Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Ultimate insult

beekershark

That's fine from a fans point of view mcsharkie, but i think the staff/board should not be seen partying it up and having a laugh after the match in the sheds when we have been belted.

it sends all the wrong signals.

It sends the wrong signal to people that obviously hate the current board. Why do you hate them? It has to be personal.

beekershark

I don"t hate them, but forgive me for being a shark fan, feeling pretty miserable after getting belted by the cowboys, and feeling pretty angry looking accross the room at those in control laughing it up on their free drink cards without a care in the world.

I'm not the only person who has been critical of their behaviour Mc sharkie, so don't single me out.

Nah but you are certainly the most vocal about it. This isn't the first thread you have talked about it either. I am just curious as to why you dislike them so much. They drink after every game in the sheds. Win or lose. You know that. It isn't the best thing to see it on tele but that was a bit of bad luck. They have to keep smiling too don't they? You want a spot on the board mate?

beekershark

I know they always have a drink mate, but the fact i saw fit to mention sat night should indicate to you that it was different on this occasion. Ive seen them after losses under john lang, the rooms were like a morgue, yes, having a beer, but speaking queitly and pretty glum all round.

Ive never seen sucj an up beat, bouyant losing sharks room before, hence i mention it.

As for me being vocal, when the sharks board has over seen mistakes and problems, i make comment about it.........If you think I've been particulary vocal over the past view years, then that's more an indication of how many stuff ups they have managed, than any agenda you percieve me as having ! :p

as for me being on the board, I don"t think i want my enjoyment of football and love of the club spoiled by the bullying, slander and deceit that even a high court judge of australia noted is present in the faction that controls our club.

But i certainly think the current board needs ousting, if that is a crime then I'm guilty, but i'm not robinson crusoe mate.

Shark

McSharkie, I think they all need to go too mate. They hoped that by punting Anderson, all their other stuff-ups with sponsors and silly deals would be forgotten.

The big calls have all been gotten WRONG in the past few years. On top of this, they are just not getting the little things and the simple things right.

Take the corporate facilities on Saturday night for example. I have seats in the ET Lower, just in front of the little 'boxed off' corporate areas. I was speaking to several sponsors after the game. Some reps from bigger companies, but mostly small business owners from the shire who shell out something like 2 GRAND PER SEAT in the ET Lower boxes. NOT ONE of them was happy with the catering on the weekend, there were people who were clearly off-duty (but uniformed) club staff freeloading in their boxes, and some of them had arrived to the Manly game to find that they had been moved to another box, without consultation.

These people ARE NOT HAPPY CAMPERS. Yet, they are our bread and butter. The board treat them like crap. If any of them DARE to challenge the marketing staff or a board member (especially El Presidente Pierce), they get brushed off. Patted on the back, patronised and fobbed off. It's just NOT good enough.

I get REALLY p!ssed off on a 'value for money' basis as a bloke who forks out for 2 season tix and a car pass for about $800 per year. How must these people feel, their seats are no better than mine (in many cases they are worse, at least I am close to centre field) and all they get extra is a fridge with some cheap grog and a platter of crap food!

I'd be friggin' ready to KILL this current board if I was one of these sponsors. :evil:

Shark

Apparently dinner was hot dogs. But instead of serving them up fresh, in the boxes, they were prepared down in the kitchen then brought up on trays. There were also a few prawns and stuff, but they didn't look real good.

By the time the food was in the boxes they were all cold. And, EVERY hot dog had truckloads of cheese, mustard and sauce piled on it! Tough luck if you didn't want cheese, mustard or sauce!

Given what these guys pay, they deserve better than $2 per head hot dogs.

beekershark

I was in the corporate boxes in the ET stand ( snob, i know ! ) and it sucked. there was almost a mutiny by the coroporate sponsors. these boxes go for about $24,000 a year. on the lower level alone there are 12 boxes, so that was close tp $300,000 of pissed off corporate support on saturday night because it was a farce. noy isolated to one or two boxes, the entire hallway behind was filled with box holders speaking to and complaining to staff, the caterer was in tears, the sharks marketing staff was speachless and had as many ideas as our attack on the field, and their chief, scooty Longmuir was nowhere to be found.

Fair enough Shark. This is the sort of stuff I need to hear. I am a season seat holder in the upper ET stand. We get pretty much what we pay for. A good view of the footy. Last year when I was invited into the dressing room after we beat the Broncos everyone involved with the club was so good to me. I need to hear all the problems before I decide who to vote for. You and Beeker certainly have alot more knowledge on the subject, so anything you pass on is welcome. I would love to know the alternative's though.

Shark

No worries McSharkie. I'm like you, in that I guess I get what I pay for too, with a good view of the footy and a guaranteed car park. Driving to each game from the country, I tend to turn up right on kick-off occasionally, so the car park deal is a good thing. But it doesn't make a loss like Saturday any more palatable!

Scott was in the upper ET stand towards the end of the game. A mate of mine asked him if he was going to use the stairs or just jump off. :lol: