Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The TV rights thread part II

Providing the price is right which is your preferred FTA broadcast option?

• All games on Seven

Votes: 11 4.2%
  • All games on Nine

Votes: 17 6.5%
  • All games on Ten

Votes: 59 22.6%
  • Seven/Nine split

Votes: 10 3.8%
  • Seven/Ten split

Votes: 109 41.8%
  • Nine/Ten split

Votes: 55 21.1%

docbrown

Like I said about 6 weeks.

It's just annoying that the government didn't have the foresight to preempt all of this. I mean now they're waiting to see what the legal challenge will be to see if it will be overturned. That's a pisspoor way of sorting it out.

Why should those organisations waste money and resources on lawyers when the government's spokesman is saying that it's wrong and the law should be changed?

Idiots.

unforgiven

Like I said about 6 weeks.

It's just annoying that the government didn't have the foresight to preempt all of this. I mean now they're waiting to see what the legal challenge will be to see if it will be overturned. That's a pisspoor way of sorting it out.

Why should those organisations waste money and resources on lawyers when the government's spokesman is saying that it's wrong and the law should be changed?

Idiots.

Yeah I agree, hopefully we will see the appeal process over with quickly and the right decision made. According to the article that could be in a little as 50 days after the appeal is lodged.

docbrown

I was told that the Convergence Review findings would be put to parliament immediately in March but the Courier Mail stated that it could take 2 years.

I still think though that they will take the specific section that deals with this component and add it to the personal use section.

It just needs to address that personal use recording via streaming is voided for sports rights if it occurs during the original timeslot.

Anyhow it definitely seems that they are going to offer as many game timeslots as possible:

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/sunday-night-nrl-on-the-cards/story-e6freye0-1226262557154

NRL boss David Gallop wants to introduce Sunday night football, with a 6.30pm kick-off, in a new weekend schedule.
He's talking to the bosses at Channels 9, 7 and 10 and Fox Sports about including the timeslot in the next TV deal.
"Sunday evening is one we're exploring at the moment," Gallop told What's the Buzz.
"It's a free-to-air or pay-TV option. I really like the idea of this timeslot. It is a time of the weekend when a lot of people are ready to hit the couch.
"Again we need to consider the impact on crowds."
Friday night and Monday night have been huge ratings winners for Nine and Fox Sports in recent years and Gallop believes Sunday evenings could be just as successful.
Channel 9 had earlier been keen to televise a live game on Saturday afternoons, like we had in the old days.

But Gallop is not sure that it will work.
"We've got to play in timeslots that work for TV but are also crowd-friendly," he said.
"We have to be realistic about how difficult Saturday afternoons can be for families, particularly in Sydney.
"It's hard to travel and there are lots of commitments with children's sport and shopping. People's Saturdays are pretty full these days."
The only way it would work on F2A is if it were on a digital channel - or - anchored with an AFL game.

It seems that Gallop is doing all the negotiating thus far for the new TV deal.

Some of the reports give the impression that he'll be the head negotiator ahead of the IC.

docbrown

It seems that Gallop is doing all the negotiating thus far for the new TV deal.

Some of the reports give the impression that he'll be the head negotiator ahead of the IC.

As I understand it he's taking his cues from Grant even now.

Gallop's the public face. It's not surprising he's maintaining contact.

As I understand it he's taking his cues from Grant even now.

Gallop's the public face. It's not surprising he's maintaining contact.

Fair enough.

The media need to make this a little clearer though in certain reports.

I feel a little uncomfortable with him doing the actual negotiating, even if he is taking his cues.

in an article in the FIN today the new Fox Sports boss says they have no plans for an NRL channel

