Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game

EelGirl

Ok now, what was the most Memorable game you have seen, and why has it stuck in your memory? :f:

Perrymatta

So many to pick from.

Shayne Hayne and our 74-4 win @ Parra Stadium was one for the record books that really sticks in my head because i have a lot of friends who are Cronulla supporters.

parra pete

Parramatta beating Balmain at Leichhardt Oval in 1962...Can remember it like yesterday. Why...Because it featured the debut of Ken Thornett, in my opinion the greatest player ever to wear the Blue and Gold, and it put the Club on the way to its first ever final series appearance.
Ken played seven games in a guest appearance on a break from Leeds..the side won 6 and drew the other....and didn't win another after he returned to England that season...
It was the beginning of a new era.......

stuke

the 86 Grand Final.

sending Ray Price and the Crow out as winners, as they both deserved.

that was also the season that i really became interested in League and i was at the game when the Crow injured his eye in the pre-season.

I have a few:

(1) In 2004, Round 2 against the Broncos. Eric Grothe leapt and caught a bomb on his own 20 metre line, landed and raced 80 metres to score untouched.

(2) In 2003 (I think) when we trounced the Sharks 74-4. It was memorable for me because Captain Cayless raced 70 metres or so to score a great try lol.

(3) In 2005 when we smashed the Bulldogs. Eric Grothe scored two brilliant individaul tries.

(4) Fuifui Moimoi's Parramatta First Grade debut, where he made a 15-minute appearance off the bench and pretty much turned the the tide of the match.

btaag

There are plenty, but the 1998 semi final against North Sydney is a personal favourite. We had been bundled out in straight semi's the previous year, and everyone was writing us off against a hot Bears side. We were down at half time with Jason Smith concussed, but the second half was amazing. To see Stuart Kelly break through the defence, with Penna following it up next play for a try was great, and those 3-4 tackles in the later part of the game where Dean Pay, Dallas Weston etc were anihilating the bears forwards was incredible - such a rush. We battered the bears to the point where they were knocked-out in straight semi's. At the end, I went to the tunnel to clap the boys off, and Jarrod McKraken winked at our section of the crowd - amazing game, dominant performance, and from memory, Parra's first semi final win since 1986. Still have it on tape and it lives long in the memory.

Honourable mentions:
Parra defeating Great Britain in 1992
Lee Oudenryn scoring 2 tries to defeat NEwcastle, same year
Parra hammering the Wests Tigers in 2001 64-10 (and every other flogging in that wonderful regular season)
Parra beating Manly at Brookvale in 1997.

The game at the Stadium in the late 80's when the Raiders had us down 28-0 at half time and then we put 30+ on them in the second half was quite amazing.

Guru Snr and his demolition of teams sticks in my childhood memory as does the tenacity of Ray Price. Sterlo who had the ball on a string was always a hoot.

More recently (as mentioned above) the 74 odd against a pathetic Sharks was cool. "Terry's a wanker" call against Terry Hill was heaps of fun.

Beating the Knights (Joey's record and subsequent snub) was a great day.

Next stop: Judas.

Gronk said:
The game at the Stadium in the late 80's when the Raiders had us down 28-0 at half time and then we put 30+ on them in the second half was quite amazing.

Guru Snr and his demolition of teams sticks in my childhood memory as does the tenacity of Ray Price. Sterlo who had the ball on a string was always a hoot.

More recently (as mentioned above) the 74 odd against a pathetic Sharks was cool. "Terry's a wanker" call against Terry Hill was heaps of fun.

Oh my yes! That was brilliant! :lol:

Ah...The memories.

Also, in the 74-4 Sharks defeat, my mates and I sat in the absolute front row, just opposite the player tunnels. We saw that Matthew Rieck was playing in the number 5 jersey, and we proceeded to yell out, "NUMBAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVE!!!!" all night long :lol:.

He turned around a few times and gave us a dirty look.

The next day, you could hear my friends and I yelling that on Fox Sports! :lol:

There are so many, so I'll mention one that hasn;t been brought up, vs Warriors at Parramatta in 2003. Down by 14 or something with 11mins to go and Treacy in the sinbin, to get home on the buzzer through Witt and Wagon....magic.

Then there was a 40-0 drubbing of Newcastle at Parramatta in 01 that I particularly enjoyed, the 62-0 drubbing of Nth Qld in 01 even with Marsh sent form the field (the match where JT broke the record for all time points scored) was another favourite...

