Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The nominees are........

G@v

Legend, maybe you should make the email ad visible to all who enter the site, that way no-one can say they missed it.

L

legend

I have deleted the votes that were already on here as bomber brought up a very good point about the ballot being secret as to avoid conflict. A great idea mate and I should of thought of it earlier.

Id like to thank my mum, my cat and the green grass for....this nomination. haha, yeah, i was a bit surprised to get a nomination but id be happy to take it up if i was somehow chosen. I couldn't promise to spend a lot of time in here (i do when i can) but id love to help out and im sure i could come up with a few different approaches to running this website (as roopy put it, the 'youthful approach' lol)....
So what do i do now? Do i go out on the streets of Sydney and throw 'mfc propaganda' at everyone that walks past? This could be the most important election in Australia this year (bugger the federal election) and im not sure what my role is....Oh well, i'll just sit back here and see what happens :)
MFC.

L

legend

Well MFC, all you can really do is wait and see if you are voted in and fingers crossed. Good luck.

S

Studebaker

Here's my opinion on the matter for those who give a f**k.
I think the Moderators are trying waytoo hard.
This aint the WORL Forum where the whole place was a f**k up everytime a similar topic was raised. Instead of trying to be all democratic and correct about the issue, why not just you Moderators pick someone and let it be ?
There really isn't any need for all this public or secret voting scheme. Every one of the Memebers and nomineeshave a lot of repects by just about all others here, so why all the big comotion ?
Whoever is selected is gonna fit in comfortably with support from all here anyway.
Most of the members here know each other from the other Forum, so just go ahead and pick someone and let's move on with things. I really don't think anyone is gonna cause a big (unnecessary) stink.
It's a case of creating a mountain out of a molehill if you ask me.
As long as it's not the Human Piss Troff (Saint)I really couldn't give a flying f**k who was the next to be crowned.
Studebaker.

L

legend

Mate, it is because of the quality of poster we have on here that we decided to put it to a vote. You don't have to vote if you don't feel like it but I thought it was a good way to get things done by letting the members vote on the new managers. We have all seen what happens first hand when you appoint all your mates and I also thought it could add some interest that was a little offbeat and slightly off the topic.

We may be trying too hard as well and I will accept full responsibility for that but I wanted to create something just a little different and also let the members have a fair shake. It is also a progessive thing. This forum is only a month or so old and as we move forward lessons will be learned and taken on board. If this election is a fizzer we will move in a different direction next time.

Studebaker:
I couldn't but notice that the 2 main objectors are you and Saint. Looks like you guys have something in common.
emwink.gif

I agree with Legend that if you don't like it, then just don't vote.
Naturally, the next election (if or when it happens) will be an improvement on what we are doing here.

No one's putting a gun to your head to contribute to this but as always, everyone's view is taken into account.
As far as I can see the majority of people think that it's good thing.

I'm just glad that the nominees all accepted the challenge.
Early indications are that it's a close race.

lwoselections@hotmail.com

Only in the case of a tie break, Gav.
Ozbash... get outta that polling booth...!
emwink.gif

Dog

Now that that's out of the way, could you tell us who the other 6 in consideration were?

please?

Dog

Good mornin' all,
Just for the record,I missed Bombers post and that seems to have been the catalyst for the change in the voting system.I was quite content, to have at worst, been embarrassed (albeit briefly) by a lack of votes.I reckoned that folk can make their judgements accordingly and there be no hard feelings.
Basically,it's the usual story.I mean, that things get said,by us as contributors to the site, about people we will never meet i.e.the footy players and each other(I would enjoy to meetthem and you),but for my point, this business of a secret ballot leaves me a bit cold.
I figure that computer talk already has a built in factor of anonymity and we are now going to excess.
I'd reckon that we are here for fun and to express what we think.

BlueAnGold

argh politics. maybe i'm just naive as i'm a newcommerbut i really can't seem to grasp what all this fuss is about. nominations, secret ballots geez, becoming bigger than a federal election. is this just a status thing ordo managers get payment of some sort?

i'm not being a smartarse its just i really don't understand what the big deal is and am trying to get a handle on it.someone told me earlierthat managers are legally responsible for what appears here and if that is truei can't figure out why anyone would even want to be one. i'm obviouslymissing something here.

do all members vote ordo you have to have been a member for a certain amount of time before you can vote?

out of curiosity,the member list has 115 namesbut i have only seen messages froma small percentage of those on a regular basis. are there privatemessage boards here as well that they use?