thinks AFL is the only 24/7 sport fans like

docbrown

http://www.zdnet.com.au/conroy-flags-law-changes-from-optus-win-339330970.htm

Communications Minister Stephen Conroy has flagged potential legislative changes to protect football-broadcast rights following the Optus TV Now ruling.
The ruling by Justice Steven Rares in the Federal Court earlier this week stated that Optus' TV Now app does not infringe on the copyright of the sporting codes when it records and replays their TV broadcast. This decision has sparked concerns from a number of sporting agencies worried that the ruling devalues their broadcast contracts. The Australian Football League (AFL) is likely to appeal the ruling in order to salvage its $153 million five-year contract for mobile-broadcasting rights with Telstra, but the organisation has estimated that it could take up to two years to resolve.
Speaking on the Today Show yesterday, Communications Minister Stephen Conroy — an avid Collingwood football club supporter — said that the government would wait for the appeals process to resolve, but indicated that the government may seek to change the legislation to protect the broadcasts of the sporting codes.
"It is a very far-reaching decision that could significantly change the way sporting rights are allocated, and whether it is possible to protect content online," he said. "If we want to sustain the competitions — the NRL, the AFL and all of the other sporting competitions, not just here but around the world — then you have got to be able to, if you pay a large amount of money for those rights, you have got to be able to protect it."
Conroy said that the government had anticipated such issues by commissioning the Convergence Review, which aims to address evolving technology, such as Optus' TV Now app and IPTV, and its impact on free-to-air broadcasting.
Conroy hinted that the government may need to take steps to ensure that rights are upheld.
"We will be wanting to make sure we get the right balance between consumers and the sporting-rights bodies and the TV stations; no one will pay for these rights if they can't find a way to make money off them."
The Convergence Review handed down its interim report late last year, calling for the dissolution of content licences for traditional outlets, instead to be replaced by "content-service enterprises" that are technology neutral and are overseen by a new regulator.
The final report of the Convergence Review is due to reach the government next month. The government is also currently reviewing the 2006 amendments to the Copyright Act 1968 that includes the provision allowing individuals to record TV broadcasts to watch "at a time more convenient".
Ian McDonald, special counsel for copyright with Simpsons Solicitors, told ZDNet Australia that because Optus handles all of the recording, and stores the recordings in the cloud, it will raise interesting questions when this section of the Act is reviewed.
"Nobody really had the cloud in view at that point. Certainly not the legislators or copyright industry in general," he said. "The cloud raises a whole series of quite different policy questions, which is: we are no longer looking at the activities of an individual. We're looking a business model, and an organisation or commercial entity [making the recording].
"Would we apply the same reasoning or see the same need for an exception as the [time-shifting provisions] if we're talking about a centralised, organised commercial entity, which is using this as part of its business model to sell a service?"
A short directions hearing for the case was stood over until Thursday, 9 February, because the parties could not agree on the outstanding matters from the trial. Justice Rares said that he would "endeavour to convene a full court" for the appeal as soon as possible, given the impending start to the season of football for both the AFL and the NRL.
In the meantime, there's speculation that the Federal Court ruling may end up devaluing the broadcast contracts, not only with Telstra, but also free-to-air broadcasts, and this in turn may impact the clubs and the players themselves. Marita Shelly, a law PHD candidate at RMIT University wrote on The Conversation that the AFL may seek to renegotiate player agreements.
"The big losers will be the football clubs and the players. Potentially, the AFL will attempt to re-negotiate with the AFL Players Association in regards to the collective bargaining agreement. Clubs could also be placed in financial risk if their funding was to be reduced," she said.

Kirky

in an article in the FIN today the new Fox Sports boss says they have no plans for an NRL channel

FMD! A League channel would have content from the NRL and Superleague. Fair dunkum, how long are News going to hold their Superleague grudge for? It's like their corporate priorities are:

1) Destroy League
2) Disproportionately fund AFL and Union
3) Profit

FMD! A League channel would have content from the NRL and Superleague. Fair dunkum, how long are News going to hold their Superleague grudge for? It's like their corporate priorities are:

1) Destroy League
2) Disproportionately fund AFL and Union
3) Profit

yeah it seems no coincidence they decide to get out of the NRL partnership then spend a motza on AFL

they've also cut back on NRL by axing numerous shows over the last few years

this is costing them a shitload too apparently http://mumbrella.com.au/foxs-afl-ch...-of-melbournes-global-television-studio-73422

Fox originally used RL as their national code when SL happened but it stuffed up on them costing millions because of the war

now they seem to have learnt a lesson and realise you don't have to own and run a code of football to drive up subscriptions and kill off all rival sports

in the long run they know it will cost them less to only have 1 major code

undertaker

but seriously, who the hell is going to watch a 24 hour AFL channel all the time? Let alone, any 24 hour sports channel (irrespective of whatever sport it is)? Generally speaking, there's only so much tv one can watch. People work, have families, go to school etc. I can't see casual AFL supporters watching this; only can see the real diehards/fanatics watching it all the time. Those who are either old and retired, or those who are younger and have nothing more productive to do with their life other than to watch the channel religiously and asking any visitor who comes to Melbourne "So, who's your favourite (AFL) team?". With all these different AFL pannel/talk shows they plan on having on the channel besides the AFL coverage of games, how much can one person watch? A waste of time and life, if you ask me.