V1er

in either 2003 or 2004 when we weren't going so great, we came back in the last 10 minutes v the warriors and the cowboys and i think it was back to back weeks too?`

Freak2

Gronk said:

22 - 0 halftime and booed off the field. We won 26-22 I think??

My other games have also been mentioned.
Warriors in 2003 as mentioned by Bazal. The reason why I truly loved this game was because we were travelling shocking at this time and due to our form we had a crowd of less than 5000 attend. So only the fans that supported our team in both good and bad times got to witness what was one of the best comeback victories of all time.

Other great games
Round 1 2002 against Penrith
First Semi against Manly in 2005
11-10 victory against Norths in the early 90's. Sterling 1st half field goal from 45 metres.

easilly the 1981 GF for me..watching it as an 11 year old and watching them win was greatest feeling any sporting fan can ever endure. I hope our younger eels fans experiance that in the future.

Utey

Parra v Warriors in 2001. One of the best tries I've ever seen from Jamie Lyon (I still don't know how he did it)

Parra v Cowboys in 2003. How we came back from 20 nil down I still don't know seeing how bad we were playing, Mick Vella had a great game and just about won us the game.

Parra v Manly. Any game where we win but the 23-22 loss was special for that I'd never seen a footy game at the SCG before and the "Terry's a W*nker" chant starting and the whole stadium following. I remember Terry running at Tim, getting over him and then ran at Benny, whom absolutely drilled him.

Parra v Bulldogs in 05. Sheez I enjoyed this one on the hill. One of the most satisfying wins ever for me personally.

Parra v Manly in 04. Fui was unleashed and won us the game 30-24, we scored on the buzzer from what looked a forward pass. But that was probably the best game I've seen him play.

Parra v Cowboys in 05. Mothers Day massacre. Wish I could have been there (I was overseas) but it was unreal watching the tape over and over again.

Some details are probably wrong!

My two favourites would have to be the 86 Grand final, i was there :D and the 98 Semi against North Sydney we're we belted them into the stone age.

The Engineers Room

Although it is not my favourite but the 60-14 drubbing in 93 or 94 against Brisbane. From my memory we lead 14-0 at half time but I think they might have scored in the first half. I just remember it because it was the first and last time I left before the final siren. And I walked back through the pools carpark hearing them score a further few tries.

rednut

ben smiths 3 tries against the dragons at parra on a friday night in 05 was probably the best ive seen (i havent gotten to too many games), his last try was great when he smashed timmins then ran 80 metres to score

richo74

There are plenty, but the 1998 semi final against North Sydney is a personal favourite. We had been bundled out in straight semi's the previous year, and everyone was writing us off against a hot Bears side. We were down at half time with Jason Smith concussed, but the second half was amazing. To see Stuart Kelly break through the defence, with Penna following it up next play for a try was great, and those 3-4 tackles in the later part of the game where Dean Pay, Dallas Weston etc were anihilating the bears forwards was incredible - such a rush. We battered the bears to the point where they were knocked-out in straight semi's. At the end, I went to the tunnel to clap the boys off, and Jarrod McKraken winked at our section of the crowd - amazing game, dominant performance, and from memory, Parra's first semi final win since 1986. Still have it on tape and it lives long in the memory.

can remember David Fairleigh walking from the field with his nose all over his face thanks to David Penna , also pretty sure Denis moran belted JT in that game

Beating Great Britian in 1992. Not just for the fact we won, but the atmosphere was the best I've ever been at. And Lee Oudenryn beat Martin Offiah in a match race over 100m.
The poms couldn't win a thing that night!
Brett Kenny proved even in the twlight of his years why the poms feared him so much.
Mark Laurie played the best game he ever played for the club that night.

Natalie's Daddy said:
Although it is not my favourite but the 60-14 drubbing in 93 or 94 against Brisbane. From my memory we lead 14-0 at half time but I think they might have scored in the first half. I just remember it because it was the first and last time I left before the final siren. And I walked back through the pools carpark hearing them score a further few tries.
14-6 H/T. I remember running down to the pay phone and ringing my dad at half time to tell we were winning and to put a tape in and record the replay.
I too left with 10mins to go and heard a futher 3 tries scored by the Broncos, what ever Benny said to Alfie and The Pearl at half time worked.
There was another game against the broncos we lost 6-2, Sterlo was carried off with a neck injuriy that stands out and When we had the Broncos for lunch, sterlo and Jason Bell were killing, then Glen Liddard cut his hand and was replaced by Andrew Leeds and the broncos scored 3 late tried to win 24-22. I cursed Leeds name after that day for a long time, until Carige came along anyway.