Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Illawarra

drago brelli

I can't help but to admire the Illawarra region for the number of top flight young players it produces. Seven players in the St.George/Illawarra team are Steeler's juniors. I witnessed their Harold Matts team flog our H Matts team 44-6 this year. Where have all of our juniors gone?

RufusRex

Gasnier/Nightingale are StGeorge juniors also ...

the shire is such a small area and well and truely annexed by StGeorge/Illawarra - it will be hard for you to get a good bunch together ever again

In saying that - you have picked up a hum dinger of a player in Smith ... experience and ability

your issues run deeper off the field though and that is where you are really struggling .. it was not until we sorted out those issues that we were able to generate the success of the last two years.

blackberryman

the shire is such a small area and well and truely annexed by StGeorge/Illawarra - it will be hard for you to get a good bunch together ever again

In saying that - you have picked up a hum dinger of a player in Smith ... experience and ability

your issues run deeper off the field though and that is where you are really struggling .. it was not until we sorted out those issues that we were able to generate the success of the last two years.

In the Premiership Winning Celebrations at the Wollongong Entertainment Centre today, Wayne Bennett said that a premiers ship starts in the Front Office.

IMO - Stability in the Board, figure out a way to make Money from all your land ASAP!!!!!

I would like to see the Sharks playing Friday night and Sunday arvo footy regularly.

Inferno

I'm already resigning myself to the fact I don't think I'll ever see us hoist the trophy on grand final day :(

In the Premiership Winning Celebrations at the Wollongong Entertainment Centre today, Wayne Bennett said that a premiers ship starts in the Front Office.

IMO - Stability in the Board, figure out a way to make Money from all your land ASAP!!!!!

I would like to see the Sharks playing Friday night and Sunday arvo footy regularly.

BBM you have a short memory re making money and Friday night Sunday arvo games.

If you can remember back to the 2009 season and who ran last and got the spoon. They were in a heap of sh!t.

Don't ask me how or why, afterall I am only an idiot, but that same team got the first five rounds as the major TV Free to Air games. Gee that would be a great bargaining chip to get a major sponsor or two onboard especially after just picking up a wooden spoon.

Unfortunately for us sharks we don't have the same clout as the Bondi gang friends of Channel Nien.

We start every year behind the big black ball with the No8 on it. One day we might get some favours.

Maybe the Cowboys will be guaranteed the first five FREE to air games in 2011 to help them along. Crikey Gus is helping them too.

Oh and congrats to all the Illawarra-ites, I haven't forgotten that you are part of the winning premiership side.

Declared Idiot #88

Rufie

You didn't need the "also". Those 2 Renown boys are the ONLY St George juniors in the side.

The rest are imports and Steelers. :)