Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Unsainty79

I already said it's not the words I would of used. My point is the ref deserved a spray for a very poor effort. If I did my job as poorly as that I would of been dragged over the coals.
But you're easily replaceable.

Put simply, the way we treat referees from juniors to NRL is a disgrace. Coaches, fans and parents hurl constant abuse at referees. Go to an Oztag game and see how a 16 year old referee gets treated.

There is no systemic production line of up and coming referees at any level

Put simply, the way we treat referees from juniors to NRL is a disgrace. Coaches, fans and parents hurl constant abuse at referees. Go to an Oztag game and see how a 16 year old referee gets treated.

Gough's performance was a disgrace, and it was the reason so many fans at the ground and at home were angry, even though we won. We won despite his performance.

Can anyone tell me if Gough was dropped?

The Word

We need to stop getting distracted by a referees performance and this stupid paranoia that they're all out to get us and treat us differently from other teams.

We need to keep improving the players, we need to play smarter, not constantly hide behind these juvenile ideas. It's honestly so boring and predictable hearing the post match whining about refs.

redv13

This is the 3rd time that we as a club have come under notice at Kogarah for imbeciles in the crowd that have been identified as Saints supporters.
1. vs Souths last year: racial crap towards Latrell and Cody
2. Vs Canterbury: idiot pie chucker
3. Melbourne game on the weekend towards the referee with a homophobic slur.

All 3 are totally unacceptable and very damaging to our club. Other supporters must think we are inbred morons and the damage to our brand is long lasting. Needs to stop pronto.

RedVee

This is the 3rd time that we as a club have come under notice at Kogarah for imbeciles in the crowd that have been identified as Saints supporters.
1. vs Souths last year: racial crap towards Latrell and Cody
2. Vs Canterbury: idiot pie chucker
3. Melbourne game on the weekend towards the referee with a homophobic slur.

All 3 are totally unacceptable and very damaging to our club. Other supporters must think we are inbred morons and the damage to our brand is long lasting. Needs to stop pronto.
I agree.
(but I thought the Latrell incident was found to be Souffs supporters).

Auntie.Gerald

Has anyone else been hearing the rumours Adam Elliot and the Dragons are interested for 2025/26 ?

cant find anything online but i have heard it through a few footy head mates

We are after a middle still for 2025......... but I would have thought a prop more so than a lock.

Yet we have 5 forwards that will be unlikely important to our top30 in 2026 and maybe even 2025
RFM $350k pa
Fifita $300k pa
Lawrie $500k pa
TomE $300k pa
MMolo $250k pa

Thats $1.6mill pa to play with and Elliot at $400k pa plus a dominant Prop i suspect would get a lot more NRL game time in 2025/26 then Fifia, RFM, Lawrie,, TomE, Mmolo

Elliot has averaged 150m run metres this season vs Jack De Bellin 120m run metres

Elliot in the game against the Dolphins did 15 hitups for 174m in 52mins...........that is elite for a middle.

Elliot is not contracted for 2026 and rumoured on $500k pa for 2025
Besides Latu we have secured pretty much all our emerging forwards for 2026/27
Mmolo RFM will probably move on soon and RCouchman out for 12months ACL reco
JDB is playing half his minutes as a prop anyway

Millie Boyle Elliots new wife (now pregnant) and not playing footy for 2025
Both from the far south coast and Millie plays for the Roosters
His 4 yr old son is from a previous GF in Sydney - not sure how sharing works but being closer to Sydney makes sense

30yrs of age > turning 31 yrs old late this year > experienced and with JDB, Klem, Sua etc brings more GRIT
middle and powerful defender and dangerous runner around the try line
but previously a nutball > now married and a baby on the way and I suspect a gritty player that would appeal to Flano now that Elliot has matured some what

ANY THOUGHTS ?

Im guessing only a small handful of options right now to bolster 2025...........and 2026 finding middles is still a serious challenge

I think Elliot and JDB defending in the middle would bring some heat plus they tend to get some good explosive metres when on the 3rd or 4th hitup. JDB maybe only has one more year in him in 2026

$350k to 400k pa for a two year contract would make some sense.

Auntie.Gerald

Why is everyone trying to retire JDB. He has heaps left and is going gangbusters
Hey mate
2026 is not in question.
JDB is playing well right now.

Although....... he turns 36 in March 2027 > For me that is potentailly a big ask to be a dominant prop in 2027 and unlikely to play as a out and out no13 in 2027......possible though

But for now its clear he would be really good to have in our 17 for 2026 as a prop or lock or the hybrid role he is doing now

Ronnie Dobbs

Has anyone else been hearing the rumours Adam Elliot and the Dragons are interested for 2025/26 ?

We are after a middle still for 2025......... but I would have thought a prop more so than a lock.

