Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Golden Moth

aids

did mini win it or what?

PS: congrats mini
PPS: congrats melon on getting a 7 page thread using a little bait.

:)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Saab
You go back to 98/99....pathetic magpies teams sure, and Brett was a the best of a sad lot, but he didnt have great yrs (great is a strong word).

I didn't say he was great in those years, but I was there for every home game and he was damn good in teams that are arguably two of the worst of all time.

by everlovin anarchist

You tigers fans are f**ken hippocrites, you use this excuse for hodgos poor years yet cant accept that his form this year had more to do with the marshall,farrah and prince combo than any individual brilliance(goalkicking aside)

Minichiello was a standout in a roosters side that had no confidence and a useless halfbak that couldnt set up a root in a brothel.Oh thats right, that doesnt count because his not hodgo.

I like Hodgo as a footballer he is humble and a talented player, but the NSW and Aussie selectors and 95 % of fans cant be wrong.

Minichello would rank in the top 4 players in the world, hodgo wouldnt make top 20

Quote:
You go back to 98/99....pathetic magpies teams sure, and Brett was a the best of a sad lot, but he didnt have great yrs (great is a strong word).

I didn't say he was great in those years, but I was there for every home game and he was damn good in teams that are arguably two of the worst of all time.
He had a poor second half of 2002 and a poor 2003 in teams whose confidence was shot.

by everlovin anarchist

You tigers fans are f**ken hippocrites, you use this excuse for hodgos poor years yet cant accept that his form this year had more to do with the marshall,farrah and prince combo than any individual brilliance(goalkicking aside)

Minichiello was a standout in a roosters side that had no confidence and a useless halfbak that couldnt set up a root in a brothel.Oh thats right, that doesnt count because his not hodgo.

I like Hodgo as a footballer he is humble and a talented player, but the NSW and Aussie selectors and 95 % of fans cant be wrong.

Minichello would rank in the top 4 players in the world, hodgo wouldnt make top 20

Hodgo is the emotional favourite the little guy from outwest the battler who's overcome a lot of obstacles, pulls a lot of strings on peoples hearts.

Their's no doubt both are very good fullbacks.

But obviously mini is faster, bigger and stronger and the better player its no fluke who's just about the first player picked in rep teams.

Balmain_Boy said:
All i'm saying is Hodgson was the best fullback in the 2005 NRL season. Thurston winning the dally m medal implies to me he was the best halfback of the year, yes.

Over the year yes thats true.... As long as ur not saying ability wise.

Charlie Saab said:
momentum?
Hodgson was 10-12m in from the sideline and was dragged like a sheep ( a sheep prob weighs more) to the sidelines. Never happened in the past 20 yrs.

Growing up on a farm a ewe can weigh anywhere from 60-90kg, a ram can weigh anywhere from about 80-110kg.

rufus youngblood said:
Quote:

He had a poor second half of 2002 and a poor 2003 in teams whose confidence was shot.

by everlovin anarchist

Yeah, in your exceptionally humble opinion.

I'll assume that your post is aimed at me although I'm unsure who the Anarchist is.

Firstly, you should attempt to familiarise yourself with the nuances of this type of forum before you start blabbering crap. It only takes one click to quote a previous poster's post.

Secondly, not once did I denigrate Minichiello or suggest that Hodgson was a better player than Minichiello.

What I said was that I wouldn't swap Hodgson for Minichiello.

Then I said I wouldn't swap him for the whole Roosters backline.

You're a dodo.

Knight82 said:
Growing up on a farm a ewe can weigh anywhere from 60-90kg, a ram can weigh anywhere from about 80-110kg.

and they both weigh more than hodgson!
But,
Full credit to him though, he is a very very good player. Just unlucky he had a down period in 2003 and Minichiello took his place and has not looked back.

Tom Shines

New rule:
Your team has to actually make the finals before you can get an award, whether it be Golden Boot or Dally M.

Tap Twist Snap

To be fair you need to look at the individual parts of their games.

Tackling - Hodgson Made 140 missed 70 - Mini Made 116 missed 45. Mini is the better tackler.

Offloads - Hodgson 29 - Mini 20 . Hodgson higher season average.

Kicks in general play Hodgson made more and gained more metres. Hodgson better kicker.

Try Assists - Hodgson 10 Mini 6 .. hodgson higher average.

