Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Leichardt Experience compared to other Stadiums

Hoofhearted

Just arrived back in WA after a week long footy trip, I hadn't been following the news much during our travels and have just caught up on all the discussions surrounding Leichardt. For what its worth here's our take on the experiences we had.

Game 1 - Penrith v Broncos
Stayed at Panthers, straight over the road from the stadium, great facility with plenty of food and drink options. The first thing you notice is that everything around Penrith revolves around the Panthers, advertising everywhere. Had a great feed at Panthers before the 5 min walk across the road into the stadium. Grabbed a beer from the bar on the way past and went to our seats. Facilities not that flash but never really had to line up, game had a great atmosphere but never really reached great heights as the Panthers ran away with it. Everyone on our trip gave it the thumbs up.

Game 2 - Roosters v Bunnies
Stayed in the city not far from Central with an easy walk to Darling Harbour, we had the option of Light Rail to Allianz but decided to take the walk and stop at a few pubs on the way. Had a great woodfire pizza at a rooftop bar, all the pubs were full of footy fans and the area was buzzing. The first view of the stadium is awesome, it is an amazing facility, we walked straight through the gate and up to level 4 where our seats were. Right next to us were multiple food stalls and bars, along with huge toilet facilities, we never had to line up for more than a couple of minutes for anything, and the food was top notch. The atmosphere was through the roof, pre game buildup was awesome but again the game never reached any great heights. Overall massive thumbs up from everyone.

Game 3 - I'll save this until last

Game 4 - Newcastle v Storm
Stayed at the Executive Hotel which is part of the Wests Leagues Club, very nice spot for a stay in Newcastle. Spent a bit of time cruising the beaches etc in the area before heading back to the hotel where we spent the afternoon in the sports bar watching both the F1 and Parra v Manly game on the big screens whilst enjoying a feed and a couple of beers. From the Leagues club they have a dedicated footpath which is a 10min walk to the stadium, this was the first time i've been there since 2001 and I have to say I was taken aback with how good their stadium is now. Bar, food and toilet access was easy with plenty of facilities plus we had great seats right on the halfway line. My mate is a massive Knights fan so this was the highlight of the trip for him, you can imagine he was rather excited when they pulled off the win. Overall the whole Newcastle experience was great and we definitely will be back.

Now back to Game 3 - Tigers v Sharks
This was the highlight for me and my son, I grew up sitting on the hill at Leichardt in the 80's and this was his first ever trip to the ground. We were still at the same hotel in the city which was convenient for access to the light rail to the ground (didnt have that in the 80's). After a couple of beers at a nearby hotel we headed to the station for the Light rail, approx 25 min ride to the Leichardt stop, got to admit that it wasn't until we got a bit closer to the stop that it started to have a gameday feel when more supporters started to get onto the train, in the city you wouldnt have known the game was on. By the time we started the walk it was getting crowded with people in Tigers gear and those old memories started coming back.
I can still remember the excitement I was feeling as I walked into the ground, I dont think I'd been there since the mid 90's, we walked around and managed to get ourselves a spot near the old scoreboard. My son and his friend said they were going to get some food and drink before the game started, they came back 20mins later and said they gave up, the line was too long. Thats when I saw the look on their faces, the same look when we took them last year to see The Angels at the local pub a week after they had been to Coldplay at Optus Stadium, I would call it polite disappointment.
Once the game started that was all forgotten, I can honestly say (outside of the 2005 GF) I have never cheered or enjoyed myself that much at a game of footy, what a game and what an atmosphere!! I did miss the first 5 mins of the second half as we spent almost 20mins lined up at the toilets, and we didnt even bother trying to get food or drinks because the lines were ridiculous. After the game finished I just stood there soaking up the atmosphere, that's when I turned to see the other 3 patiently waiting for me so they could leave, they were starving and thirsty and just wanted to get back to the city. Overall for me, I could do that every weekend, my son loved the game but doesn't really want to go back to Leichardt, and our friends couldn't wait to get out of there.

