Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Opening Round, 2007

brendothejet

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Usually a thread from me will start with a deal of hyperbole, proclaiming the next game to be bigger than a State of Origin decider. I'd give you a list of players you've not heard of, a bunch of fictious quotes and all in all leave you a good laugh.

Not this week.

This week something special has happened. As most of you would know the Junior Jets have been growing and developing the club for 4 years, from its humble 6 team beginings to the rugby league monolith that it is now. Such is the growth that last Sunday in trial matches we ran both an A Grade team and an A Reserve team. This is been a goal of the Jets for some time and it was great to see the hard work of many people pay off.

After the match in the confines of the Jets club a question was asked. Who will coach the A Reserve team?

names were bandied about, argued over, dismissed as unavailable and in the end eyes turned to one person and said "Can you do it?"

I said, "Yes"

Last night (thursday) I got hold of my rag tag bunch of A Reserve players. The Rezzies, the McGoos, call them what you will they are Jets. And I couldn't be prouder.

in all seriousness I'd like to thank the lads at the Jets for handing me the squad (even if it is to keep me out of A Grades hair;) ) Newtown is a proud club with proud traditions and I plan on upholding them.

After running around for half an hour we were given the chance to run against the A Grade team and what I saw was nothing short of exciting. There is something in the air about this bunch of lads. They've come from different clubs, different suburbs and different stages of retirement to pull on the Royal Blue and in this melting pot of a football side one gets the feeling the ingredients are just right.

This weekend we open our season against Mascot Jets, an arch enemy if ever there was one, as a curtain raiser to the 1st Grade side. I take this opportunity to invite you all down to Mascot oval, 1pm, to see what I'm talking about. You'll get 2 great games of Newtown action and with a bit of smart footy, a flick of luck and of course, some BTJ magic you might just witness the start of something special.

I wish all the Jets from the under 6's to Premier League all the best this week.

Newtown A Reserve is coming....

Captain/Coach,

BrendotheJet

THECURSEDJET

brendothejet said:
Ladies and Gentlemen,

Usually a thread from me will start with a deal of hyperbole, proclaiming the next game to be bigger than a State of Origin decider. I'd give you a list of players you've not heard of, a bunch of fictious quotes and all in all leave you a good laugh.

Not this week.

This week something special has happened. As most of you would know the Junior Jets have been growing and developing the club for 4 years, from its humble 6 team beginings to the rugby league monolith that it is now. Such is the growth that last Sunday in trial matches we ran both an A Grade team and an A Reserve team. This is been a goal of the Jets for some time and it was great to see the hard work of many people pay off.

After the match in the confines of the Jets club a question was asked. Who will coach the A Reserve team?

names were bandied about, argued over, dismissed as unavailable and in the end eyes turned to one person and said "Can you do it?"

I said, "Yes"

Last night (thursday) I got hold of my rag tag bunch of A Reserve players. The Rezzies, the McGoos, call them what you will they are Jets. And I couldn't be prouder.

in all seriousness I'd like to thank the lads at the Jets for handing me the squad (even if it is to keep me out of A Grades hair;) ) Newtown is a proud club with proud traditions and I plan on upholding them.

After running around for half an hour we were given the chance to run against the A Grade team and what I saw was nothing short of exciting. There is something in the air about this bunch of lads. They've come from different clubs, different suburbs and different stages of retirement to pull on the Royal Blue and in this melting pot of a football side one gets the feeling the ingredients are just right.

This weekend we open our season against Mascot Jets, an arch enemy if ever there was one, as a curtain raiser to the 1st Grade side. I take this opportunity to invite you all down to Mascot oval, 1pm, to see what I'm talking about. You'll get 2 great games of Newtown action and with a bit of smart footy, a flick of luck and of course, some BTJ magic you might just witness the start of something special.

I wish all the Jets from the under 6's to Premier League all the best this week.

Newtown A Reserve is coming....

Captain/Coach,

BrendotheJet
I never thought I'd see the day Newtown lowered there coaching standards to the level of BTJ!!
I hope and pray that the Jets sports club are the major sponsor and ample refreshments are available after the game, along with plenty of shovels to pick up all of Brendos B S

in all seriousness, congratulations BTJ on your appointment and may the footballing gods look down on you and your merry men. if nothing else they should get a good laugh

2 True Blues

Good luck Brendo. Pump em up mate !!! They should have put your game on at Henson Park before the Newtown Fan day thingy this BYE weekend ......

brendothejet

With the BYE this week it leaves all you wannebe-jets with no excuse but to come out to mascot oval.

We all head to the jets club after the match and enjoy a few beverages.

THECURSEDJET

2 True Blues said:
Good luck Brendo. Pump em up mate !!! They should have put your game on at Henson Park before the Newtown Fan day thingy this BYE weekend ......
that so call jets fan day thingy, as you so colorfully put it is actually the Roosters fan day, they included Newtown as a good will gesture due to there playing agreement in the premier league

THECURSEDJET

Bendo, can you please get on the good side of the premier league coach and get Aaron Lai back with you in the reggies? you may get Willie Brown after monday nights performance aswell,

2 True Blues

THECURSEDJET said:
that so call jets fan day thingy, as you so colorfully put it is actually the Roosters fan day, they included Newtown as a good will gesture due to there playing agreement in the premier league

Thats why I refered to it as the "So Called" TCJ. Your quick off the mark today cobber. :cool: But it's good the Roosters have included us. Should be a very good day. Would still have been good to have the A grade games on at the same time. Would have added some atmosphere I reckon. ;-)

Jeffles said:
Good luck brendo!
I hope he has more luck than you Jeff, I hear you came up empty handed on the fishy express out off Homebush on Monday night!! with all the talk about snails you might have been slow of the mark

brendothejet

2 True Blues said:
Thats why I refered to it as the "So Called" TCJ. Your quick off the mark today cobber. :cool: But it's good the Roosters have included us. Should be a very good day. Would still have been good to have the A grade games on at the same time. Would have added some atmosphere I reckon. ;-)

it would've have brought more than atmosphere it would have brought BTJ.

normally I would go into a tyranical rant about the senior club, but I should probably curtail those now...

Also, I have just heard from some very good sources that a few people have been ringing the Jets club and to find out if the BTJ coaching apointment is true...

Come on people, have I ever let you down before?

brendothejet

THECURSEDJET said:
Bendo, can you please get on the good side of the premier league coach and get Aaron Lai back with you in the reggies? you may get Willie Brown after monday nights performance aswell,

The premier league coach may just want to stay on the good side of me...

First reserves, tommorrow the world.

Bluebag

BTJ you have never let the club down and never will, mainly due to the fact that we expect nothing of you so you cannot disappoint can you, that only comes when you have an expectation.:lol: