Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

BLM01

We seem to have a knack of losing really good hookers to other clubs:

Steve Edge
Mark Riddell
Michael Ennis (went on to play SOO)
Damien Cook (as above)
Reece Robson
Ha.. I will grant you the 1st name
We got the best out of Piggy
We did pretty well after Ennis departed And even won a comp not that long after
Cook was not a hooker when he left our club as a young man
No 5. We kept the right one of the 2
No 6 which started all this hysteria has not even departed yet

Slippery Morris

In terms of round 1, I think Hook will actually use the trials to pick form players for round 1. The guys have been told no spot guaranteed so they will have to aim up. There could be a few suprises based on this unlike Mary who picked on reputation and hardly took trial form as any indication if the player deserved a go in round 1.

Norman should be worried especially with his off field stuff. If he gets in the press again, I think he may not be given the starting spot in round 1 and once Sullivan gets it, I think this kid will shine and Norman will find it hard to get back in unless Sullivan gets injured. If not Sullivan Clune will get the nod.

Slippery Morris

Recently? I think you'll find that he's done nothing wrong off field, and it will have no bearing on his selection or non-selection.
I know he has not done anything bad but the fact that he is even in the papers is bad enough. Each time you hear an NRL player is in the press it is mostly bad news, never a good news story unfortunately. If he gets cleared of any wrong doing which I say he will, in his latest incident you will not read about it anywhere that is for sure unless Saints make a statement. But if he gets charged it will be all over the press.

My mate Horace came down from the bush recently to the big smoke and was having one of those lates - lats - lattes at some Bondi cafe and overheard that the chooks were offering Boyd Cordner to the Dragons in exchange for our Trent Merrin ?

Any takers :fishing_pole_and_fish:

I know he has not done anything bad but the fact that he is even in the papers is bad enough.
Well that's not his fault either. People with mobile phones... etc.
Each time you hear an NRL player is in the press it is mostly bad news, never a good news story unfortunately.
Actually, just the other day there were some players involved in the rescue of young boy in the surf. Saved his life I reckon. Only downside was that it was a former Broncos player, but I'm willing to overlook that. ;)

575b9acf5023f67863a62f6e017bfdfe

Lachlan Maranta with Wynnum Manly teammates Sebastian Winters-Chang and Tom Farr after they saved a boy at Burleigh beach. Picture: Jim O’Reilly.

The only reason we heard about it was because a woman who witnessed it reached out to the newspaper. Which begs the question, do you only hear about bad news stories because that's what sells newspapers? Of course.

I reckon for every mishap, there plenty of good things happening that don't make the news.
If he gets cleared of any wrong doing which I say he will, in his latest incident you will not read about it anywhere that is for sure unless Saints make a statement. But if he gets charged it will be all over the press.
A true word spoken brother.

Norman and Segeyaro won't be charged with anything. The story should be about how they stood up to 4 thugs while protecting others.