Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Bench

Dragonslayer

At the moment our balance in the starting props isnt right and I agree with OT here that Lawrie and Vaughan should be the starting props with JG and either Timm or Kerr (need to see Timm given a shot against the Eels imo) as the bench props.

IMO its not just the bench it is also the starting side.
The balance of the forward pack has never been correct and we have the wrong pairings of players off at the same time and we also have some players in the wrong position.
We started with Frizz at lock until injured then we had Lawrie at lock and then all of a sudden we had Host there last week all a bit of a mish mash.
Allowing for the fact JDB is out the forward pack needs careful consideration as to who plays where.
IMO Graham should come from the bench and Lawrie should start the game as a prop.
If Graham does come from the bench then you can't have 2 slower, older forwards on the bench so Latimore off to CC.
When Vaughan come off Graham goes on.
When Lawrie comes off K Sims (when available) goes on.
The spare prop in the rotation Kerr or Timms.
The back row is best served IMO with Host & Sims as the starting back rowers and Frizz at lock. Reasoning is that Host actually runs better lines than Frizz so in the end will become far more useful playing wide and Frizz actually has a huge tendency to run to the centre to attract defenders anyway.
So for me
Starting forwards
Lawrie, Mc Innes, Vaughan
T Sims, J Host
T Frizzell
Graham
Kerr
Leilua
K Sims (when available)
Until then Robson or Ford (time to upgrade him to NRL status)
Frizell runs lines in accordance with Mary's instructions.
Robson or Field to be the 4th bench spot depending on game plan and opposition.

LINESPEED

Masterful plan I must say, but I’m gunna suggest a slight alteration. My figures suggest we need 4 wingers on the bench. 2 wingers are there for a rest (give them a pillow and tell them to lay down) The other 2 wingers directly replace any winger injured during the game. That way when our wingers receive the ball in open space will they run like the wind.

The hardest part will be finding another 3 wingers with hands like feet.

Great ideas

but Waterboy’s strategy of rotating wingers thru halfback

(as he did with Zac - anywhere but #3 of course)

well, blindsided me at first - until I remembered he’s done that before with JDB - then of course poor Kurt’s revolutionary moves (& much acclaimed by Fox & his mate Kenty) thru wing to the forwards & Reece the other way round
FMD how could we miss it

- the stategy’s mindblowingly simple:

...move anyone except fuc*in Turnstile

Zac’ll play every position bar #3 this decade

Agree 100% though,
Rav, Maranta, Pearson, Jordy, Runciman & Nichols are meanwhile wing rotations thru the bench,

And they sub best in pairs too as we saw - razzledazzle

-like butchered tries & Park footy errors

....while Ian sources more ESL wingers - journeymen preferred

Lol,
Lol
&
Effin
Lol

True_Believer

Frizell runs lines in accordance with Mary's instructions.
Robson or Field to be the 4th bench spot depending on game plan and opposition.

Why would he tell Frizz to run one way and Host a different way? It makes no sense. Not to mention that Sims runs straight and hard on the other edge.

That's how Frizz plays, it's not under instruction.

Life's Good

IMO its not just the bench it is also the starting side.
The balance of the forward pack has never been correct and we have the wrong pairings of players off at the same time and we also have some players in the wrong position.
We started with Frizz at lock until injured then we had Lawrie at lock and then all of a sudden we had Host there last week all a bit of a mish mash.
Allowing for the fact JDB is out the forward pack needs careful consideration as to who plays where.
IMO Graham should come from the bench and Lawrie should start the game as a prop.
If Graham does come from the bench then you can't have 2 slower, older forwards on the bench so Latimore off to CC.
When Vaughan come off Graham goes on.
When Lawrie comes off K Sims (when available) goes on.
The spare prop in the rotation Kerr or Timms.
The back row is best served IMO with Host & Sims as the starting back rowers and Frizz at lock. Reasoning is that Host actually runs better lines than Frizz so in the end will become far more useful playing wide and Frizz actually has a huge tendency to run to the centre to attract defenders anyway.
So for me
Starting forwards
Lawrie, Mc Innes, Vaughan
T Sims, J Host
T Frizzell
Graham
Kerr
Leilua
K Sims (when available)
Until then Robson or Ford (time to upgrade him to NRL status)
There’s merit in what you say but the struggle to get 4 spots right is the lesser of two evils given our brains trust. I reckon our lack of bench use has been most costly, not only in terms of actual game results but in the blooding of players(think of Host getting little minutes over the last 2 years, Lomax getting splinters, even Havili back in 2017).
Under SuperCoach I’d be content seeing value out of the bench first without complicating the run on side.