Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Future

cleary89

Honestly guys (not trying to troll), do you think the sharks have a future in the shire? Had that many mates calling me after round 2 (had 32 missed calls by the time i got home) but i send the usual message after the game and most don't even give a shit. Only jump on the bandwagon. Clearly the case with crowds too, with only 7k out there tonight even with kids under 16 being free.

The only way to get people back on board is to start winning games and the way you guys are playing I can't see you being anywhere but bottom 4. Graham is shit, Kelly was just starting to come good and is now out for 8 weeks. Centres and wing have been real ordinary. Plus Douglas is leaving. On paper, you aren't a top 8 side at full strength.

So fans are starting to abandon, squad is average plus money is tight. Can't afford a CEO, moving games to other countries and relying on the development. What is happening with that? The big vote for it, now hearing its not approved yet...

Would you guys be better off moving 4 games a year permanently to one of Adelaide/Perth/Brisbane/NZ? Say the NZ, Cowboys, Titans and Raiders games. Could get some decent coin and especially if its locked in say 4 games a year for 4 years, might be able to unlock a whole new supporter base.

Not only that, but some of the die hards are on here every week asking themselves why they still support the team. Is this the worst period in sharks history? Do you honestly reckon you will survive it or is it just delaying the inevitable?

The Popper

Too true, Cleary. But unless the development succeeds, and soon, the future is very bleak and we may have to relocate or fold. Ever since the Pierce Brigade knifed Gow we've been on the downhill slide (2008 was a hiccup, of course). It seems bad decision followed bad decision e.g. hiring Anderson, sacking Bird, etc. You're right - fans only want to follow a winning team. Can't blame them for that....people want to feel good about themselves, not feel like shyte. If the development does not succeed I feel we could end up in the NSW Cup with our club a feeder club for St.George-Illawarra................in a sense, back to where we came from.
OR
if only we could find a Tinkler or Crowe..........that could be the answer. Wot about Elle MacPherson???
Where are you when we need you, Dr. Edelsten???

carinashark

Well Cleary and Pop guess we are all off to the Central Coast , the land of the teenage pregnancy , long dole afternoons , the beach, the shopping mall, afternoon TV game shows, fast food ( cos u never learnd how to cook) , pokies on Friday , the footpaths that end in weeds and high schools full of kids with nothing to do.

A few months ago I smelt something sharky when our reserves merged,
it did have the pungent oder of Fitzroy Lions about it.

Note: this was just a fleeting thought that occurred, but it wouldn't shock me if it happened.
I would base it coming more from an NRL stance, not a club one.

lockyrulz

Well Cleary and Pop guess we are all off to the Central Coast , the land of the teenage pregnancy , long dole afternoons , the beach, the shopping mall, afternoon TV game shows, fast food ( cos u never learnd how to cook) , pokies on Friday , the footpaths that end in weeds and high schools full of kids with nothing to do.

Will you even notice the change then?

Card Shark

There are too many Sydney teams & that number cannot (will not) be sustained. I do fear the NRL have their sights on us for relocation. I don't like it but I'm a realist.

Despite criticism our current management are sometimes getting, the previous management has dug such a big hole that the chances of surviving as a stand alone Sydney club are sadly SFA. The game will be rationalized, possibly for 2013 & the sharks will be first in line for the chopping block.

We desperately need a gladiator or a mining magnate to secure our future but where is he / she???

Inferno

I don't think relocation is an option. Gallop is on record as saying he doesn't think it works. Bid towns want their own team and won't necessarily adopt a relocated team.

I'm pretty sure the carrot of 10million they used to dangle is also off the table.

Lockyer4President!

I don't think relocation is an option. Gallop is on record as saying he doesn't think it works and bid towns want their own team and won't necessarily adopt a relocated team.

I'm pretty sure the carrot of 10million they used to dangle is also off the table.

He doesn’t like partial relocations ala the 4 games for four years as suggested. He’s after full relocations.

That’s why he knocked you guys back a few years ago when you tried to move half your games to the CC. Has to be all or nothing to get the NRL $$.

newman

FOR f**kS SAKE. We are financially stable. The board has committed at every level to staying at woolooware. They are FULL STEAM AHEAD into a $300 MILLION development of the site.
They haven't talked relocation since zappia was here.

Get used to it. WE ARE NOT GOING ANYWHERE.

The only way we will die Is if cash flow problems send us bankrupt.

IT IS NOT THE SHARKS FAULT THERE ARE TOO MANY TEAMS INS SYDNEY.

f**k you very much,

Newman.

newman

What are you Talking about Ausguy?

If you understood ONE THING about business and ONE THING about the club you would know that despite our raft of problems, relocation is the last of our worries. Here are a few points why.

-the part 3a app is close to being approved.
-all tenders for all work on the development are active in the market.
- we are not mentioned inANY of the 2012 expansion bids. Not one.
-the club hasn't talked at a base or molecular level with any body that wants to work with the club to move them.
-even the grubbiest, piece of trash "news" site or paper hasn't even fabricated a story about us moving.

Considering the above, how then is a relocation going to happen. Whos going to make it work? Who are the key players?

A relocation doesn't happen overnight. It's a big undertaking. Tell me HOW it will work?

We may die. It's a possibilty. But we won't relocate.

Feej

I believe all of that mate, I just think the $$$ are gonna run out before we see any benefit.

Ausguy

Newms not once did I mention relocation.

I was doubting your statement regarding Being financially stable. We are as stable as the titanic 4 mins after the scrape.

In all seriousness and I know I will be shot down I actually feel sorry for Cronulla. It will be sad if the Sharks perish.

cleary89

Newman, I don't think anyone was suggesting you will be relocating in 2013, was more wondering if you are realistically going to be around in the shire in 10 years.

FOR f**kS SAKE. We are financially stable. The board has committed at every level to staying at woolooware. They are FULL STEAM AHEAD into a $300 MILLION development of the site.
They haven't talked relocation since zappia was here.

Get used to it. WE ARE NOT GOING ANYWHERE.

The only way we will die Is if cash flow problems send us bankrupt.

IT IS NOT THE SHARKS FAULT THERE ARE TOO MANY TEAMS INS SYDNEY.

f**k you very much,

Newman.

The cash flow is coming from where exactly right now?

Has that 2 mill from the consortium seen a Sharks bank account yet?

Lockyer4President!

rationalisation = less tv money. there is no way in the world the nrl or clubs will cut any teams in the next 5-10 years.

Which is why no-one is talking about kicking out the Sharks but relocating them to a bigger city/region where they will hopefully be more successful while still retaining their history.

It’s in the Sharks own best interests to be looking into relocation because it’s almost certainly going to happen, either on your terms or not.

Frailty

The cash flow is coming from where exactly right now?

Has that 2 mill from the consortium seen a Sharks bank account yet?

2 million went directly to reducing the debt.

Cashflow has not improved - thus why the club was seeking a merger with tradies...

Development could give long term stability, but we are no where near safe in the short to mid term... And even long term stability isn't guaranteed as costs will increase.