To summarise, I would say the Panthers have the best setup as far as awareness, leagues club facilities close to the ground for convenience and all this will go through the roof when they get a new stadium. I'd call Newcastle Penrith Lite, everything similar just not quite as good.
Roosters had an event feel, big crowds through the city and walking to the ground, amazing stadium with top notch facilities. I will though reserve judgment until I see a run of the mill game, compared to what is probably their biggest game.
The Tigers game for me was the highlight of the week, but looking at it from the others perspective was a different story. Ticket price was the same as Roosters game (but roosters included public transport), it was a journey to get to the ground, the facilities resemble local footy, huge lines for every service, followed by another journey to get out of there (Thank god we didnt drive, I think those people are still there.)
And to finish off, I kept hearing people talking about the huge turnout at Leichardt, It was actually the smallest crowd of all the games we attended.

Ned Kelly

I used to love taking my kids, nephews and nieces to Leichardt. Got there about 45 mins before the gates open so we could run in and grab a seat. Last time I went I was standing on the Hill for more than two hours. I was already too old to enjoy that. There is no way I could do that now. Add in cues for the toilets, food and drink and it is out of the question.

These days if I go to the footy I need to know I will have a seat to sit on.

Sad if Leichardt goes but I can't see myself ever going there again.

Pezz70

Just arrived back in WA after a week long footy trip, I hadn't been following the news much during our travels and have just caught up on all the discussions surrounding Leichardt. For what its worth here's our take on the experiences we had.

Game 1 - Penrith v Broncos
Stayed at Panthers, straight over the road from the stadium, great facility with plenty of food and drink options. The first thing you notice is that everything around Penrith revolves around the Panthers, advertising everywhere. Had a great feed at Panthers before the 5 min walk across the road into the stadium. Grabbed a beer from the bar on the way past and went to our seats. Facilities not that flash but never really had to line up, game had a great atmosphere but never really reached great heights as the Panthers ran away with it. Everyone on our trip gave it the thumbs up.

Game 2 - Roosters v Bunnies
Stayed in the city not far from Central with an easy walk to Darling Harbour, we had the option of Light Rail to Allianz but decided to take the walk and stop at a few pubs on the way. Had a great woodfire pizza at a rooftop bar, all the pubs were full of footy fans and the area was buzzing. The first view of the stadium is awesome, it is an amazing facility, we walked straight through the gate and up to level 4 where our seats were. Right next to us were multiple food stalls and bars, along with huge toilet facilities, we never had to line up for more than a couple of minutes for anything, and the food was top notch. The atmosphere was through the roof, pre game buildup was awesome but again the game never reached any great heights. Overall massive thumbs up from everyone.

Game 3 - I'll save this until last

Game 4 - Newcastle v Storm
Stayed at the Executive Hotel which is part of the Wests Leagues Club, very nice spot for a stay in Newcastle. Spent a bit of time cruising the beaches etc in the area before heading back to the hotel where we spent the afternoon in the sports bar watching both the F1 and Parra v Manly game on the big screens whilst enjoying a feed and a couple of beers. From the Leagues club they have a dedicated footpath which is a 10min walk to the stadium, this was the first time i've been there since 2001 and I have to say I was taken aback with how good their stadium is now. Bar, food and toilet access was easy with plenty of facilities plus we had great seats right on the halfway line. My mate is a massive Knights fan so this was the highlight of the trip for him, you can imagine he was rather excited when they pulled off the win. Overall the whole Newcastle experience was great and we definitely will be back.