sorry if these appear stupid questions but i was just wondering

O

ozbash

it wouldnt have mattered how it was done, we would never have been able to please everybody.
the important thing about this is that the members of the forum (you guys), decide who the moderators are.we could of just said "ok, tom,dick and harry are going to be the moderators,you guys can either like it or lump it". thats not what this forum is about.each member is as important as the next (and that includes the managers and the person who kicked it off). without members we wouldnt have a site.
another very important aspect of openly electing ass managers is that it makes them more accountable to their peers,it is and can be at times a trying job and by holding elections we are in fact saying that the forum as a whole believe the people nominated are "up to it".
its not going to be seen as a favouritism thing as seen on other sites.

i hope this clears up any worries/concerns over the whole thing.
the only criteria we had for nominating candidates was that ass managers from other websites were ineligible. conflict of interest etc etc.

tim, everybody was considered that met the criteria and believe me mate, it wasnt easy to pick a person.
it,ll all be over soon. next weekend we will wonder what the fuss was about
emthup.gif

BlueAnGold (and anyone else who with the same questions):

"do all members vote ordo you have to have been a member for a certain amount of time before you can vote? "
Any member can vote but must do so before Thursday (16 Aug).
The email is: lwoselections@hotmail.com
Just send your vote in my email. Put your selection in the subject line and/or in the email itself.
The 4 nominees are at the top of this discussion.

"out of curiosity,the member list has 115 namesbut i have only seen messages froma small percentage of those on a regular basis..."
Even though the forum has been going since June, it really only started receiving members about one month ago. Just about everyone of the 115 or so members has made a contribution with most making more than one contribution.
There are more frequent users and this may give the 'small percentage' impression you speak of.
Naturally, not everyone posts every day and some may ony make a post once every few weeks. It'still early days... in fact far too early to to be doing any research on this.
However, the hits counter shows that the front page is recieving about 500 visits per week...not all are posting messages but are still visiting just the same.

"are there privatemessage boards here as well that they use?"
No, there is the chat room which can accessed by the side bar and is used mostly on Mondays and Tuesdays from 7pm.
There are a number of sections to this forum which are also accessed via the side bar. All these sections can be viewed at once by going to the 'All Topics' section. This is linked to the 'Whats New' (front page) section.
Just be sure to start any new discussion in the relevant section. Try not to start a new discussion in the All Topics section.

About the election. I would have preferred an open vote but some were uncomfortable with this and that's fair enough.
If we ever do this again, it will be done differently. I've proposed a system which is transparent yet anonymous. But that's for later.

On the subject of secret v open ballot, I can understand that people may feel uncomfortable voting for one over another in the open forum, especially if you are on good terms with more than one of the nominees, and I think most people on the forum would be in that position. From a nominees point of view, I wouldn't care if I didn't receive a vote, this sounds like a cliche, but being nominated is a great honour in itself, and I wouldn't have minded having the opportunity to personally thank all those who did vote for me, even if there were only a few, so an open vote would have been better from my perspective.

B&G:
Sorry I missed one...
"is this just a status thing ordo managers get payment of some sort? "
Neither. We don't get paid and I whatever status we receive is more than offset by workload.
I can't speak for the other managers but I do it because I enjoy it.
At theend of the day, I want to be a part of a forum where people (especially newcomers) can talk about footy/sports, have a joke and bounce ideas around.
LOL. mate, if we got paid, you'd see a real shit fight.
emsmile.gif

Hope that covers it. Don't hesitate to ask if there's anything else.

L

legend

B&G, I don't want politics to cloud what this forum is really about but I really can't think of a way of fairly appointing someone to help out on the site. Some people thrive on responsibility and some prefer to sit back and participate at their leisure but by the managers appointing their mates, some who thrive on responsibilty may feel a bit disheartened by being overlooked and would like the opportunity to show what their made of. I think it will bring out the best in whoever is elected.

I have also seen first hand on other sites what happens when all the managers are mates. I also think the members contribution is the most valuable part of the forum and the opinions put forward, although varying, are all genuine concerns and certainly valid. As Willow said, this site is really only a month old and lessons will be learnt and taken on board but until you actually give something like this a go, how would you ever know what is going to work?

Did someone say $$$$$??? Well, that puts a whole new spin on everything ;)
Perhaps a salary cap should be put in place....A top bracket, which would include the top posters and head down from that....to boxheads like Cogburn and Awali
Ah, to much fuss is going on here...lets just get it done with, whoever wins, wins...and whoever loses, well, they lose!
The Fan.

BlueAnGold

thanks everyone for clearing that up. lol,guess i know who the head honchosare now
emwink.gif
don't get me wrong fellas,wasn't criticising the way you were doin it,just didn't understand the why of it.