Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The LU Hattrick Team Owners Thread

Poida_Raider

:lol: :lol: i have been absolutely hammered by the rockhampton wolves.. absolutely humiliated.. beaten 8-1. some dude scoring 6 goals or something similar.
i was pretty mush expecting this though, a rookie up against a seasoned campaigner!!
my newly recruited inadequate goalkeeper was put out of action for 3 weeks, so he sits on the sidelines with a fellow goalkeeper whos out for 3 too! so i have a weak keeper still up my sleeve, and i'm thinking that theres no way that he can be put out of action too!!
interestingly both injuries are foot injuries. that sux.

are injuries really bad this time of year?? or is it just a que to hire more physios?
i might do that.

Poida_Raider

hey guys, just a little advice needed here. umm ok, well this weekend i am up against the team on top of my league. he and i are equal on points (23) after the top team was taken over and hasnt since won a game!! him and i are the only teams in it now i reckon, even though the 3rd team is on 21, its just us in the race really.
ok so last time we faced off it was a 2-all draw at madtown park (my home ground!!), and this time around, hes gotten much better, as have i, but hes got lots of good players over the park, and i fear if i go in playign everything on normal, that i will get beaten :( .
so i dont know if its a good idea to play MOTS, but i guess it really is the amtch of the season!! so i want to play that. can someone advice me on this??
also i noticed last week his opponent played "pressing" as their tactic, and they only lost 1-0.
his team seems to get better ratings like passable, solid. but i only seem to get weak, inadequate, and passable..

i dont really know..

Mad Dogg

Hehe, sorry about the destruction job I performed on your team. ;-) :lol: I was hoping Nunan would get the double-hattrick, but he ended the match with only 5 goals. And I really am sorry about the injury. Don't you just hate when a new player gets injured straight away?

are injuries really bad this time of year?? or is it just a que to hire more physios?
i might do that.
Nah, injuries aren't affected by what part of the season you're in. They're just totally random. I always have the 10 physios to reduce the chance as much as possible, but if you can't afford the 30k per week then just get as many as you can afford.

Ian Budd (the player I transfer listed before) surprisingly ended up going for over $900k. Very surprising considering a few weeks earlier another player went for only $800k despite having one level of winger better and being two years younger. I guess it's proof that it's best to have the deadline for good players at the best time for the europeans, around 16:00 - 22:00 Hattrick time. The money I got for him went towards my 2nd $1m player in 3 weeks.

Mad Dogg

Poida, I've looked at the stats of the two teams and to be honest I can't see you winning even if you MOTS. Because he's at home his midfield will still likely be stronger than yours, and his attack and defence will both be better. Plus he plays the bottom team after you so can easily afford to MOTS, while you play the 3rd placed team (who may not have much midfield but does have a fairly good attack and defence).

Definitely put your best attackers on your left side. His right defence is the weakest part of his team as he uses his right defender as the extra inner-mid. Personally, I would think about having your right winger set as Towards Middle and play you're fourth best inner mid there. You'll lose attack on the right, but you're only hope is to beat his midfield so that you're left attack can have the best chance possible against his weak right defence. However, more than likely he would still get the win and, if you MOTS, you'll be in danger of losing your next match.

There is one other option. Accept the loss and consolitate your position as #2 in the league. Then look to promote next season. With the ratings you're getting you would be quite likely to be relegated straight away if you did promote this season. And because of all the losses you would be on the end of, you might lose supporters and you're attendances would be low. Whereas if you stay in div VI for one more season, you should win most of your games so your attendances will stay high and you'll keep gaining supporters. And with that extra money you should be able to buy a few nice players to give yourself a better chance in Div V when you do promote. Plus the players that you're training should be about two levels higher. It depends on whether you have the patience.

My own situation is similar (or will be next season once the team that gets ridiculous ratings promotes). I could probably promote then if I wanted to, but more than likely I would get relegated straight back down. So I've put in place a long-term plan where I will stay in Div V for 4 more seasons (and win most matches every season), and by then I should have a team capable of taking me all the way to Div III and perhaps even challenge for promotion there. But then, I've always been a very patient person. :lol:

Poida_Raider

hahaha, yeah i'd say that would be extrememly patient of you mad dogg!! :lol:

but yeah thanks again for the advice i really do appreciate it! i mean to go out of your way and stuff is pretty cool. so thanks a million! i probably would have gone with MOTS and lost and been buggered the next week.
so its all good, i'll change some stuff around. thanks again mate!

Mad Dogg

No problemo.

I was sitting around doing nothing yesterday, so thought I'd lend you some of my tactical know-how (why is everybody laughing? :? ;-) ).

Poida_Raider

i think i was laughing, cause that is very, very patient!! so i spose i dont really know what the laugh is for...

at the end of the season, do you get some kind supporter renewal fees. and i dunno, prize money or something.. or do yuo just go through the offseason only earning interest, player sales, and friendly match revenues?

i think that if i were to go up a level to V, i could go alright and be middle 4-7. it would just depend, because i was one of the first teams in VI, and there would have been people who just got in before me who'd be in V.

i dont know, its hard to tell now, but i do trust your words mad dogg!

i think i'll be aiming to go up, and i'd be trying my hardest to stay there if i did thats for certain. i wouldnt go back without a fight!!

Mambo

Here is the latest Havoc player to go on the market. The selection process is now lethal at Hills.

Eustacio Sesma (10499451)
27 years, inadequate form, bruised, but playing
A sympathetic guy who is tranquil and dishonest.
Has weak experience and inadequate leadership abilities.

Speciality: Technical

Nationality: Argentina
Assessed value: 524 000 AU$
Wage: 6 360 AU$/week including 20% Bonus
Owner: Hills Havoc
Warnings: 0

Stamina: excellent Goaltending: disastrous
Playmaking: passable Passing: solid
Winger: weak Defending: weak
Scoring: passable Set Pieces: disastrous

Career Goals: 16
Career Hattricks: 0
League goals this season: 2
Cup goals this season: 3

Transfer list: Inner Midfield/Oceania

Deadline: 18/05/2004 at 00.48

Asking price: 400 000 AU$

Mad Dogg

Poida_Raider said:
i think i was laughing, cause that is very, very patient!! so i spose i dont really know what the laugh is for...
lol, I wasn't talking about your smilies. It was a smart-ass comment at myself saying that I don't have any tactical know-how. :p

at the end of the season, do you get some kind supporter renewal fees. and i dunno, prize money or something.. or do yuo just go through the offseason only earning interest, player sales, and friendly match revenues?
You do get supporter fees, and prize money depending on where you finish on the table. You also get some money if you have the top scorer in the league.

i think that if i were to go up a level to V, i could go alright and be middle 4-7. it would just depend, because i was one of the first teams in VI, and there would have been people who just got in before me who'd be in V.
The problem is that it's not just the bottom team that gets relegated back to Div VI. The bottom two automatically go down, while the teams that come 5th and 6th have a play-off game against a Div VI team.

However, I might be misjudging the strength of most Div V's. I'm in one of the hardest in Oceania, and if you promoted to this league your best possible finish would be 6th.

Poida_Raider

yeah i know there are plenty of good teams in div V no doubt. i think my line of thinking is more that there are also teams that are only as good, or a bit better or worse, than mine.. so they're the ones i could compete with. i've beaten a couple.
i spose those teams are the minority.
anyways, first or second this year, i dont really mind. if i go up, i go up. its all good. its all part of the game for me., i dont know if i'm going to be playing this game forever!! so i might aswell play it now!

Mad Dogg

Yep, you can throw tactics around all season, but at the end of the day enjoyment is the name of the game.

Just realised that I haven't posted the results or table for last weeks cup, so here it goes:

Round 7
Drexciya 4 v 2 CKA
Strikeforce 1 v 5 Holc
Crew 0 v 3 Machine
Wolves 8 v 1 Madtown
Havoc 4 v 0 Harriers
Heat 0 v 5 Falcons
Bulldogs 5 v 1 Avalon

..............Team…….……....….Played......Won……Drawn….….Lost ………For……..Agst……+/-…….Pts…
1. Red and Green Machine …….7……………..7…………..0…………..….0………….…33………….2…….…+31……….21
2. AFC Real Drexciya ………………7……………..5…………..2…………..….0…………….18………….6…….…+12……….17
3. Rockhampton Wolves ………..7……………..5…………..1………………1…………….27………….5………..+22………16
4. Incredible Holc FC ………………7……………..5……………1………………1…………….19………….9………..+10………16
5. Hills Havoc …………………………..7…………….5…….……..0………….…..2………….…17………..13………..+4……….15
6. Whataloada Bulldogs …………7……………..4…………..1…………..….2……….……23………….9……….+14……….13
7. Central Coast Falcons…………7……………..4……..……0……….……..3………..…..17…..……12…….…+5……..…12
8. Avalon Avengers ………………..7……………..3……………1………………3………………9………….18………..-9………..10
9. Sydney City Crew ……………….7……………..2…………..0…………..….5……….…….8……...…19…….….-11………..6
10. Ernesto's Strikeforce ………..7…………….1……………2……………….4……………..9………….26……….-17………..5
11. CKA ………..…………………….……7…………….1……………1……………….5…………….10…………15…………-5…………4
12. Gisborne Heat ….……………….7…………….1……………0……………….6………………8………….30……….-22……….3
13. Madtown Vikings ……………….7…………….0……………2………..…….5………………6………….26……….-20……….2
14. Heathcote Harriers ……………7…………….0……………1………………6……………….5………….19……….-14……….1

Poor old Chile still hasn't gotten that elusive win. But this might be the week for him against another struggling team in Ernesto's Strikeforce. Most of the games are yet to be scheduled, so hopefully they will be in the next day or two.

