Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The "We Don't Want JT" thread

IFR33K

What has that question got to do with anything?

How about I ask you this......Who was the dominant half back in this years State of Origin Series? And last years? And the year before that?

He can win another 4 origins series, and dominate them, but if he comes here to the eels and wins f*ck all, it would count for nothing.

Me personally, I don't want a origin dominate halfback, I want a halfback, that can bring us a premiership!

Can he do it???? Who knows. Whether or not he does do it though, at the price he'll command, it will be at the expense of 2 or 3 top class first graders.

Are you willing to potentially lose KK, Morts or Mateo, just to sign JT????

I'M NOT.

Can someone answer me this, if it was someone like Prince instead of Thurston would people being feeling the same animosity???? I mean he is not a wanker, and not a cat. Oops but he is a Queenslander :sarcasm:

And who is suggesting we run out straight away and sign Thurston up for 700k and off load half our team??? Most of us have said we would be mad not to expore our options, see how much we have under the cap and what money he would be interested in. If he wants over 500k, see ya later JT good luck somewhere else. If he wants to play ball who knows????

So you serously think thurston will drop his salary from 700k to 250-300(try to fit that backline remember theres fowards to pay)?

Seroiusly and truthly answer it and i stop argueing! i promise.

Truthfully and honestly..........how would I know???? :lol:

Seriously, If we can grab a bloke like Thurston, under the cap with some 3rd party payments, well fmd, why wouldn't we?
I'm certainly not going to write it off yet. That's for sure. He's the games best player. We haven't had a comp winning half since Taylor. Why would we knock back another one, if we can possibly afford him legally?

He can win another 4 origins series, and dominate them, but if he comes here to the eels and wins f*ck all, it would count for nothing.

Me personally, I don't want a origin dominate halfback, I want a halfback, that can bring us a premiership!

Can he do it???? Who knows. Whether or not he does do it though, at the price he'll command, it will be at the expense of 2 or 3 top class first graders.

Are you willing to potentially lose KK, Morts or Mateo, just to sign JT????

I'M NOT.

That's one of the funniest posts I've ever read.

And who is suggesting we run out straight away and sign Thurston up for 700k and off load half our team??? Most of us have said we would be mad not to expore our options, see how much we have under the cap and what money he would be interested in. If he wants over 500k, see ya later JT good luck somewhere else. If he wants to play ball who knows????

That's exactly right. Somehow, some people get a little bit over excited about such things, and come up with all sorts of bullsh*t explanations and excuses.

IFR33K

Truthfully and honestly..........how would I know???? :lol:

Seriously, If we can grab a bloke like Thurston, under the cap with some 3rd party payments, well fmd, why wouldn't we?
I'm certainly not going to write it off yet. That's for sure. He's the games best player. We haven't had a comp winning half since Taylor. Why would we knock back another one, if we can possibly afford him legally?

There no doubt, he can be afforded, but it will be at the expense of our top line players.

Is that so funny.

There no doubt, he can be afforded, but it will be at the expense of our top line players.

Is that so funny.

I'm not laughing at anything, so don't suggest it.

I'm sure our management aren't so stupid to piss off our top line players to buy Thurston.
Have a think about what you type in future, please.

slippery_sucker

We dont want Thurston!!!

Spend the money on four, five or even six players and strenghten the depth of the side... We have four playmakers already in Morts, KK, Mateo and Hayne... Then throw in Mk and, Kinga (hopefully), we have more then enough playmakers... And throw in naturals like Hindy, Tahu, Poore, Fui, Inu, Grothe and Reddy and who needs Thurston not us!!! I just named 13 top class players without naming Cayless, Burt, Lowrie (2009 form), Joey G And Mannah

Go for Depth is my bet!!! In 2010 if we let Cayless and Burt go/ Retire/ UK... Sign Hayne, Mateo, Morts and maybe Inu on long term deals and spread the other million plus over 4 to 6 players, new and resigns!!!

Morts $150k over 3 years??
Mateo $250k over 3 years??
Hayne $400k over 10 years??
Inu $150k over 1 year depending on how he goes next year!!!
Thats $950k leaving $1.2m to sign,

Grothe $150k over 2 years
Kk $150k over 3 years
Fui $150 over 2 years

lol... leaving $750k could buy Thurston!!! But could go out and buy 3 or 4 quality first graders too...

lingard

Exactly.
Those who don't want him, don't seriously want to win a comp.
Maybe we will win one without him. But maybe we won't.
I'd take a shot tbh, if we have the chance.

Winning a comp is great. I know. I witnessed the eighties. But it`s not the be all and end all. I`m really enjoying this team at the moment, and they aren`t anywhere near a premiership. If the premiership was the only thing in the world, Cronulla wouldn`t have a fan base.

Damned straight. Some of my favourite moments were in the early-mid-90s before Smithy took control. Give me a team that bleeds Blue & Gold and I don't care about Premierships.

muznik

Also dont forget if thurston did come he would have the likes of hindy, hayne, mateo, inu and tahu around him imagine how good they could work together. But as i've said whatever DA and ossie do, i support.

And whos to say egos wouldnt get in the way.

For me, its purely a personal opinion. If JT coming here would guarantee a premiership then I guess I'd be for it. It would just be a little bittersweet.

Its not cause he's a QLDer (Id take Prince in a heartbeat), its a combination of what I see & hear on and off the field.

At $700k it should not even be considered.

lingard

Look, i'm a massive JT fan, and would like him at Parramatta, however i think we're onto something good with KK and Mortimer, why change? yes they're young and inexperienced, but the signs are very positive, imo they will only get better with greater go forward next year in our pack, along with the addition of Tahu.

With the money spent on JT, who has iffy shoulders, we could sign a couple of promising backs as well as a couple of promising forwards together with a young halve/hooker.

That`s exactly what I reckon.

lingard

FFS, id rather have the likes of Hayne, inu, tahu, mateo, mortimer, keatings brothers and nathan hindmarsh. they CAN WIN PREMERSHIPS if they get there attitude right. did you not watch the game vs the dogs? if we played like that every round we'd be top 4 right now. thats with the injuries to the havles.

You guys are actually serously starting to worry me. You are bagging out Hayne and Hindmarsh to stick up for a bloke who is rumoured to come here. Hindmarsh isnt asking for 700k, and im sure whatever hindy is on he deserves it. As for hayne, yes he is a bit of a sook, but i wouldnt have any other player. Thurston is just asking too much and thinks he is above everyone else, including the coach. Why did Graham Murray leave the cowboys? cause it was him or thruston.

There is enough talent here as it is to do great. Show some Faith in Mortimer and keating. If you have watched mortimer over the past couple of weeks, you will see that he has the potential to become a real match winner (if he isnt already).

Um...and this is also exactly what I reckon.

slippery_sucker

if we keep,

1. Hayne
2. Inu
3. Tahu
4. Reddy
5. Grothe
6. Morts
7. Thurston
8. Moi Moi
9. KK
10. Poore
11. Hindy
12. Shack
13. Mateo
14. M Keating
15. Lowrie
16. Mannah
17. Smith
18. Kinga
19 Etu
plus some more signings/juniors

If not no!!!!

For all those who say premierships aren't everything, why do players looked gutted...reduced to tears even when they get knocked out.