans? They have no major sponsor and are also in Financial troubles... the NRL took control of them.