Now back to Game 3 - Tigers v Sharks
This was the highlight for me and my son, I grew up sitting on the hill at Leichardt in the 80's and this was his first ever trip to the ground. We were still at the same hotel in the city which was convenient for access to the light rail to the ground (didnt have that in the 80's). After a couple of beers at a nearby hotel we headed to the station for the Light rail, approx 25 min ride to the Leichardt stop, got to admit that it wasn't until we got a bit closer to the stop that it started to have a gameday feel when more supporters started to get onto the train, in the city you wouldnt have known the game was on. By the time we started the walk it was getting crowded with people in Tigers gear and those old memories started coming back.
I can still remember the excitement I was feeling as I walked into the ground, I dont think I'd been there since the mid 90's, we walked around and managed to get ourselves a spot near the old scoreboard. My son and his friend said they were going to get some food and drink before the game started, they came back 20mins later and said they gave up, the line was too long. Thats when I saw the look on their faces, the same look when we took them last year to see The Angels at the local pub a week after they had been to Coldplay at Optus Stadium, I would call it polite disappointment.
Once the game started that was all forgotten, I can honestly say (outside of the 2005 GF) I have never cheered or enjoyed myself that much at a game of footy, what a game and what an atmosphere!! I did miss the first 5 mins of the second half as we spent almost 20mins lined up at the toilets, and we didnt even bother trying to get food or drinks because the lines were ridiculous. After the game finished I just stood there soaking up the atmosphere, that's when I turned to see the other 3 patiently waiting for me so they could leave, they were starving and thirsty and just wanted to get back to the city. Overall for me, I could do that every weekend, my son loved the game but doesn't really want to go back to Leichardt, and our friends couldn't wait to get out of there.

To summarise, I would say the Panthers have the best setup as far as awareness, leagues club facilities close to the ground for convenience and all this will go through the roof when they get a new stadium. I'd call Newcastle Penrith Lite, everything similar just not quite as good.
Roosters had an event feel, big crowds through the city and walking to the ground, amazing stadium with top notch facilities. I will though reserve judgment until I see a run of the mill game, compared to what is probably their biggest game.
The Tigers game for me was the highlight of the week, but looking at it from the others perspective was a different story. Ticket price was the same as Roosters game (but roosters included public transport), it was a journey to get to the ground, the facilities resemble local footy, huge lines for every service, followed by another journey to get out of there (Thank god we didnt drive, I think those people are still there.)
And to finish off, I kept hearing people talking about the huge turnout at Leichardt, It was actually the smallest crowd of all the games we attended.
Wests could have had all of that (that Panthers and Knights have) at Campbelltown, but they continually abandon the mission. They basically dumped wests and group 6 juniors by having their training facilities and COE at Concord and making young players board in Tiger house or whatever the flark they call the joint. Campbelltown would’ve come good
If they continued to play (all games) there and started to win a few games. There’s room to expand there, great access public transport and car parking, a decent club. The half hearted Tigers Campbelltown effort is part of the reason the Tigers are rooted. No community is gonna go all in if the club ain’t goin all in. They’d have been making a profit and pulling big crowds if they’d done it right.

macnaz

BS! No merkin turns up out there, end of story.... 2 wooden spoons and LO is still virtually a sell out so winning means f**k all when the club has to consider where their WestsTigers fan base is more prominent.
Id also say to get rid of calling our 2nd grade team Western Suburbs and just commit to ONE name .

Pezz70

BS! No merkin turns up out there, end of story.... 2 wooden spoons and LO is still virtually a sell out so winning means f**k all when the club has to consider where their WestsTigers fan base is more prominent.
Id also say to get rid of calling our 2nd grade team Western Suburbs and just commit to ONE name .
They don’t turn up because the club, both sides, decided to hang around where they’re not wanted. As a result they missed an opportunity to become a champion club with a massive nursery. If they were successful they’d have no problem pulling a crowd at Ctown. Instead we’re constantly losing talent to other clubs, Parra, Manly, Roosters, Dragons have all pulled reasonable NRL players away from our club because the whole club is a schamozzle. That’s the facts. You can’t hedge bets, you’re either in or out, our club has hedged bets for 24 years, and look where we are. Still struggling!

It’s a JV club, both clubs rightly should be represented.

You’re drawing a long bow, to claim particular ovals are the cause of our problems.

I don’t know attendance figures, at both grounds, but LO always delivers a great atmosphere, so why not keep playing there.

Pezz70

I
It’s a JV club, both clubs rightly should be represented.

You’re drawing a long bow, to claim particular ovals are the cause of our problems.

