Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Survey for passionate league fans

Trollhammaren

What age were you when you started following footy? 9

What club do you support? Currently the Wests Tigers. I was Balmain previously, however, originally followed Canberra; my darkest secret :cry:

Why do you support the club you support? I live in Tiger territory and felt a lot more pride in the fans I met.

How many games would you attend a year? 10-15

What makes rugby league better than any other game? Tougher, requires great stamina and commitment. More enjoyable to watch than other 'football' codes

Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? Perhaps, I won't force them to do anything. My support for league is completely personal. Hardly any of my friends support league, and I only have one Tigers' fan as a mate. If the children don't like the game, that's fine by me.

Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Absolutely. We are close to 100 years into the competition and we have a proud heritage. Recognising the foundation clubs and jerseys etc. is very important.

Stranger

as long as i can remember. when i was 5 i suppose.
Knights
First team i saw play
About 10/ as many as im able.
You need skills to play league. Its contact
Yep
Good to have history, also good to move on... not stay in the past

Chippo Raiders

Eels Dude said:
Hey all, I'm doing a uni assignment on our wonderful game and as part of it thought I'd do a survey on what you guys thought on the current culture of league. Any contributions would be very helpful to me, and I'd be eternally grateful.

What age were you when you started following footy?
What club do you support?
Why do you support the club you support?
How many games would you attend a year?
What makes rugby league better than any other game?
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league?
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game?

Canberra Raiders was Balmain up to 89
Style of play, the legends involved with the club
Not many 3-5
Love every drop of it, love playingit, watching it, hearing it.
Definitley
Yes, but it is important to evolve

roosterboy60

What age were you when you started following footy? 5-6
What club do you support? Roosters
Why do you support the club you support? I have lived in the Eastern Suburbs all my life, so I just started to support them.
How many games would you attend a year? Around 14-15.
What makes rugby league better than any other game? The Pace, The Skill's..just everything about it!
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? I will yes, they don't want to miss out on the great game.
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Yes I do, but we should still move on.

KFC

What age were you when you started following footy? 5

What club do you support? Easts

Why do you support the club you support? I support the club because it represents where I come from I've lived in the Eastern Suburbs all my life.

How many games would you attend a year? 12 home games and a couple of away games

What makes rugby league better than any other game? The gladiatorial aspect of the game, the speed, skill and athleticism. And the unpredictablity.

Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? I have and all my children are mad Easts supporters.

Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Absolutely.

God-King Dean

What age were you when you started following footy? 6
What club do you support? St.George Illawarra
Why do you support the club you support? Older brother goes for them, his influence, I liked the name Dragons as a kid
How many games would you attend a year? 5-10
What makes rugby league better than any other game? The toughness
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? Yes
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Of course

CULLUS.ONLINE

Wests Tigers (came from Balmain)

Had no idea about footy, so i just rocked up to watch the local team (Balmain) one day. Will always support the WT because they are my local team (as long as they play at Leichhardt)

i think i went to 17 this year

Tribal tradition. Local area's team, the atmosphere and history! I love the smell of hot dogs while sitting on the hill at Leichhardt or Cambo on a sunday arvo. It really brings out the community!

Hell yes

Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game?
Absolutly. You can probably tell why from what i said above. Its so important. For me, my area (Balmain) has evolved to become the suburb it is because of the Tigers. I want that tradition and local pride to continue!

ByRd

what age were you when you started following footy? 3
what club do you support? BULLDOGS
why do you support the club you support? because i have lived in bulldogs territory my whole life, im 16 now in Campsie & my dad follows them.
how many games do you attend a year? around 15
what makes rugby league better than any other game? the big hits, the speed plus many more & it JUST IS
have you/will you introduce your kids to league? FOR SURE, will be no other sport
do you think its important to preserve the history & culture of the game? YES

Eels Dude said:
Hey all, I'm doing a uni assignment on our wonderful game and as part of it thought I'd do a survey on what you guys thought on the current culture of league. Any contributions would be very helpful to me, and I'd be eternally grateful.

I started watching rugby league about 14
I support Melbourne Storm
I supported the storm because of the selling of a perfectly good ground called waverly park and all it needed to be moved into a rectangle shaped ground it was great for all rectangle sports shaped games
i went to 6 games
i think it is the tribal atmosphere bettween teams
yes i will introduce my kid to rugby league
I think it's good to preserve but not being too conservitive in doing it for the future

RABK

What age were you when you started following footy? I started watching it when i was about 3, i have very blurry memory's of me and my dad watching the 89 grand final.

