Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

the remainder of 2009 what would you do?

Squae

I reckon we at least blood the good juniors, being Verlinden, Juodo, maybe Orcher?

Even if just one game each or something, just to give them a sniff, also see if any step up to the plate.

Lets face it the difference between Mannah and say Verlinden or Hughes and Juodo isnt going to be massive. Might as well give them a biut of incentive for over the off season.

I would be happier paying my money to see some a couple of new guys playing, than watch the same team which MAYBE has an additional 2% chance of winning (maybe less likely!)

Eion

Personally I'd leave winky in. I wouldn't play simmo or vea unless more injuries made me. They're just not good enough to bother with. If it was gallen, twopoo or baz that'd be a different story.

carinashark

From this weekend I would drop all players leaving or retireing. Bring up younger players no matter what it cost. The message would be clear . This is your chance to impress. I dont care if we finish last , to me its about next year and the two beyond that

millersnose

yeah

i think it pays for the after game piss up

but of course winning the nsw cup will bring paying punters from all over the shire to shark park in unprecedented numbers

its all about the dollars people.

that and avoiding the spoon.

so on field id try and win the remaining home games with the team we have and blood some juniors. and beat manly at brookie. thatll f**k em

forget simmo and other hacks leaving. its about the future.

but onto the money.

first up i would start the membership 2010 offensive. start by offering existing red v members 50% off to jump ship. 60% if they sign up their children.
20% discounts on those in the sydney basin but arent shire side of ugley toms bridge.

id then get into the community. and really get in. hassle people for change outside northies if you have to FFS. a crack tea of fake homeless and buskers employed by the club on retainer.

next up. flogging off the redundant merchandise.
in the sharks "divorce showbag" you get a 09 jersey, polo, jacket and cap..basically anything with LG written on it for a cool 50 bucks. celebrating the end of a substantial partnership between lucky goldstar and the sharks.

in the summer. $10 car wash by mermaids in bikinis. sign up as a member today to recieve a free hat! today only in the parking lot of sharkies.

then the next week. "1 dollar sausage sizzle at the beach" sign up as a member to receive an exclusive "forget the whales, save the sharks" bumper sticker.

do all that...and then grease the council to approve the development.

and if that dont work...start robbing drug dealers like Omar from the wire.

$10 car wash by mermaids in bikinis. sign up as a member today to recieve a free hat! today only in the parking lot of sharkies
Pretty sure my car needs a clean, by the time I get to NSW in it, it would.

Since 73

I would approach the remaining games very seriously.

I don't believe our season is over and if results fall our way we could actually win the minor premiership.

I would invite Gus Gould down to coach our attack.
I would play Sticky at halfback.
I would get zaps back, make him captain and run him for 80 minutes at prop.
Barry pierce would play one wing - Jenny Hall on the other.
Buster and Reni in the centres, Dykesy at lock and karl filiga at fullback.
Brett kearney the other prop and Ben Ross in the 2nd Row with Jaqueline Magnay.

The waitress from NZ in the tuckshop on bun duty.

I could see that side winning the comp and going down in folklore in the shire as the 'Stars of 09' - people who have over and above this year in helping shape this great club of ours.

snoozer

i'd like to see a couple of youngsters get a taste of nrl-judo, orcher, verlinden.

otherwise i think we need to put the best side possible on the paddock.the threat of spoon looms.

The weed?

If you dig them, check out my mate Stewies band LEADFINGER. Hes a big sharks supporter, from the gong and i think the weed drummer was in his band for a while (bbb to confirm). Great power pop tunes.

The Swill is playing with them in Nov.

I'm good mates with all the Weed guys and very good mates with Stewie.
Stevie played with Stew up until recently, but the bigger factor is this:
Stew played with the Curly's and Richie in Proton Energy Pills, he departed from them and they formed The Weed, the original Weed singer was a Curly, Dave, and Rich was the drummer,as he was in Protons, he then became singer and the rest is history.
Bino(a Rifles drummer) also played in the Weed for a while, Alex, guitarist, was originally in a band from Tassie called, Fridge, they were the f**king shyte, really good. Coxy drummed in them too, as well as Died Pretty, but he's now a vagrant in the Enmore area.
Lenny Curly has been playing in The Pink Fits, another great band but they've split now. Jay Curly was in a caravan last i heard.
Oh and Stew is from the Burgh mate, the rest Fairy, i think.
Rich had his Creeps but that fell down personally.
A little hint, they used to use the name "Millenium Falcon" if they did a secret gig.
I'll get some youtube on the Protons, they were great young pups.

edit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kzWQYHAO0Q

I saw them do a cover of Pink Floyds interstellar overdrive at Mick Maulens???? one sunday arvo.

fug it was loud.

anyone see them at caringbah when the crowd tore half the ceiling down?

bloody unreal band that!

I think i was living in Perth(the other side of earth-Ross Psycho), when that gig went on carch, i have vague recollections of a visitor telling me.
Newms your drummer Peter A played in the Protons/Weed one night at the Den. Well it was a composite band playing all covers, but it was unreal.

mortz

its all about the dollars people.

that and avoiding the spoon.

so on field id try and win the remaining home games with the team we have and blood some juniors. and beat manly at brookie. thatll f**k em

forget simmo and other hacks leaving. its about the future.

but onto the money.

first up i would start the membership 2010 offensive. start by offering existing red v members 50% off to jump ship. 60% if they sign up their children.
20% discounts on those in the sydney basin but arent shire side of ugley toms bridge.

id then get into the community. and really get in. hassle people for change outside northies if you have to FFS. a crack tea of fake homeless and buskers employed by the club on retainer.

next up. flogging off the redundant merchandise.
in the sharks "divorce showbag" you get a 09 jersey, polo, jacket and cap..basically anything with LG written on it for a cool 50 bucks. celebrating the end of a substantial partnership between lucky goldstar and the sharks.

in the summer. $10 car wash by mermaids in bikinis. sign up as a member today to recieve a free hat! today only in the parking lot of sharkies.

then the next week. "1 dollar sausage sizzle at the beach" sign up as a member to receive an exclusive "forget the whales, save the sharks" bumper sticker.

do all that...and then grease the council to approve the development.

and if that dont work...start robbing drug dealers like Omar from the wire.

top post that

i think we are at the point now where even reefy would agree that we will not contest the final series in 09

all in all no matter what happens for the rest of the year this year has been a failure...a huge failure

the club is in financial difficulty and has sponsorship issues that will not easily be improved during the current financial downturn

this may yet lead to a forced relocation

many people see the rest of this year as an opportunity to blood new players and write off the year -if we were a strong club i would agree but we are not

that is why i would win as many games possible by fielding the strongest team possible

that means playing simmons who is a try scorer, vea who is the better of the reserve grade back rowers

Thread title should be renamed

Should read "would you play Simmo for the rest of the year"

Answer - NO

Reason - because I agree with the thread starter that we should filed the strongest team possible :)

As to Vea. He's lucky to be playing NSW Cup

millersnose

dont be silly

i think he is only averaging 1 try per game

or about 50 per cent of our current full team offering