Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

shiloh dc

Interesting when it was mentioned on SEN that Jerbo was on 900K - MC said 'and then some'. Sounds like a third party or other bringing it up to maybe 1.2M.
It just shows if you want a really good prop - you should expect to pay 1.2M - 1.5M on and off the books.

Dragons4me

Apologies if it's been mentioned elsewhere, but media today are reporting the Ezra Man court findings. Drives unlicensed (having already lost his licence) and under influence of cocaine, causes the crash which injured an Uber driver, a mother and four year child. Fined $850.00, 6 month licence disqualification and attended a 4 week rehab centre as part of his pennance. Reads a "prepared" apology speech outside court to imply regret. Sorry. No sympathy. Now let's see what the Broncos and NRL do. Will the desire to win a NRL GF in '25 override what needs to be done?

Dragsters

Apologies if it's been mentioned elsewhere, but media today are reporting the Ezra Man court findings. Drives unlicensed (having already lost his licence) and under influence of cocaine, causes the crash which injured an Uber driver, a mother and four year child. Fined $850.00, 6 month licence disqualification and attended a 4 week rehab centre as part of his pennance. Reads a "prepared" apology speech outside court to imply regret. Sorry. No sympathy. Now let's see what the Broncos and NRL do. Will the desire to win a NRL GF in '25 override what needs to be done?
Disgraceful...

saints4ever

Of course it wont.
If Mann was a reserve grader he would have been sacked. Anyone from the Broncos saying otherwise is full of shit. Hes an entitled f**kwit, who caused an almighty uproar after being called a monkey and sighting racism etc etc but has taken no responsibility for his own actions, and unfortunately the findings make sure he doesn't have to
This isnt like JDB where its he said/she said. He got stood down for two years.
Amone went after a guy full of malice with a hammer, and he was injured. Gone for two years.
Mann got behind the wheel of a car, no licence, full of drugs and caused a head on which injured a little girl.
Sattler says he should get 4-6 weeks because that's what the precedent is. Is he on crack?
Mann INJURED someone doing something ILLEGAL.
What the f**k is with the sport and the people who play or who have played it? What is the sense of reality? The merkin is lucky he isn't in prison.
If The NRL are serious they would ban him for 2025 and have the max fine you are allowed under the RLPA, nothing suspended.
This shit HAS to stop and only when someone, somewhere comes down hard on these f**kwits will the message be sent that you aren't above the law and you WILL pay when you f**k up and you will pay hard

And to add salt to the wounds - no criminal conviction recorded !

I wonder if the Broncos will force Mann to do the right thing and pay full compensation to the mother and child for all medical expenses incurred and ongoing costs ? ? ?

No ? Wishful thinking on my part . 🤔

qld redvee

I wonder if the Broncos will force Mann to do the right thing and pay full compensation to the mother and child for all medical expenses incurred and ongoing costs ? ? ?

Gareth I reckon he will be up for all costs at this stage BUT will try to reach an agreement so ongoing is on mother . Already read up here in media ( Im at Hervey Bay ) that they were only minor injuries !!!!!
a couple of signed bronco posters free tickets to games hey what a wonderful guy !!!!! If the mother is smart she will organise ongoing medical as who knows long term problems for her little girl ..
Broncos throwing full weight behind " nothing to see here " mam is very sorry hes a good man lets move on

Jubilee

Q 1: Mr Mam, how many people have been murdered, kidnapped, raped, corrupted, trafficked and sold into slavery this year so that you could enjoy your "nose beers"?

Q2: Are your nose beers worth that price? Or don't you care about other people at all, mr oh-so-sensitive-to-racism?

Jubilee

Will he even make a public statement - or a tv ad - against cocaine, which is endemic in junior sports?

Will he cooperate with police in identifying and if necessary testifying against his supplier?

Oh, I am sure he is very sorry. So very sorry. Next time they play, I hope someone like Sua tramples him.

Of course it wont.
If Mann was a reserve grader he would have been sacked. Anyone from the Broncos saying otherwise is full of shit. Hes an entitled f**kwit, who caused an almighty uproar after being called a monkey and sighting racism etc etc but has taken no responsibility for his own actions, and unfortunately the findings make sure he doesn't have to
Amone went after a guy full of malice with a hammer, and he was injured. Gone for two years.
Mann got behind the wheel of a car, no licence, full of drugs and caused a head on which injured a little girl.
Sattler says he should get 4-6 weeks because that's what the precedent is. Is he on crack?
What the f**k is with the sport and the people who play or who have played it? What is the sense of reality? The merkin is lucky he isn't in prison.
If The NRL are serious they would ban him for 2025 and have the max fine you are allowed under the RLPA, nothing suspended.
This shit HAS to stop and only when someone, somewhere comes down hard on these f**kwits will the message be sent that you aren't above the law and you WILL pay when you f**k up and you will pay hard
Rugby League has always had and always will have a criminal element within its ranks.

The nature of criminality will be far and wide.

If they are a valued player clubs will protect them and when they no longer can that player will just move onto another club, competition if country if need be.

They will wear suits and be represented by silks and the vast majority will be dealt with lightly.

Other team sports also have these issues however R L seems to have a larger concentration per capita.

The judicial system needs to change the terminologies it uses referring to these arrogant f**ks and realise not one of the offenders is a so called “role model”.

Unlikely possm. From what I’ve seen so far it’s a point of principle for Flanagan not to pay players to leave. It’s a slippery slope to go down. I’m ok with this strategy.
So far this year, there has been no need to pay players to leave and also would rather player manages find a new home for unwanted Dragon players. But there will come a time when we need to rid ourselves of a couple of players so that we may recruit others that will improve our squad. For example, if we need to let go Rava and Lawrie to gain Thompson and Lodge, I'm all in on that.

Unsainty79

So far this year, there has been no need to pay players to leave and also would rather player manages find a new home for unwanted Dragon players. But there will come a time when we need to rid ourselves of a couple of players so that we may recruit others that will improve our squad. For example, if we need to let go Rava and Lawrie to gain Thompson and Lodge, I'm all in on that.
The club would have to pick up almost Rava and Lawrie's entire freight for this year & next. That is a significant cost & there is no way we would have enough cap to land two players on bigger contracts.

Landing someone like Thompson on a 3 year deal would definitely have implications on bringing through some of our other younger players, both in terms of playing time & cap. While there is a hole in the pack this year, I am definitely supportive of the longer term view we've got.

Phantom V

We all know the answer to that

KingFlanno7

It was embarrassing to watch, he even had to read the part that apologised to the familys etc, absolute flog. Broncos won't do shit, NRL has to step in and have some balls for once

KingFlanno7

Of course it wont.
Spot on, the drums are beating on social media as they should be, absolute joke he would be laughing his ass off behind the scenes

A friend of mine mentioned yesterday that his son got a bigger fine in Brisbane when caught wearing his seatbelt under his arm, as a passenger.

Absolutely ludicrous!

Phantom V

Spot on, the drums are beating on social media as they should be, absolute joke he would be laughing his ass off behind the scenes
I dare say we all know the NRL will give him a slap on the wrist but I hope I’m wrong. I’d love to see them come down hard on him and wipe the smile off his face. I’m over him and his smart ass mate and their rock star attitudes.

hewi