Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

KogarahWarrior

I think the 1st grade spine is:
1. Gutho 6. Atkinson (or equivalent) 7. Kyle 9. Liddle/Cook

NSW Cup is:
1. Sloan 6. LKT 7. ToBePurchasedTop30 (or Dev) 9. StillTBD

We might not actually sign JAC though.. so Sloan might be competing for a wing spot yet.. but imo he should just try and keep his fullback skills up.. get better.. if hes good enough maybe Gutho ends up @ctr at some point.. hes just gotta be irresistible though.. and of course Gutho does cop injuries.
This is looking more likely now that Trindall's re-signed with the filth

KogarahWarrior

Does anyone have any intel on Sloans junior career ?
Was he always a full back ?
has he played in the halves etc etc ?
Is quick on his feet
has great hands
can set his outside men up
has a short deft kicking game
Just perhaps could make a utility type player
Just putting it out there
Sloan was a half in the juniors, never played there at rep level tho

TheRev

Trindall apparently signed for $675k for 4 years. What does that suggest for Atkinson? $500k?
I mean its massive unders.. so frustrating.. his underperforming mate Hynes is on 1mil.

Atkinson I reckon 550k maybe more in subsequent years.. I mean you have to be fair dinkum.. you want to pull ur longterm 7 out of another club.. the qn is would any other clubs be interested in the next few weeks to get into a bidding war? I feel like everyone else has their blokes set.. bar maybe Newcastle, but they r after pezet.. Broncs maybe, but would be a big call..

He is quite versatile too.. I cant remember what hes on now, but I think its like 300k or something in that kind of range.. it wasnt a big contract.

mattw5

I mean its massive unders.. so frustrating.. his underperforming mate Hynes is on 1mil.

Atkinson I reckon 550k maybe more in subsequent years.. I mean you have to be fair dinkum.. you want to pull ur longterm 7 out of another club.. the qn is would any other clubs be interested in the next few weeks to get into a bidding war? I feel like everyone else has their blokes set.. bar maybe Newcastle, but they r after pezet.. Broncs maybe, but would be a big call..

He is quite versatile too.. I cant remember what hes on now, but I think its like 300k or something in that kind of range.. it wasnt a big contract.
Just go to 600K double his money if we come in at 500-550K other clubs will likely do the same need to pay a bit more unfortunately to eliminate other offers

Jubilee

.. the qn is would any other clubs be interested in the next few weeks to get into a bidding war? I feel like everyone else has their blokes set.. bar maybe Newcastle, but they r after pezet.. Broncs maybe, but would be a big call...
Yep, there may not be that much competition for him, given most sides have their 6 and 7 already. If we offered $550k for three years, it might be doable.

A funny point about all of this is an Atkinson + Douehi halves combination might be possible. In that case, does Kyle go to NSW Cup?

And what about our long kicking?

redv13

Honestly Dragons just need to offer 600K for three years to Atkinson just get it done.
Yep agree 100%. We’re not in a position to play too much hardball. We need a decent 6 or 7 and this kid fits the bill. Don’t f**k around to get burnt for say 50-75 k a season. Go in hard, offer him the coin, the starting 6 jersey and complete the deal. Get him there for 2025. Trindall’s off the table now so that means we need to move quick smart.

justadragon

It reminds me of our "attempt" to sign RCG and basically calling that it was a done deal but things just dragged on. He kicked the conversion in his last game for the Eels and well, I thought that he was going to be announced a Dragon but we know what happened in the end - he wanted 3 years and we were only prepared to grant him 2, so he got it with the Dolphins in the end. I hope Gutho isn't playing the same game!!
I dont think its about the length of time Dave , its about the money in his 3rd year, I do think we are close.

mattw5

Yep agree 100%. We’re not in a position to play too much hardball. We need a decent 6 or 7 and this kid fits the bill. Don’t f**k around to get burnt for say 50-75 k a season. Go in hard, offer him the coin, the starting 6 jersey and complete the deal. Get him there for 2025. Trindall’s off the table now so that means we need to move quick smart.
Yep we are running out of time go in hard from the start make it hard for him to refuse & for christ sakes leave Haran as far away from the negotiation table as possible.

TheRev

If we sign Gutherson I’m starting to think Allen is surplus to needs.
He was signed such a long time ago.. he said he was gonna retire after the injury.. before we saved him, I think we wanted to help with his rehab given we axed him the year before.. that said.. I mean I am more excited about him than Feagai because Allan is still an unknown quantity.. he might be a skilled 1/2/3 (maybe a 6 in an emergency).. but.. he also gets injured a lot.. and he will have lost pace surely.

But yeah gettin Gutho does throw a bit of a spin on things, because he was an opportunity purchase.. and we werent really chasing a fullback.. if he comes, Sloan probably pushes to injury backup.. meaning there is no way that Allan or Feagai should be required at the back..... But we also dont have proper centre depth.. Allan and Feagai are kind of it.. so we do need them for that.. SFinau has played there a little bit.. if Douehi came though.. 100% 1 of em could definitely go.

From Allans perspective though.. this is probably his last chance.. think he will be keen to test himself.