Line Breaks - Hodgson 34 Mini 16. Hodgson much better average.

Hit ups/runs/metres gained - Mini makes more hitups/runs per match hodgson however averages more meters per hitup/run Hodgson 10.35mtrs per hitup/run Mini 9.05mtrs per hitup/run

Errors Hodgson averages 1.6 per game Mini 2.1.

Hodgson also has a leadership quality that would have to be taken into account in naming the best player but stats wise Hodgson was the most outstanding fullback this season.

stats dont tell you the full story of a players game.
Is there a stat for defusing 40/20s? Like what he did vs the Poms in the last test.
Is there a stat for positioning in defence?
Stats are great and all, but dont tell the full story

The Brain

You failed to mention Mini missed 4 premiership games in your stats .
The stats are for over 22 games for the season -Mini and 28 for hodgson.
average it over both 22 see what you get. not bad for Mini considering his team this year was crap .
Mini last year I have followed closely his stats are usually way ahead of any ones by a country mile, first time somebody has got close to him in Hodgeson -a good effort .

Minis stats are virtually same or higher in past 5 years consistantly.
I wouldnt of had a problem if Andrew Johns won it either.
some drongo in an earlier post said all Mini does in run through gaps -how wrong he is .
Its a deserved award no arguement.
Ive only seen the count have one bad game in his whole career and that was the 03 GF .
He is a champion and a fine example of a player who actually loves playing footy.
I really dont know what every one is argueing about ?.
Andy Farrel could have won it again for playing union.

simon says

I seem to recall Gasnier getting dragged 10 metres by Pattycake Richards with one arm like he weighed about 60 kegs,and bundled quite embarassingly into touch.......Im pretty sure Gasnier weighs about 100kgs and is about 6'3.

He goes alright too,and still repping.

simon says

By the way.......like all other tiger fans here,I totally respect Minicello as a player,he has had a top year in a team that struggled,and has been a gun at rep level.

He is the number one FB.....but I still reckon that in the competition proper that Hodgo had more of an impact in the side that won the comp.That has to count for something.And voted higher then Mini by both RLW and the Dally M's so Im not on my Pat Malone.

simon says said:
I seem to recall Gasnier getting dragged 10 metres by Pattycake Richards with one arm like he weighed about 60 kegs,and bundled quite embarassingly into touch.......Im pretty sure Gasnier weighs about 100kgs and is about 6'3.

nothing like what hodgson endured.
Gasnier was running to the sidelines off the scrum win....hodgson was nowhere near it.

Tap Twist Snap

Charlie Saab said:
stats dont tell you the full story of a players game.
Is there a stat for defusing 40/20s? Like what he did vs the Poms in the last test.
Is there a stat for positioning in defence?
Stats are great and all, but dont tell the full story

Um the stat for positioning in defence has a great deal to do with how many missed tackles. I don't recall many 40/20's being kicked against either team this year so i don't think a stat of comparing 1 or 2 would really matter. Stats for a fullback are probably the best indication of any player on the field. Stats also don't tell things like leadership. As for missing 4 games an average is the best u can do but well that tells the story of the current season. If hodgo got a shot at rep footy maybe things would be different. Anyway awards overall don't mean a great deal they are all bases on peoples opinions. It's all about who ever wins the match on the day.. or holds up the trophy at the end of the season.

simon says

Gorden Tallis 110 kgs drags a 75 kg bloke over sideline.

Patty,100kgs one arms Ganier 100kgs over sideline.

You cant compare the two,one is two heavyweights where one gets smashed,the other is a heavyweight against a lightweight.

Im about 100kgs,and I can toss a 75kg bloke a long way,but a 6'3 100 kgs isnt too easy.

Gasnier got humiliated BAD.....and at a crucial moment in the semi that I think decided the 2005 premiers.But we keep getting reminded that Hodgo isnt good enough for reps......Bollocks.

simon says said:
Gasnier got humiliated BAD.....and at a crucial moment in the semi that I think decided the 2005 premiers.But we keep getting reminded that Hodgo isnt good enough for reps......Bollocks.

he is good enough. Not many are disputing that, its just that there is someone better than him in his place at the moment.

RABK

Gasnier made Minichiello look simple in the last game they had. Though Gasnier can do that too anyone.