Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The up coming seven's

Quint

This may be be a rehash,but I'm interested to hear/see what the rest of you guys think of the 7's tournament and it's effect on the NRL season and it's actuall worth?
My opinion is that it is Basketball on a field,run score at one end ,run score at the other.and the injury risks it holds to top players for the NRL season is not supported by the 7's competitions worth.
Cheers.

wittyfan

The 7's are fun to go and watch, but it's hardly real footy. Plus who remembers who won it this year?

Quint

I understand the fast paced footy is fun,but it won't be much fun If Kimmorely or Peach snap someth'n...]

And as for a fun day out SS.I think you could be watching lawn bowls and you would still think it's fun as long as you've got a schooner in your hand... :D

Not that theres anything wrong with that mate :)

From todays smh.

Tough start for Raper in new-look Sevens
December 29, 2003

Stuart Raper faces a tough start to his first campaign as Cronulla coach after the World Sevens tournament draw was released at the weekend.

The Sharks will open the new-look January 24-25 tournament at Sydney's Aussie Stadium against a Parramatta outfit gunning for their third consecutive World Sevens title.

The Sharks are in a competitive pool with the Eels and Widnes - the only English entry at the tournament - plus one of the two teams to win through from a January 21 qualifying tournament. In the third match, NRL premiers Penrith will meet Wests Tigers.

In all, 52 games will be played over the weekend, featuring 26 teams in seven pools competing for a $100,000 winners' cheque.

The World Sevens features eight international teams - Fiji, Tonga, PNG, Samoa, Lebanon, Russia, France and NZ Residents. The US, Italy, Cook Islands, Japan and NZ Maoris will have a chance to join them when they contest the one-day qualifying tournament at St Marys, in Sydney's west.

The qualifying tournament also features the return of the North Sydney Bears, joining other former first-grade outfits the Newtown Jets, the Balmain Tigers and Western Suburbs along with NSW Country and an Indigenous Australia team.

"The qualifying tournament last year attracted 5000 fans on top of the 50,000 who went to Aussie Stadium," said tournament director Colin Love.

Changes for the 2004 tournament include the elimination of the plate and bowl events with live pool matches carrying into the second day plus the introduction of a four-tackle rule. A bonus point will be awarded for tries scored under the posts. The second day will feature an international event, a repechage play-off for a quarter-final berth and the schoolboys' final.

beerboy

i had this old bag sitting behind me going for the Cowboys (i know first person ive ever know to) and she keep screaming the whole time and paying out the opposition so i moved and had a ball
best day of footy
and it was fun being up in the members watching the Bulldogs fan fighting with the Dragons fans

ali

I had a good time last year. I hope we go well, it would be nice to win a trophy, no matter what it is.

Furthermore, it is of vital importance to the international game. We are giving developing countries such as Russia the chance to come up against the best players Australia has to offer. Any profit generated goes back to helping the International game.

We've got a good draw. Despite winning last year Parra wont be any tougher than most NRL sides. Widnes are nothing special, they are one of the weaker clubs in England. I also expect we would be too good for whoever the qualifer is. Even if we lose 1 game, with a weak draw like this we would be good things for the repecharge match.

So book your tickets for Sunday and get behind international Rugby League.

ghoti

Hopefully we get some added excitement like last year...betcha ten bucks the sprinklers won't go off half way through the game this year. :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad Russia are back again...last year was heaps cool...they weren't expecting a sound when they came out, but the crowd went bloody WILD when they ran onto the field. The Frenchies thought they'd get the same reception, but seemed a little disappointed when they were booed onto the field...

I think the Sevens are a great event for rugby league, particularly for the emerging nations, it's always good to see PNG run out onto the field :). As for injuries to key players, most clubs enter their younger players to give them some experience leading up to the season, we seem to be one of those teams, so I dont think we got much to worry about.

Quint

I may be wrong but did'nt Kimmorely play in this years 7's
As for injuries to key players, most clubs enter their younger players to give them some experience leading up to the season, we seem to be one of those teams, so I dont think we got much to worry about.

Kimmorley played. I went to both days last year and I thought that it was pretty good. I remember thinking that Rugby League was alive and kicking at the time. So I think it is a very good thing to precede the regular season, get's fans back in the mood.

Booyah

I'll be going, but I don't like the fact that we'll be risking star players for nothing more then a League exhibit.

Imagine if Vagana tore his cruciate. I for one would be fuming.

beerboy

Booyah said:
I'll be going, but I don't like the fact that we'll be risking star players for nothing more then a League exhibit.

Imagine if Vagana tore his cruciate. I for one would be fuming.
we usually dont use our star players
Kimmorley was our only star last year and i doubt he'll play this

beerboy

im guessing theres about 10 players per squad so im gonna guess

1. Merritt
2. Rieck
3. Sullivan
4. Bird
5. Kent
6. McGoldrick
7. Bosnich/Gibson