Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The type of class we have lost!!!

Makes me so f**king mad!!!!!!!!!

Langy the legend said:
Fielding questions on how the Panthers had won last night's grand final, Lang decided to stop and first pay tribute to the efforts of Simmons.

"I want to pay tribute to Royce Simmons," he said. "Royce started to put this side together and he's a bit like me at the Sharks, he ran out of time."

Simmons, who scored two tries for Penrith when they won their only previous grand final in 1991, left the Panthers as coach in 2001, a season in which they finished with the wooden spoon.

Lang, who had been coaching the Cronulla Sharks, took over from Simmons last season.

"I want to thank him [Royce] for signing my son Martin," Lang said. "A lot of people think that I brought him here [from the Sharks] but Roycie did that, and if it wasn't for Royce it wouldn't have happened.

"He recognised the talent of a lot of young players.

"He brought Luke Priddis to the club and Joe Galuvao.

"If you are sitting at home watching on tele, Roycie, thanks a lot, mate.

Foz

I heard Tim Sheens talking about the Royce factor on the radio the other day. Tim thinks it was actually Simmons' support staff who developed and signed the new breeed of Panthers. (their Theo Burgess maybe?).
Lang got it right when he said he and Royce ran out of time. Lang had 8 years and did a great job but how long did he want?

The Popper

The players proved that they were just that little bit short of the best e.g. 2001, 2002. They didn't have the ability to go that `extra three yards' (as Bennett says) to bring home the trophy. Let's hope our new breed can develop to do it.
The Panthers are younger and a bit bigger than our `old guard' were. They were able to lift enough against the Roosters to bring home the bacon. We weren't.
I'm very happy for Langy and reckon he deserves it.

Yeah how long did Lang want?

He had a great opportunity with a massively gifted side in 1999.

I think he deserves it, it's just disappointing that he won in Penrith.

Me Luv Stevo

ShireShark said:

yeah its sorta sucky in way tht when we win a GF that langy wont be there to share it..but it was awesome to see penrith win last night, good on them :)

mullet

im happy for lang but something inside of me is really ticked off that he couldnt do it at cronulla :x - ohwell life goes on :!:

ShireShark said:

SS, how many times do we have to repeat things here???
in 99 The Sharks were beaten to the puch by 8 million dollars.
that was the combined difference in expenditure for both the GF teams.
That equates to depth.
The Sharks took injuries into the game & received more early in the game.
After ten minutes, ef we were allowed to freeze time & go and spend just 1 million dollars to fill the wholes from those injuries i.e. Good utility players like Wing, mclinden, Flannery we would have won that match.
You can't beat the dollars/investment.

& what iuf langy wanted another 5 years to do his own rebuild, or two for a partial rebuild. I would have gladly accepted. I wanted him to be the Bennet forthe Sharks, but he could never have been without Richo orthe money to spend on players.

Alan Shore

The Popper said:
The players proved that they were just that little bit short of the best e.g. 2001, 2002. They didn't have the ability to go that `extra three yards' (as Bennett says) to bring home the trophy. Let's hope our new breed can develop to do it.
The Panthers are younger and a bit bigger than our `old guard' were. They were able to lift enough against the Roosters to bring home the bacon. We weren't.
I'm very happy for Langy and reckon he deserves it.

The thing that cost us in 2001 was Lang shifting Best to Centre and having Grose on the Wing instead of Luke Stuart in the Centres for McKenna. Stuart was similar size to McKenna and a tremendous defender. All the Knights' tries came down that side.

incredible_holc

No the Sharks thing that lost us 2001 was Beattie's stupid thugish late tackle on O'Davis!!!

that was the turning point and by the look in Triester's eyes when Tahu dropped that pass you could tell the Sharks were going to win, but alas a stupid late shot by beattie on o'davis changed the game around :cry: :cry:

beerboy

i know that Newcastle did do it, but we would have still needed to knock off a great Parra team in Grand Final as well, it took a perfect half of footy for the Knights to do that
dont treat our game against Newc as if it was a GF

Alan Shore

beerboy said:
i know that Newcastle did do it, but we would have still needed to knock off a great Parra team in Grand Final as well, it took a perfect half of footy for the Knights to do that
dont treat our game against Newc as if it was a GF

The Eels were never in it though for one reason: Jason Taylor.