Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Coach

Sharkman

Hey, great effort reefy, I can only assume you're related to the LOCAL, otherwise you'd not be so blind.

I'm unrelated, never met him & my vision is fine.

& there was minimal effort in my reply to your post.
Correcting your mistakes was easy, the hardest thing is the placing of the quotes.

MilitaryShark

I feel he is doing an OK job with what he has. I would like the board to start taking some blame, ie: recruiting.............I hope Baily stays at the Sharks, having said that i hope he stays in at lock and the dickheads on the board recruit a decent centre along with El Masri and that would take a huge burden of BK with the kicking being done by someone else. I also hope Stevens stays, i reckon he is playing some great footy, but i hope they unleash Beattie on another team. ;-)

The board should not directly get the blame for recruiting MS. Anderson had the sole responsibility of hiring and firing players. It is logical that this be the case IMO as the players have to fit in with what the coach wants to do with the team and the way it progresses. Anderson if anyone should get the blame for most of the areas where there is an apparent lack of player depth. We have made a few signings (saleh and Seers) earlier this year from what was left which was not much but they havent paid dividends as such yet. Whose decision in regards to signing those players i do not know. You could argue the board hired Anderson but they werent to know what would eventually happen although they probably should have used their sense in realising Andersons track record.

We will get a gauge of where Raper wants to go with the team and if he can see some of the areas where we need added player strength at June 30. This will give everyone more of an indication on what he is like as a coach. He at least seems to have a stable presence at this stage which the club desperatley needed. I like the look of him so far anyway.

ali

He's doing ok. I was hoping for a little better, but I'm certainly not calling for his head.

I'm waiting to see the reaction come june 30. If say a Phil Bailey suddenly decided to re-sign prior to June 30, and came out and said that Raper is an excellent coach, then maybe we get our first hint of what the players truelly think of him.

Overall I think he maybe has been a little on the causious side with team selections, but he's doing ok.

chili pepper

Raper is doing a fantastic job. He is has improved alot of areas that were sorely neglected by CA and is in the process of transforming the team into a good side IMO. Anyone expecting instant success should return from the clouds- there was always going to be growing pains.

Unfair to be comparing him with the likes of Bennett and even Stuart at this stage of his NRL career. I love how he wears his heart on his sleeve and has obviously gained the respect of the players.

To blame him solely for our losses to the Tigers, Souths and Cowboys is ridiculous. As someone said he hasinherited an underperforming team whereas CA turned a team primed for GF success into a rabble.

Booyah

I like him. He's good with the media, the players like him and unlike dOpes who claimed he was fixing stuff, Stu has made those claims and then delivered on them.

The bloke has my support.

newman

I think its good for us to have a coach who is a bit of a fatty boombah. Adds a bit of charachter to the place.

Generalzod

I wanted Ando retained aswell, But saying that In the last 4 weeks the team has being going pretty well especially in the discipline department.
The turn around can be attributed to Stuart. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

brumal

I think Rapers attitude has been good, but question his team selections. The defence against Souths, Nth QLD, St George and the Roosters from the 30th was atrocious. The way the Dragons busted us up the middle and our marker defence against the Roosters was shocking.

I hope he can get the team playing some consistent rugby league, and settle a few positions so the guys can get some combinations going.

bull shark

What I'm really happy to be seeing is the return of some team spirit. The guys look like they're enjoying the game. And it was great to see in the last few plays when we were definitely out of it, that they were still trying to score points, rather than give up.

And did you notice earlier on when Peachey fumbled a pass from Noddy right on the line, Noddy came over and ruffled his hair in a kind of "Don't worry about it mate" gesture. That's what I want to see more of.

I reckon that with the talent we've got, if that spirit can continue to develop, we'll definitely make the finals. If we can make 8th I'll be over the moon.

Chondricthyes

Sucees in England?
I thought he was punted from TWO clubs.

Look its early and time will tell the tale..but.. I've said it before and I've seen nothing to change my mind thus far, He's not good with the 1%ers and you need to be absolutely drilled (god help me, like the chooks) to win the comp or even be consistant. It showed in England(thanks Fox) and it ain't changed here yet. I hope against hope maturity in his coaching will change his lack of detail and regiment but don't get too rahh, rahh yet boys and girls, history at senior level aint that good with this lad....yet.

brumal

I think if he can improve the team we need some stability in the lineup, continue the good spirit, but we really need good old fashion 'smarts' which most of the top 4 teams have all over the park. :-k

Kimmorley running the show gets predictable, as we have seen in previous seasons without a quality 5/8. He wins games and is definately our matchwinner and no.1 player, but I would like to see Raper develop some players to work more around him to give the team more options. :blahb:

MilitaryShark

I
He at least seems to have a stable presence at this stage which the club desperatley needed. I like the look of him so far anyway.
I agree 100% with your comment NCL, i feel he could be the hand that steadies the ship