I don’t know attendance figures, at both grounds, but LO always delivers a great atmosphere, so why not keep playing there.
I’m not saying the oval is the problem I’m saying you can’t have a finger in every pie, I also acknowledge there is a lot of history between the two camps, but that is the past, if they want a future they have to make some tough decisions and commit to something. We haven’t committed to a ground, we haven’t committed to a community, we have committed to nothing, unless the club invests in something no one will invest in them. This is the root of our culture we haven’t planted it in good soil, we dig it up and roam around like nomads. The past is the past and if you remain committed to the past that’s where you’ll stay. Vision is about looking forward, building not being stuck in the past.

There’s no future in Leichhardt, there’s no base to grow there (it’s all old honkys living in the past). There’s 100+k kids throughout the greater MacArthur/Liverpool area, and it’s is growing exponentially, plenty to harvest, we should be a powerhouse. We should have a school underneath us with a specialised rugby league focus with pathways not only into playing rugby league, but to education and careers. There was a lot of talk about this years ago and they had a half hearted crack, but it was like everything Wests have done…. Half arsed.

II’m not saying the oval is the problem I’m saying you can’t have a finger in every pie, I also acknowledge there is a lot of history between the two camps, but that is the past, if they want a future they have to make some tough decisions and commit to something. We haven’t committed to a ground, we haven’t committed to a community, we have committed to nothing, unless the club invests in something no one will invest in them. This is the root of our culture we haven’t planted it in good soil, we dig it up and roam around like nomads. The past is the past and if you remain committed to the past that’s where you’ll stay. Vision is about looking forward, building not being stuck in the past.

There’s no future in Leichhardt, there’s no base to grow there (it’s all old honkys living in the past). There’s 100+k kids throughout the greater MacArthur/Liverpool area, and it’s is growing exponentially, plenty to harvest, we should be a powerhouse. We should have a school underneath us with a specialised rugby league focus with pathways not only into playing rugby league, but to education and careers. There was a lot of talk about this years ago and they had a half hearted crack, but it was like everything Wests have done…. Half arsed.
While I'd hate to see the death of Leichhardt I can see your point Pezz. When the Balmain Tigers went broke the club should have devoted itself to the Campbelltown area full time. As you pointed out this is the junior development base of the present and future and the one we should have locked down. There are a number sports high schools in the area. We should have reps there full time. These should be our Keebra Park's (without letting go of our current relationship with Keebra Park.)

Unfortunately, we've built the factory of sadness in Concord, instead of the Campbelltown area. It's a location that never made sense but there you have it. A majority of the people who live in the Balmain junior area are very wealthy people who moved in during the period of gentrification in the 90s and onwards. A home in that area is way beyond most league supporters. Their kids are much more likely to be playing aussie rules or soccer, and this figure will only continue to increase as the older blue collar demographic pass away and their kids sell off to make a bundle. Either that or they retire and sell off to move up the coast or to QLD.

So we're stuck in Concord long term to train. We had an opportunity but farked it up. There was no guarantee of success but it made more sense than what we have now. I don't believe we will ever become the Wests Tigers. We'll always be used used to support the Magpies / Balmain. Now that we have a true reflection of the membership numbers I'd love to know an age breakdown.

I

I’m not saying the oval is the problem I’m saying you can’t have a finger in every pie, I also acknowledge there is a lot of history between the two camps, but that is the past, if they want a future they have to make some tough decisions and commit to something. We haven’t committed to a ground, we haven’t committed to a community, we have committed to nothing, unless the club invests in something no one will invest in them. This is the root of our culture we haven’t planted it in good soil, we dig it up and roam around like nomads. The past is the past and if you remain committed to the past that’s where you’ll stay. Vision is about looking forward, building not being stuck in the past.

So where should we play all our home games?

There is no location that would be suitable for our geographical area.

You are aware that the CEO is reported to favour Accor Stadium, at Olympic Park, where does that fit into our area?

There was talk of looking at a proposed new stadium at Liverpool, that’s Bulldogs territory, I believe.