Yet we have 5 forwards that will be unlikely important to our top30 in 2026 and maybe even 2025
RFM $350k pa
Fifita $300k pa
Lawrie $500k pa
TomE $300k pa
MMolo $250k pa

Thats $1.6mill pa to play with and Elliot at $400k pa plus a dominant Prop i suspect would get a lot more NRL game time in 2025/26 then Fifia, RFM, Lawrie,, TomE, Mmolo

Elliot has averaged 150m run metres this season vs Jack De Bellin 120m run metres

His 4 yr old son is from a previous GF in Sydney - not sure how sharing works but being closer to Sydney makes sense

30yrs of age > turning 31 yrs old late this year > experienced and with JDB, Klem, Sua etc brings more GRIT
but previously a nutball > now married and a baby on the way and I suspect a gritty player that would appeal to Flano now that Elliot has matured some what

ANY THOUGHTS ?

Im guessing only a small handful of options right now to bolster 2025...........and 2026 finding middles is still a serious challenge

Elliot has averaged 150m run metres this season vs Jack De Bellin 120m run metres but I think Elliot and JDB defending in the middle would bring some heat. JDB maybe only has one more year in him in 2026

Would love Elliott. In the blink of an eye.

JDB for mine is nearly back to where he was before all the shit as a player, but he is 34 now. 36 is a cliff for forwards. You just literally physically slow down.

Ronnie Dobbs

We need to stop getting distracted by a referees performance and this stupid paranoia that they're all out to get us and treat us differently from other teams.

We need to keep improving the players, we need to play smarter, not constantly hide behind these juvenile ideas. It's honestly so boring and predictable hearing the post match whining about refs.
Precisely. Every team has gripes every weekend.

Overcoming unfavourable officiating to still win makes it even sweeter because it’s harder earned.

Victoire

JDB did give away one incredibly stupid penalty on the weekend though. Could've been costly. This is also why I also don't get the vitriol directed at the referee... we did some stupid things and deserved to cop them! In fact, probably the most controversial refereeing moment of the game was the Eli Katoa try being overturned. That was a huge call and could've easily gone against us. If you were directing homophobic rants at the officials then, I'm afraid to say, you just might be a dickhead

redv13

RFM $350k pa
Fifita $300k pa
Lawrie $500k pa
TomE $300k pa
MMolo $250k pa

Elliot in the game against the Dolphins did 15 hitups for 174m in 52mins...........that is elite for a middle.

ANY THOUGHTS ?

I think Elliot and JDB defending in the middle would bring some heat plus they tend to get some good explosive metres when on the 3rd or 4th hitup. JDB maybe only has one more year in him in 2026

Personally, I’d go for Jack Hetherington. Need a big body up front and he has plenty of mongrel. We have plenty of young back rowers coming through in the next year or 2

TheRev

Interesting rumour thanks Auntie, although I dont love his age, I would love one more klemmer quality prop, we are too vulnerable right now to injuries/suspensions, again losing RyanC is a kick in the guts to lose an entire season like that. I cant repeat enough how stuffed we are if we lose Jack, Toby or Klemmer at any point this year.

I sort of dont want to bring anyone in that could get in the queue for Tonga and co, but.. we can only blood a few of em at a time.. even if they rotate a month at a time or something..

I would have loved a Leo Thompson or a May, but thats highly unlikely.. so I think winning is what leads to better recruitment, so im definitely interested.. I assume Knights arent releasing him early though.

Auntie.Gerald

Interesting rumour thanks Auntie, although I dont love his age, I would love one more klemmer quality prop, we are too vulnerable right now to injuries/suspensions, again losing RyanC is a kick in the guts to lose an entire season like that. I cant repeat enough how stuffed we are if we lose Jack, Toby or Klemmer at any point this year.

I sort of dont want to bring anyone in that could get in the queue for Tonga and co, but.. we can only blood a few of em at a time.. even if they rotate a month at a time or something..

I would have loved a Leo Thompson or a May, but thats highly unlikely.. so I think winning is what leads to better recruitment, so im definitely interested.. I assume Knights arent releasing him early though.
The rumour is that the Elliots wanted to settle back in Sydney(birth of their child later this year) and that the Knights are open to 2025 if they can find an adequate replacement in 2025

I dont see 2025/26 as a block on any young talent because Flano has show oever and over again he is not scared to blood our serious young guys and he has also stacked them into contracts to end of 2027

KEEP in MIND........its just a rumour but 2 of my NRL nuts mates who usually get good goss heard it through Manly maybe being interested also which surprised me. Could be a rumour to nudge Tartak and Latu ? or maybe Latu is leaving in 2026?

I suppose we are in a change of the guard period re some of the smaller middles are really having serious impacts on games as the game is so much faster.........they tend to not run out of puff as much........i mean Elliots 174m for 15 runs in 52mins against the Dolphins is truly elite for a middle and we could do with some more that .........plus the hard edge in defence he brings. Elliot is still 103kg ie same weight as Fisher Harris

The impact of Cositgan and Smith as very small middles was absolutely key for our Dragons last decade

So maybe its possible ??

I mean Couchmans are showing this........lighter and super mobile and super young......5 years back and longer they would have got belted up at 19yrs old debuting as lanky props

and Millie would go real well back in the red and whites in 2026