What club do you support? I support the Newcastle Knights.

Why do you support the club you support? Red and blue are my fav colours and i loved Paul Harragon.

How many games would you attend a year? About 6 Knights games and 2 non knights games.

What makes rugby league better than any other game? Superior skills and the toughness involved. Also the mateship it brings.

Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? Yep, especially seeing my GF is a mad knights supporter too 8)

Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Of course it is.

Booyah

What age were you when you started following footy? 9 or 10
What club do you support? Cronulla and Souths Jersey Flegg
Why do you support the club you support? ET was my hero
How many games would you attend a year? 6, but I do attend other games
What makes rugby league better than any other game? The mateship
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? I have turned several of my friends away from Union to play League, and next year I'm making a friend change from Gridiron to play. IWhen I have children there's only one game they'll be allowed to play and that's League.
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Absolutley.

Glenn

What age were you when you started following footy? 5

What club do you support? Parramatta

Why do you support the club you support? Not sure why, been following them since I first saw them play in 1980

How many games would you attend a year? 10-15

What makes rugby league better than any other game? Wouldn't say its better than any other game, but still a very skillful game

Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? If I have any yes

Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Remembering the history of the game is very important, but also have to look to the future

Duff

what age were you when you started following footy? Not sure really, was dragged along by my parents almost every week since i was 3

what club do you support? The South Sydney Rabbitohs

why do you support the club you support? like i said, dragged along since i was three and i guess it sorta generates a certain type of unbridled passion.

how many games do you attend a year? Only missed 2 Souths matches in the past 3 seasons including away games, plus try to get to as many other teams games depending on when i feel like it.

what makes rugby league better than any other game? In reality i don't think it is. Football is the true world game and for a reason. Still love my league though.

have you/will you introduce your kids to league? Depending on if the administration don't go f**king our game around again as they did a few years ago.

do you think its important to preserve the history & culture of the game? Without it you have no future.

Panthers_Gurl

What club do you support? at the age of 6 i went for broncos :( from bout 7-10 raiders :) 10-14 another sport :? :evil: and from 14 to now i go for the PANTHERS
Why do you support the club you support? well its when i first saw girds playing for the panthers then i fell in love with the team now you cant make me change for the world
How many games would you attend a year? not alot 1-2
What makes rugby league better than any other game? its just simply the best no contest what so ever :lol:
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? i will when i have kids and they will be die hard panthers fans
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game?yes it is

Chippo Raiders

panthers_gurl said:
What club do you support? at the age of 6 i went for broncos :( from bout 7-10 raiders :) 10-14 another sport :? :evil: and from 14 to now i go for the PANTHERS
Why do you support the club you support? well its when i first saw girds playing for the panthers then i fell in love with the team now you cant make me change for the world
How many games would you attend a year? not alot 1-2
What makes rugby league better than any other game? its just simply the best no contest what so ever :lol:
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? i will when i have kids and they will be die hard panthers fans
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game?yes it is
You were better as a 7-10 year old ;-)

0 (literally)
Wests Tigers, Balmain before that
Its in the blood....parents supported them, born on the day they lost the GF in 1989.
1, ive been sentenced to be in teh south of NZ so i can only see my beloved Tigers go to CHCH.
The excitement
They will or ill disown them.
Yes

Trollhammaren

Chippo Raiders said:
Eels Dude said:

Not many 3-5
Definitley

SACRILEGE! :shock: Jump on the bandwagon! :p

wittyfan

What club do you support? Cronulla
Why do you support the club you support? I just happened to choose them.
How many games would you attend a year? 6
What makes rugby league better than any other game? Fitness of the players. ;-)
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? Umm, no.
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? Yes, but not to over-do it with 70's weeks etc.

Chippo Raiders

tiger pride said:
Chippo Raiders said:
Eels Dude said:

Not many 3-5
Definitley

SACRILEGE! :shock: Jump on the bandwagon! :p
Yeah...but I won't again.....I will stick through with the Raiders....I am a true Raiders supporter and wasn't a true Tigers supporter

huntress_555

What age were you when you started following footy? - 12
What club do you support? Brisbane Broncos
Why do you support the club you support? Because I was born in Brissie, and my family loves them! ANd because they are a fantastic passionate club.
How many games would you attend a year? um..as many as possible
What makes rugby league better than any other game? its just great to watch, especially going to a game, the supporters atmosphere is great!!
Have you/ will you introduce your children to rugby league? yep!!
Do you think it's important to preserve the history and the culture of the game? hhm...of course!!!