I just don’t see any need to change, 2 home base locations is not the end of the world, though if LO needs an upgrade than get it done.

Nutz

There’s no future in Leichhardt, there’s no base to grow there (it’s all old honkys living in the past).
There is a future in the past!
It's a professional sport and having a nursery is not the be all and end all.
Look at the Roosters, they have no juniors and are a power club...why? MONEY.
If we had millions to prop up Leichhardt Oval we wouldn't be having this conversation.
The problem with society is it's too hasty in getting rid of traditional values and reinventing the wheel.
We, as a joint venture, should have the luxury of having a McArthur breeding ground and the history of the inner-west dockers.
Money and lots of it runs professional sport.
I pray the NRL wakes up and supports tribalism and heritage or is it more focused on rainbow day and a million other modern day propaganda days.
For a lousy few dollars just throw in some dunnies fgs! Save Leichhardt Oval!

simmo05

I

Ctown is the growth area of Sydney, and that fact was acknowledged by richo last week. I think if he hangs around they might actually commit to the area instead of just paying lip service

There is a future in the past!
It's a professional sport and having a nursery is not the be all and end all.
Look at the Roosters, they have no juniors and are a power club...why? MONEY.
If we had millions to prop up Leichhardt Oval we wouldn't be having this conversation.
The problem with society is it's too hasty in getting rid of traditional values and reinventing the wheel.
We, as a joint venture, should have the luxury of having a McArthur breeding ground and the history of the inner-west dockers.
Money and lots of it runs professional sport.
I pray the NRL wakes up and supports tribalism and heritage or is it more focused on rainbow day and a million other modern day propaganda days.
For a lousy few dollars just throw in some dunnies fgs! Save Leichhardt Oval!
Agree, this wasn’t even a thought when the JV started, if we were winning, it wouldn’t be one now.

You can’t buy atmosphere.

Ctown is the growth area of Sydney, and that fact was acknowledged by richo last week. I think if he hangs around they might actually commit to the area instead of just paying lip service
But the club is committed to the area, they put a COE there for the pathway program.
They have committed to half the home games there.
Concord is not negotiable, and Campbelltown isn’t going anywhere.

I’m not sure if people think that committing to one ground or another will somehow change our direction.

weretiger

I

your forgetting the main thing last i heard Campbelltown contribute nothing to joint venture wests ashfield owns the team and its a long way from Campbelltown,so i cant see them abandoning the inner west

gordsy

Leichhardt is a good place to watch footy but the facilities are shit. 20 plus minutes to take a piss or get a beer is bullshit in these times. I don't see the council, paying for the upgrades or the nrl being able to buy it so we may not have a choice. People say the roosters this and the roosters that. We don't have a rich sugar daddy to pay for our bills so we need as many juniors as we can churn out. I'd be happy to see games go to Campbelltown if they can finally get a crowd

Clubs or any corporation who support any sporting body, don’t do it for love, they do it for the advertisement and making money.

@weretiger said it best, West Ashfield pump a shit load of coin into the footy club, they can only do that, if there club is making money.

I used to work at Balmain LC and after a game, it was standing room only, clubs make a lot of money out of people coming to their venue they wouldn’t do it otherwise.

BTW, wonder what’s happened to the old club being rebuilt, is it still happening?

Unless they plan on putting a club in Campbelltown, I can’t see it happening at Campbelltown. They already lose half the games to there now.

Campbelltown is 44 kms away from Ashfield
Liverpool is 24 kms
Accor Stadium is 10 kms
Henson Park is 4 kms
LO is 6 kms

If you basically own the club, which would you choose?

It's a tough one because the factory of sadness has been completed and we're locked into the inner west whether we like it or not. Based on this the current arrangement of half the games at LO and half at Campbo seems the best idea. Of course, if the council sell off the ground there's absolutely nothing anyone can do about that, short of purchasing it.

The idea the NRL will purchase the ground is ridiculous for a number of reasons:
1. The cost of the purchase. You would be able put a half dozen blocks of units on the site at a minimum. There are height restrictions in the area but they're easy get to around if you grease the right palms. Even at a current approved height level 6 to 7 stories the site would sell for tens, if not hundreds of millions of dollars. The NRL would not pay this.
2. The ability to recoup purchase price. Put simply, if you bought the site and ran it as current LO as it has been run it would take decades to recoup your purchase price. If you get 20k people in at say $100 a ticket including food and drinks for 6 games a year you'd make $12 million a year. This is before overheads come into it. Not only staff to run it on game day, but maintenance, insurance, promotions etc. And a million other costs I can't think of right now.
3. The cost of a refurbishment. Can be done pretty cheaply if you just want to add portaloos, food and drink stands etc. If you wanted to go all in rebuild the stands then you're looking at a fair chunk of change. If the NRL bought it and went the cheap option they'd receive constant negative publicity about not fixing it up to the standard of a semi-modern ground
4. Income generation. The NRL are buying hotels and resorts to generate income outside of the day to day activities of the game, in case of another covid type disaster. I can't see any purchase / redevelopment of LO making them too much money. It would be more likely to cost them money if anything.
5. Setting a dangerous precedent. Every other suburban Sydney club would now come cap in hand to the NRL for the same thing. If they bought LO they could hardly say no to anyone else. The NRL set up the annual grants program to ensure that all clubs were self sufficient and couldn't go broke. Or if they did it would be their own fault. They won't want to get involved in this. Plus, if the NRL start buying grounds you'll never see another see another govt grant / project again.

If we have to move into a large modern ground I'd prefer Moore Park any day of the week. I live on the Central Coast and to get to the Olympic Stadium it's change at Strathfield, then to Lidcombe and then Lidcombe to Olympic Park. People coming from the Campbelltown area would face something similar. People in the Balmain would have to drive. I'm not sure what the public transport is like from there to OP, but I'd imagine it'd be indirect. However, all areas have a pretty straightforward trip into the city and then either a walk to Moore Park or a tram, depending on your mobility / age etc. Not to mention all the different options after the game, depending on your poison, which are very limited at Olympic Park.

The last time we were at Moore Park between 2009 to 2011 we received $100k per game, same as we'd get at the Olympic Stadium. I'm not sure if this is still the same after the rebuild and re-opening.

If we went to the Olympic Stadium full time I'd never go to another game.

I don't think any money Wests Ashfield makes after a game at LO would be that huge, or a massive part of their business plan. They only care about people coming in and emptying their bank account into the one arm bandits. To be honest I struggle to understand why they don't sell the team.

gordsy

Clubs or any corporation who support any sporting body, don’t do it for love, they do it for the advertisement and making money.

@weretiger said it best, West Ashfield pump a shit load of coin into the footy club, they can only do that, if there club is making money.

I used to work at Balmain LC and after a game, it was standing room only, clubs make a lot of money out of people coming to their venue they wouldn’t do it otherwise.

BTW, wonder what’s happened to the old club being rebuilt, is it still happening?

Unless they plan on putting a club in Campbelltown, I can’t see it happening at Campbelltown. They already lose half the games to there now.

Campbelltown is 44 kms away from Ashfield
Liverpool is 24 kms
Accor Stadium is 10 kms
Henson Park is 4 kms
LO is 6 kms

If you basically own the club, which would you choose?
Henson Park is a reserve grade ground at best. To put the club there would be a huge mistake. Leichhardt oval is great for the nostalgia but new fans, especially those who didn't grow up going to the ground won't keep coming and who is going to pay for the upgrades? Liverpool dosn't have a proper ground and won't anytime soon. Haven't been to Campbelltown so others would be better Informed on that. I am sure there are smart people around who could help draw in a crowd.
The issue is could we afford to play there till it changes. I reckon we will end up play out of Accor and Campbelltown with a view to making Campbelltown our sole ground.

macnaz

Wests did that experiment years ago, even took Tommy driving the streets spruking up interest to no avail . We are in the process of creating a centre of excellence out there for junior development, so lets see how that goes.