Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tail Gate Parties....how come we don't do them in Australia?

Von

Tailgate parties are big in US football.
For those who do not know what they are, fans arrive a few hours before the game, and share beers, a bbq and a few laughs in the car park before the game kicks off.
I think they are excellent, especially for day games.

Some vans/utes in the US are really decked out with fold out barbecues, plasma screens and huge speakers.

I would love to see them here.

Why don't we do it?
Would you guys be keen?
I guess the usual suspects would whinge that we would be taking away from the overpriced caterers inside the ground....and perhaps problems with drinking in public.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tailgate_party

God-King Dean

todd_carney_wideweb__470x301,0.jpg

no name

Maybe car parks are not as attractive to Aussies?
Or maybe we just aren't brainless Seppo bogans.
Whatever the reason, this thread has potential to be a good laugh.

Ronnie Dobbs

Got a mate working over there at the moment who went to the Iowa v Michigan State game on Sunday.

Said it was an outstanding day. Everyones in a great mood, having a great time and fired up for the game. No restrictions. No violence.

If all the above count as boganism , then f**k me, I'm a bogan.

Would never happen in Nanny State Australia though.

Von

and Ronnie, I'd imagine your mate enjoyed some nice scenery...especially at a College game.

Parra

Got a mate working over there at the moment who went to the Iowa v Michigan State game on Sunday.

Said it was an outstanding day. Everyones in a great mood, having a great time and fired up for the game. No restrictions. No violence.

I'm with you Ronny.

no name

Melbourne Cup?

Because we don;t know how to have a beer without getting rat ar5ed, starting fights, pi**ing in the street, falling over and generally being anti social?

I went to a great fans BBQ at Les Catalans ground in Perpignan, it was in the park next to the ground, full hog roast over an open fire, cold beer on tap etc, was a great prelude to the evenings entertainment.

drunks+races.jpg

We have heaps of "tail gate parties" in Australia. The difference is we have the sense to have them at a beach, a picnic area or a camping ground rather than in a carpark at the footy ffs! Imagine a cranked up barbie and a heap of blokes downing the Tooheys stubbies with one bloke and his accoustic guitar while they all loudly dribble their way through American Pie

"And the free blokes I f*ckin admire the most, f*ckin,
The farva, son and the f*cking ghost........."

I can see plenty of them being tolerated in council carparks everywhere.

Besides, most Aussies have the sense to commute. Do you suggest lugging the barbie and blue esky onto the train and cooking a heap of snags?

Simple answer why we dont have them in Australia. We are not as stupid as your average f*cking Seppo, that's why!!!!!!

Von

Besides, most Aussies have the sense to commute. Do you suggest lugging the barbie and blue esky onto the train and cooking a heap of snags?

No I don't suggest lugging the barbie & esky on the train. I would suggest you take it in the boot of your (or mate's) car....then it would be a tailgate party, not a train station party.

beave

I have been to a few tailgaiting parties over in the states before NFL games and there was nothing bogan about them. The people who I hung out with were quite well off $$$ wise and had decent jobs but enjoyed 'grilling out' and passing the football with their kids before the game. f**k me, if anyone is against that than you got massive problems. The cops turn a blind eye over there towards drinking in public on gameday, the mums generally drive home at the end of the day if the old man has had a few too many brews.

the thing is most aussies wouldn't be able to tail gate because
A) they wouldn't be able to think ahead and pre plan the food arrangements
and
B) it would take 5 minutes before some loud mouthed baffoon ruined it for everyone.

I bag yanks out like the next man (probably more because Im married to one) but I will give them one thing, the football experience before, during and after a game over there shits all over ours.

People whinge over here that the food and piss prices are too expensive at our games, the yanks have somewhat alleviated that problem by tailgating but get bagged for it??? Sometimes I swear people like to whinge for the sake of it.