Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The power of the "little people" ??

black_dot

Without a doubt the internet Forum as become the most focused medium for sporting fans around the world.

The net forum based fans in the UK have a fantastic affiliation with their clubs and are active in the clubs social and welfare oragnisations, to the point where they fund raise and organise groups to assist import players who are coming to their clubs. I know of a few players who have been presented with TV's, washers or dryers, microwaves, kids cots etc when arriving in the the UK at their new club , these are presented by the FANS, and these groups formed,and live in NET forums.

There is a forum tag footy comp that runs parrallel the the UKSL, yes folks you heard it right ! before the matches the Hull Irrelgulars as they are known for example play a match against the Castleford net team, on the pitch before first grade !

The clubs overthere have embraced Footy forums for what they are, modern fan clubs and communication lines for fans who without the forums would never meet, never travel together, and never share their passion for their football club.

My question is, do NRL clubs undertsand the power , asset, and tool that net forums are ? are our NRL clubs modern enough and aware enough to realise this or are they still putting their heads in the sand with no idea just how powerful the net force is ?

The positives that can be drawn from the tool that is net forum groups are huge for a club, they can have a cheap was of gaining almost blanket focus for their number 1 demographic, their fans. Communication and information can flow freely and quickly, so much so that many UK based forums are too overloaded with club and team content for even the most ardent fan to use.

Since the well publicised issues a few years ago when some people took offence to some comments made on league forums in this country, our clubs seem to be happy to leave it at that and pretend these forums don't exist. ( i generalise, I believe one or two clubs still have forums).

In the old days, fans did their opinionating and talking out loud in the pubs after the games, during the week, at lunch in the playground. It was okay then for any fan to call the coach a nuffy, the captain past it, the hot dog stand over priced , the board a bunch of fools for letting go the star, the club cheap for not spending on advertising, The journo a clown for not giving ones club enough credit,or the ref a clown for, well, just being a ref.

Unfortunately our clubs, our game in this country seems stuck in the old days, and seeing fans talk about these things in the " modern" way, net forums, is too close to the bone, too black and white, too well thought out, and more to the point, holding too much substance.

But I ask again, how long can they keep belittling net based fans and their forums in this country, how long can they keep refusing to accept that it's part of life and will remain, and beging embracing it rather than lurking ? how long can they keep conceitedly fobbing the forums off ?

A little harnessing and the supporter base of a club can be united and given huge power to genuinely assist and be a part of the club in so many ways. Like I said, it happens in the UK, it needs to happen here. I'm not suggesting at all that forums opinion on selecting a team is saught ( although perhaps SHOULD be :) ) but harnessing the power of this fantasic group of sharks fans would be SO easy and so cost effective for some of the following ideas that I have listed below :-

* unifying and focusing away match travel and seating

* Organising fans tributes and thanks to players who are leaving or reaching milestones

* Organising and focusing fans that care when a player at the club finds himself in financial hardship or personal hardship through injury or otherwise

* Organising and focusing of shark fans that care about other community matters and may seek to offer some support/charity under the banner of sharks fans

* Organising and harnessing the fan base for club support when a show of support is needed, like, for example......a DA application at council. not all sharks fans are members and a far greater support base could have been reached had the club used the forums as a vehicle......it took frenzy and others to get that going here.

* informing the fans of weekly events or any weekly theme or direction ebing taken for home games, this can harness better home ground support, ie the Nulla boys song or chant of the week etc etc. I KNOW this works, in the UK the entire forum was aware that one aussie player was making a debut the coming weekend, and from the forum, they knew his nickname and the chants and things that were called out to him by aussie fans when he was here. When he ran out the place rang out with his nickname being chanted. Thats just one example.

Anyway, I'm sorry to go on about it, but I reckon the nuffies at our club need to think about biting the bullet and harnessing the bloody fantastic blue black and white support that everyone in this place bleeds for the club.

MightySharks

Good post mate totaly agree! Print and post you thread to the club, they may not listen but it cant hurt.
All we can do is make this forum as strong as possible and let all sharks fans know it exists, so some of the things you have mentioned can still happen.

Inferno

its all a good idea and makes perfect sense, but in regards to our team if they can't even pick a competent team what chance do they have of harvesting the benefits of the Internet.

