Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Target Fittler?

antonius

Hages said today that the Knights wouldn’t be targeting Fittler in tomorrow night’s game. I think they will, Fittler is just as important to their team as Johns is to ours, if you look at the stats he’s even more so, if his shoulder is dicky then I have no probs with Kennedy, Perry and co aiming a few solid hits on it, in fact I demand they do it! Any advantage we can get we should take, I’m not talking illegall stuff, just some hard legit hits. If he had to leave the field and we beat them I would love listening to them whinge that their team were disadvantaged losing him. Boy we could have a field day, what a bonus that would be on top of beating them. I want us to beat them so badly I can feel it, so I am saying use every avenue available, and if that means crunching Fittlers shoulder a few times then lets get on with it. :twisted: :twisted:

MC DUI

antonius said:
Hages said today that the Knights wouldn’t be targeting Fittler in tomorrow night’s game. I think they will, Fittler is just as important to their team as Johns is to ours, if you look at the stats he’s even more so, if his shoulder is dicky then I have no probs with Kennedy, Perry and co aiming a few solid hits on it, in fact I demand they do it! Any advantage we can get we should take, I’m not talking illegall stuff, just some hard legit hits. If he had to leave the field and we beat them I would love listening to them whinge that their team were disadvantaged losing him. Boy we could have a field day, what a bonus that would be on top of beating them. I want us to beat them so badly I can feel it, so I am saying use every avenue available, and if that means crunching Fittlers shoulder a few times then lets get on with it. :twisted: :twisted:

I totally agree with you Antonius, smash the crap out of him, if he can't handle it then he shouldn't be playing.

All the 'experts' keep saying blah, blah, blah you shouldn't target Fitler because he is a champion and will step up to the plate. Bah! I say to them, smash him to pieces :twisted: :twisted:

MC DUI said:
I totally agree with you Antonius, smash the crap out of him, if he can't handle it then he shouldn't be playing.

All the 'experts' keep saying blah, blah, blah you shouldn't target Fitler because he is a champion and will step up to the plate. Bah! I say to them, smash him to pieces :twisted: :twisted:

what experts have said this?

MC DUI

Chicken_Hunter said:
MC DUI said:

what experts have said this?

Laurie Daley for one and also I think I remember Maddog said it, I've heard others, can't remember who exactly, mainly guests on NRL shows on Fox.

shane1970

Absolutely - if we can get a chance to run some traffic at him then do it and make sure we do it hard and as often as possible. Aim every attacking play at him and give that shoulder a huge workout BUT the problem I see is that since his comeback - 2 games I think - Ricky has put Freddy on the left wing in defence. This protects his left shoulder and the only way he then has to use it in defence is when a player may get on the outside of him - and the way he sticks to the sideline there ain't NO way we can get around him. So I reckon we may have a bit of trouble targetting him in attack but hey who knows.
Another thing I have noticed when watching the Roosters the last couple of weeks is how many times do they show Ricky STUART during the game???? Way to many - Gives me the S#$@S I wanna watch footy not the bloody Coach.
Anway GO THE KNIGHTS - They may just surprise a few this weekend - here's hoping anyway!!!!!!

knightsgal85

Yeah, I read an article in The Daily Telegraph this morning in relation to this. Like yourself, I too believe we will put as much pressure on Brad Fitler, as he is a vital component to their team's success & the fact that he is still overcoming a shoulder injury.

If our forwards set the platform, & we are able to disrupt Brad Fitler & put as much pressure on him (hard hits etc.), & contain their try-scoring geniuses, we'll give the Roosters a run for their money.

If we are able to disrupt Brad Fitler's & Brett Finch's kicking game, ball skills & set plays, the Roosters will struggle in attack. The key to unlock the door to defeat the Roosters is defence, which is what will ultimately win us the game. We have the ability to score tries, but any lack of focus & concentration in defence in the game will really make us hurt, as the Roosters always seem to capitalise on these opportunities when they present themselves. They have heaps of danger players that can contribute to a large points margin such as Anthony Minichiello, Shannon Hegarty, Brad Fitler, Brett Finch & Craig Wing, just to name a few, if our defence falters. The first 10 minutes of both halves will have a significant bearing on the result of the game. Time will reveal all ...

kick for touch as much as possible, kick the ball dead, disrupt the flow of the ame as much as possible the roosters love a flowing game and thats when they get on top.

Kaz

junior
If the Knights target Fittler, then they better watch out for Wing, Ricko & co. as they are just as dangerous.

poetic tragedy

I think that is VERY poor...

Think back last year when we were contenders for the finals and Johns copped a cheap shot in the back from St George and was out for the rest of that game plus the next game.

I'm sure most people aren't willing to admit it but that's what they were willing to blame our losses on, the fact that Johns was taken out.

Imagine if Fittler was to be targeted, and had intentionally copped a huge one into the arm which could have ruled him out for the rest of the season, then they'd feel just how we did. I think no matter what team it is, it's always a shame to have any player out, whether they be good or not, and to wish that onto a vital part of a team is pretty low.

Anyways, never mind me.

rourkster

I think you're over-reacting. No-one has suggested anything illegal. All they are saying is that his suspect shoulder should be tested in attack and defence. Nothing wrong with that at all.

MC DUI

poetic tragedy said:

Think back last year when we were contenders for the finals and Johns copped a cheap shot in the back from St George and was out for the rest of that game plus the next game.

I'm sure most people aren't willing to admit it but that's what they were willing to blame our losses on, the fact that Johns was taken out.

Imagine if Fittler was to be targeted, and had intentionally copped a huge one into the arm which could have ruled him out for the rest of the season, then they'd feel just how we did. I think no matter what team it is, it's always a shame to have any player out, whether they be good or not, and to wish that onto a vital part of a team is pretty low.

Anyways, never mind me.

Nobody is saying to do anything illegal here. League is a tough game and if the Knights can legally put big hits on Fittler and get him out of the match then good for us.
If he does injure his arm and go out for the season tough-luck, if he is that bad he shouldn't be playing.

ReplicatedGod

yeah, take Fittler out, we don't need him. He doesn't play in the australian side anymore so why does it matter if hes f***ed up tomorrow night. TAKE HIM OUT!

antonius

poetic tragedy said:

Anyways, never mind me.
I'm not saying do anything illegal here, They are playing Football you know, not bloody tiddly winks, if he's got a dodgey arm and chooses to risk it and play then that's his choice, and I expect our players to target that weakness, it's no different to aiming your attack down a particular side of the field when there's a wounded player hanging around out there following a big hit.

Matt23

They'll protect him in defence...rushing up on him would be counter productive, Wing would then run riot...nailing Fittler is easier said then done. :?

CoastieChik

Bugger wastin time on fittler - lets just flog em' without giving them ny excuses!! fittlers shoulder we'll be screwed after that - and then they'll start telling us all about just how bad his injury is, and how they HAD to play him cos of all their "adversities" this year - what a load of crap!! They're no worse off than anyone else! If u ask me, the only real adversity they've had this yr is getting stuck with walker (yeah real tough robbin him from the poor bunnies - but probs just made them a season highlight - best thing they've done all yr!!) - n they went about gettin rid of him pretty damn quick nyway!!
Win or lose, I'm sure we're gonna hear all about how tough the roosters have it :roll:

Why on earth would you bother to target Fittler, a veteran that has been used to being targeted since he was 18. Take a good long hard look at last years Grand Final; you can see quite clearly the results of targeting Fittler. The Roosters resolve will be hardened, and Fittler will rise to the occasion. I strongly suggest that we treat Fittler as we normally would, i.e. keep an eye on him and don’t play him into the game.

I would suggest that if we were to target any of the Roosters for individual treatment you would target either: Byrne, Walker or Finch. They are the weak links in an other wise sensational side.

I can probably see why you would think that making Freddy tackle a lot is a bonus for the Knights. I have heard Gould mention in the past the Fittler is at his best when he made to defend, he gets much more involved in the game, and we don’t want that. If he is injured then let him hang around the ruck and kick all night.

melon....

Please target Fittler....Please....then Wing, Crocker, Fitzgibbon and Finch can run riot!!!

Hages is the only Novacastrian with a) Sense and b) knows a little more about the severity or lack there of of Freddy's shoulder.

Suprises coming your way on Saturday Night and I'll be very suprised if Easts dont win by 30.