Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The crowd was soft today!

B_Tiger

I don't think a crowd has to be vocal for there to be an atmosphere. 18k at a match at leichhardt definately lifted the players with or without cheering. Running out on to leichhardt with that sort of support played a major factor in why we were so dominant.

magpiemax

B_Tiger said:
I don't think a crowd has to be vocal for there to be an atmosphere. 18k at a match at leichhardt definately lifted the players with or without cheering. Running out on to leichhardt with that sort of support played a major factor in why we were so dominant.
Mate have you ever been to a Mute,deaf n dumb birthday party?????????
Well dont talk then!!!

simon says

I think some are being a little hard on the crowd....or wanting something that we just dont do.

I know the TIGERSSSSSSS chant was a fizzer at times,but the heckling and booing were first rate.The noise was constant,and every little mistake that was made was noticed by about 19 thousand people.We got plenty of penalties for inside the ten,and I reckon the crowd got us quite a few of them.

Ive been going to Leichhardt for an age,and even in our heyday the fans never constantly chanted TIGERS.I guess we are a litle fickle in that way,but I guarantee you I dont feel like chanting when Im told by a bloody ground announcer.....I just cant do it,like being force fed,and I guess I jack up and dont do it.....

The chants werent big,but the place was buzzing IMHO.

Cheers.

tracietiga

It was awesome , and i agree with Simon .
diehards dont yell tigers ,tigers when they are told to by the ground announcer .

Also add to it that 8000 of the crowd were supporters who havent seen our side play in years .

I thought the place was buzzing . and when they played eye of the tiger the goosepimples arrived .

magpiemax

tracietiga said:
It was awesome , and i agree with Simon .
diehards dont yell tigers ,tigers when they are told to by the ground announcer .

Also add to it that 8000 of the crowd were supporters who havent seen our side play in years .

I thought the place was buzzing . and when they played eye of the tiger the goosepimples arrived .
The ground announcer is to corny, he should of been punted with Owen Craigie and Hoppa!

Snide the Tiger

Mate - I screamed like a raving lunatic at appropriate moments - both encouragement - criticism and the routine abuse of the ref (although I kept my expletives limited due to the presence of children)!!

But just for yelling TIGERS at the top of your lungs while hoisting two cans of beer skywards after a try gets you weird and disapproving looks from these family groups who apparently come to the footy for a quiet afternoon!

It doesn't stop me though....

Suzie

Good one Snide - that's the kind of thing I do too...gets even weirder looks when you're a 30something mother of 3 :oops: :lol:

tigershaz

simon says said:
I think some are being a little hard on the crowd....or wanting something that we just dont do.

I know the TIGERSSSSSSS chant was a fizzer at times,but the heckling and booing were first rate.The noise was constant,and every little mistake that was made was noticed by about 19 thousand people.We got plenty of penalties for inside the ten,and I reckon the crowd got us quite a few of them.

Ive been going to Leichhardt for an age,and even in our heyday the fans never constantly chanted TIGERS.I guess we are a litle fickle in that way,but I guarantee you I dont feel like chanting when Im told by a bloody ground announcer.....I just cant do it,like being force fed,and I guess I jack up and dont do it.....

The chants werent big,but the place was buzzing IMHO.

Cheers.

I guess I'm used to the loud ruckess at Campbelltown, :blahb: not saying that there anything wrong with either, it's what you are used to I guess.
I agree with whoever said it was a nervous crowd, to me if we thought we were a sure thing, we would be more vocal :-k

Snide the Tiger

The so-called loud ruckuss at Campbelltown is NOT noticed by the players (as they have made it clear in quotes that for both the Manly game and sunday's that the Leichhardt crowd lifted them & brought them home - where no such mention after the Canberra game three weeks ago)!!!!

Look at Benji's comments after playing his first ever game there!!!!

magpiemax

Snide the Tiger said:
Mate - I screamed like a raving lunatic at appropriate moments - both encouragement - criticism and the routine abuse of the ref (although I kept my expletives limited due to the presence of children)!!

But just for yelling TIGERS at the top of your lungs while hoisting two cans of beer skywards after a try gets you weird and disapproving looks from these family groups who apparently come to the footy for a quiet afternoon!

It doesn't stop me though....
And WHAT ABOUT ME!!! I was minding my own businness urinating from the 2nd tier of the Latchem Robinson stand.
And out of know where came these 3 tongan security guards and through me OUT!
What a joke,Im thinking about writing a letter to Noyce.

Gus22

And WHAT ABOUT ME!!! I was minding my own businness urinating from the 2nd tier of the Latchem Robinson stand.
And out of know where came these 3 tongan security guards and through me OUT!
What a joke,Im thinking about writing a letter to Noyce.

How many shakes?
More than 2?
You can't do that in front of the kiddies!

simon says

tigershaz said:
I guess I'm used to the loud ruckess at Campbelltown.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Last game at Cambo an elderly gentleman dropped 2 dollars in attempting to purchase a coke for his grandson.The noise from this was heard in Uzbekistan...........

Loud ruckus......

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

On a serious note,Id be lying If I havent been dissapointed in the crowds at Cambo.I went to all Cambo games last year,and the only game that there was any noise at was the Doggies game,where for the first time in my life I saw the home team get outnumbered in voice and numbers by the away fans.I still have this feeling that there are a lot out that way who have not embraced the JV,I guess we will soon find out.We have some big games there soon,and its a real chance for Cambo to show that they are 100% Wests Tigers and willing to show this by voting with their feet.

Im on fire...... :lol:

Eddie.

[quote="simon says

Im on fire...... :lol:[/quote]

As long as you believe that Simon :lol:

But yep your right, Campbelltown should come under the spotlight the next game they have V roosters ( as i believe this would be 18000 on a Friday night at Leichhardt)

The problem for Cambo is everyone loves Liechhardt, the commentators talk it up during the week, the players talk it up (sattler marshall)opposing fans love the ground, nutural fans love the ground 9 with more of both attending leichhardt). cambo also doesnt have enough derby games, manly, parra, souths are all derby games at leichhardt.

But lets be fair so far its only had brisbane and canberra, and 13000 was a fair efort against the Broncs.