Reminds me of Anzac Day 2 yrs ago when there were three back-to-back AFL games played (2:30-11:30pm, 9hrs in total), and when the A-League played all 5 games of the round back-to-back last month in a "mid-week round". 9 hrs (which is the equivalent of 6 replayed NRL games, each going 1 1/2 hrs total in broadcasting) of watching that sport would be overkill. 9 seconds is bad enough.

undertaker

absolutely

ditch them straight away

Love the line in the new Fox Footy commercial where Eddie McGuire does a Thomas Keneally "blow that whistle" type of rant, and at the end, Eddie says "AFL is the greatest game that God ever made":lol:I have to laugh at that line. Nothing could be further from the truth. These Victorians are trully enraptured and caught up with the glittering lights from the disco balls that Vlad has hung above them. As I've said 1000 times, if their product is so good, why do they feel the need to ram and shove it down ppls throats at every opportunity, even to the point of hijacking other sporting broadcasts to do so.?

undertaker

I was looking for the post I made during the Adelaide test match where I made a comment about this. Found it:

100% agreed. I don't want to get too far off topic, as this is a cricket forum. However, I simply cannot understand why all these Victorians feel the need to RAM and SHOVE AFL down our throats all the time. I'm getting bloody sick and tired of hearing them do this. Never have I seen such a sporting organisation that displays such arrogance and very sanctimonious behaviour. I just mentioned that Flemmo is another cricket commentator who does it, Shane Warne did it when he was commentating, Sarah Jones (from Fox Sports) also made heaps of AFL references during the BBL. If AFL really is AS good a game as it's allegedly made out to be, why the constant NEED to talk about it at any opportunity, hijack other sporting broadcasts with their dribble, and as I said, RAM and SHOVE it down ppls throats? "Victorianitis" should be the name of a new disease, referring to individuals from Victoria who exhibit this sort of behaviour and cannot see things from an objective viewpoint when ppl disagree with their views on AFL.

undertaker

I don't know if you will concur with me on this, I mentioned her name in that quoted post, but I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT STAND Sarah Jones on Fox Sports News. Far out! Vlad must have given her bonuses for the number of times she could spruik AFL during the Big Bash League broadcast. I can handle Melanie McLaughlin (though she has a bit of a problem with her pronunciation, not that it bothers me), Jessica Yates is bright and cheerful with her affable personality, and Alana Smith is not just a hottie but also a very intelligble person (looks like a younger Holly Valance). However, the minute Sarah opens her mouth, whether it be presenting or in an interview, I can immediately tell she is your quintessential Victorian.

When I went to Melbourne in September 2009, I remember eating at a nice Italian restaurant (L'Osteria, incase you go to Melbourne in the future. Probably one of the few good things amidst all the Victorians which surround the area) in the main shopping area of the Southbank precinct and just before entering the building saw Sarah doing some piece for Fox Sports News. Distinctly remember she was looking at herself in her small hand mirror all the time just before being on camera and had truckloads of make up applied on. She reminds me a lot of the shoddy year advisor I had in high school. Maybe, she might be Sarah's long lost twin sister for all I care.

supercharger

Oh God!
More vomit inducing garbage,10 seconds of that shit and i'm ready to
suicideispainful.gif

As others have said a league channel would have waayyy more content than the victorian game.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/8414869/govt-to-change-protection-for-tv-sport

It's a year late but the federal government is set to introduce a bill to alter a list of protected sporting events free-to-air television broadcasters must show live if they hold the rights.
Under the proposed amendments, free-to-air broadcasters would have more ability to use their secondary channels to show events, because the anti-siphoning list will be split into two tiers.
The first tier would list nationally iconic events, such as the Melbourne Cup and the finals of major international and domestic competitions, that would have to be shown on a free-to-air broadcaster's main channel.
The second tier events, including regionally iconic and nationally significant events, could be shown first on a secondary free-to-air channel.
These could include the preliminary matches of international and domestic competitions.
The legislation, which is due to come before parliament in the autumn session, should give broadcasters greater flexibility in their schedules.
In a recent example, Communications Minister Stephen Conroy gave the Seven Network special permission to switch Australian Tennis Open matches to one of its digital channels when the games clashed with the broadcaster's evening news bulletin.
But the bill would also require all marquee list sporting events to be shown live and in full.
Stations cannot hoard marquee events and must show them or offer the rights to other broadcasters.
The amendment to the anti-siphoning legislation was originally due to be introduced in early 2011 but negotiations between the government, broadcasters and sporting organisation delayed parliamentary debate.