Round 8
Bulldogs v Havoc
CKA v Avalon
Crew v Heat
Madtown v Machine
Drexciya v Falcons
Harriers v Strikeforce
Holc v Wolves

Poida_Raider

well i lost the game 3 - 1.
but to my surprise i put my best winger, also my best player down the left wing playing offensive, and he got 3 1/2 stars!! thats a first for my league, so you can imagine i was pretty happy! even though most of you guys probably get that in your second team!
also down the left side i got a formidable rating in attack, and as you can imagine i was well chuffed with that too!! actually i was really really amazed. its soo cool!
even though most my oponents players were in pretty shonky form, and most of mine in pretty alright form. its pretty dissappointign in that aspect. but very pleasing in that if they were in better form, they probably would have anhialated me!!

but yeah 3 1/2 stars, and formidable.. i am very happy with that.
he's in solid form, and i'm hoping he'll stay there, if not get better for the rest of the season. and maybe he'll keep getting 3 1/2 and formidable! but could that change if i take him back to the right wing??
anyways. :mrgreen:

Mad Dogg

Is Heat still in this comp?
No, so you can go ahead and get another friendly organised. Hopefully we can get another team to take over his spot for next week.

but yeah 3 1/2 stars, and formidable.. i am very happy with that.
he's in solid form, and i'm hoping he'll stay there, if not get better for the rest of the season. and maybe he'll keep getting 3 1/2 and formidable! but could that change if i take him back to the right wing??
Nice. My wingers (I have three) normally get 3 stars, although one is capable of 3.5 when he's in excellent form.

He won't perform any differently on the right, Hattrick doesn't include players preferring one side (one thing that I would like to see bought in). However, it probably wasn't just him that gave you that formidable rating. Your left sided inner-mid, left wing-back and your two forwards (left more than right) would all have contributed also.

Mad Dogg

Well, I'm going to have to arrange another friendly. Holc has been online twice since I challenged him and he hasn't accepted, so if one of the teams I challenge accepts before he does then I get a 5-0 walkover. It's a shame because I was looking forward to 3rd against 4th, but I can't afford to miss training.

Games arranged:
Bulldogs v Havoc
CKA v Avalon
Madtown v Machine
Holc v Wolves

Games not arranged yet:
Drexciya v Falcons
Crew v Heat (walkover for Crew)
Harriers v Strikeforce (both teams should be online tomorrow)

I haven't heard anything from Drexciya or the Falcons. If one of them has challenged the other and it hasn't been accepted, feel free to arrange another friendly. Just let us know so that you get the 5-0 walkover.

Phew, Holc accepted my challenge as I was typing this. First time i've been happy with my slow internet connection seeing as it stopped me from doing two things at once and challenging others. :p

Poida_Raider

ahh ok. hes a good winger! i am really happy with him!
i've just realised that the dude i play this weekend had an inadequate right defence. so obviously i should play my great winger down the left again. and play the same players in the same spots again!
his team jumped up to 25 stars for the game, exactly the same as i had.

he jumped up 3 stars, i think its only about his 4th or 5th game, so i dont know if that means he might have mots last game, or hes just sorted his shit out! he maybe previously experienced for all i know, taking over one of the other teams.

suburbanknight

Mad Dogg said:
Games not arranged yet:
Drexciya v Falcons
Crew v Heat (walkover for Crew)
Harriers v Strikeforce (both teams should be online tomorrow)

I haven't heard anything from Drexciya or the Falcons. If one of them has challenged the other and it hasn't been accepted, feel free to arrange another friendly. Just let us know so that you get the 5-0 walkover.

My challenge was put in last Thursday, but still not heard from the Falcons. I've left it as late as possible but I cant afford to miss out on a friendly so I'm arranging another match.

Poida_Raider

machine has defeated the vikings of madtown. 2 goals to 1. after some dude scored from the penalty spot after a supposed hand-ball late in the game. but when you look at the replay you can see that it clearly hit his shirt and went nowhere near his hand.
a bit of controversy but we accept the result.

Mad Dogg

lol, that's the spirit. And only a one goal loss to the #1 team is quite a result.

Round 8 Results
Bulldogs 3 v 2 Havoc
CKA 1 v 0 Avalon
Crew 5 v 0 Heat
Madtown 1 v 2 Machine
Drexciya 5 v 0 Falcons
Harriers 5 v 1 Strikeforce
Holc 3 v 0 Wolves

Congrats to Chile, he finally got that win to get himself off the bottom of the table. I'll post the table either later tonight or tomorrow.

Round 9 Fixtures
Avalon v Drexciya
Strikeforce v CKA
Machine v Harriers
Falcons v Havoc
Wolves v Bulldogs
Heat v Madtown
Holc v Crew