I can see it definatelt happening in a few years. 1 club will start it and within a few years they all will cotton on.

b_shark

Would provide an avenue for people that are passionate supporters but who do not have contacts in the club or team etc - would have loved to have sent a message to the Peach to wish him well in the future and thank him for the memories, and also to Treister during the bad times, and to ET and Healey when they left - if they can do herograms during the olympics then why can't we get messages of support to the team.

beekershark

agree B-shark, the way it works in the UK is tremendous, the forum is a club in itself, it supports community groups, juniour league, they do as much for rugby league in their towns as their clubs do and the clubs appreciate it and harness and assist it. The best example was the forum supporters group who fundraise and keep an account for when its needed, they gave their club the 100K pounds the club needed to lure peach to the club over and above what the club could pay. the club thanked the forum fans and they were instrumental in getting a player of huge renown at the club.

The Australian mass media and the game's traditional powerbrokers are scared of the egalitarian nature of the internet, where anyone with a modem can broadcast their opinion

They see it as a force for bad, not good

The manly forum, is very strong they had Peter Peters on tv cant remember which sports show talking about there forum, and how its read by the club, he was explaining that the fans sweat on the team being announced and the comments start, he was very positive about and was talking it up, i think it was on a fox show.

Black Dot, right on the money, in the UK there is so many, forums espically with there soccer, and also helps those of us who maybe interstate or oversease with information.

I do know that the WWE in the usa, is very concious of forums and the internet, and leaking information through the net, will see employees sacked, it also workd in getting wrestler rehired.

What forums and the internet does to sport throughout the world is bring us altogher, if you live up the street, interstate or overseas, it allows you to feel more part of the club you support, myself being now in qld, i love it because it keeps me close to my beloved sharks, great post black dot

black_dot

that's totally right King, of course we know better and it is the way of NOW, forget the way of the future, and it has been the way sharks fans have been communicating for a long time now, and look at some of the great people and groups that have met and enjoyed following the sharks together as a result.

black_dot

Sharksinrbrisbane, then it sounds to me like Peter peters is the only NRL bloke who has a clue about the true power of forums, or has bothered to look outside their little NRL comp to the rest of the world to see how things are run properly. We might be the best league players in the world, but the clubs in the UK are streets ahead.

black_dot said:
that's totally right King, of course we know better and it is the way of NOW, forget the way of the future, and it has been the way sharks fans have been communicating for a long time now, and look at some of the great people and groups that have met and enjoyed following the sharks together as a result.

Personally I dont see the point in trying to shut the forums down
More will just spring up

Or if you look at it differently, the exact same opinions will be broadcast via talkback radio, email, text messages, phone calls or face to face etc

It's about a hold on information. Those who have traditionally owned it dont want to lose their power by allowing it to trickle down at a time of their choosing. Unfortunately for them the 'people power' of the internet has turned the power structure upside down, or at least radically redefined it. It's a beautiful revolution.

Mako

The real problem is that those people have failed to figure out how to use it.

Ignore it and it will go away does not work any more.

Control was once established by withholding information, these days control is better opbtained by providing information - the Sharks Club does not understand that.

Aries

b_shark said:
Would provide an avenue for people that are passionate supporters but who do not have contacts in the club or team etc - would have loved to have sent a message to the Peach to wish him well in the future and thank him for the memories, and also to Treister during the bad times, and to ET and Healey when they left - if they can do herograms during the olympics then why can't we get messages of support to the team.

use to do that at the OLD OFFICIAL SHARKS FORUM... I'm sure a few players etc; popped in for a look... maybe even a say at times?!?

PJ

At the moment the club bosses are all bouyed by the back slappers and fans who go to the preso after the game and tell them how good they are even if they have just been bent over on the paddock.

They don't want to hear from people who want to point out the negatives and areas for improvement.

bubs

PJ said:
At the moment the club bosses are all bouyed by the back slappers and fans who go to the preso after the game and tell them how good they are even if they have just been bent over on the paddock.
This was a point brought up by Chris Anderson when he first got to the club.
Another point of interest he made was that the Sharks players showed next to no enthusiasm when they got into the finals. Both were excellent points and completely true.
But what is the answer in reguards to the first point? Boo them off the stage when they get up. THAT cannot be good for morale. The only reason they do that presentation anyway is to sell more booze at over inflated prices and flog their sponsors names once more.

millersnose

with due respect boys this forum is a rabble

a knee jerk lynch mob they wouldnt want associated with their club

i cant really blame them

imasharkie

i reckon the sports forum, especially this forum keep fans well informed of all the doings of club life. I believe that the club media personal should come on here once a week with a general blurb about the club and a question and answer section so the true fans can learn a little more on what is happening with this club. If I hadn't stumbled onto the old forum, I as an interstater would never had met the numbers of fans that I have and especially the fans here on this forum and had the pleasure of travelling to home and away games as a group of sharks supporters. Forums definetely bring the team supporters together.