Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Yak

I'm devo

Let's send this gut busting legend off with two premiership rings.

Peter Cusack - Salary Cap Victim

Author: Sydney Roosters
Thursday, 24 June 2004

Sydney Roosters long serving and popular prop forward Peter Cusack has been given permission to negotiate with other clubs and will leave the Roosters at the end of this season.

After 9 years at the Roosters “Yak” has become one of the club’s most popular players and a victim of salary cap restrictions. He will join South Sydney next season.

This season saw him earn his first senior representative jersey, being selected in the Country Origin side under coach Ricky Stuart.

“It is sad to loose a great club man and friend to the players, coaches, staff, sponsors and supporters.

“Yak is the style of person on and off the field, that every club needs.

“Our loss will be Souths gain because of our salary cap restrictions” concluded Ricky Stuart.

Peter Cusack has played 87 first grade games for the Roosters since arriving at Bondi Junction in 1995 from Galong near Young.

:cry: I'm in shock !!

yep

just read that myself

poor yak and of all places to be heading

you know what I hate most.............they all say we pilage from other clubs but who seems to get all of our players.

Pete deserves that second ring for sure and I have a feeling this is the year to give it to him

Bunny Boy

Its refreshing to see that some players see the light and want to clean themselves of there scummy past.

Come on over Yak, I know Souths is where you really want to be. FACT!

Bubbles

It seemed to be on the cards, but nevertheless is still devastating. Love ya work Yak, you'll be missed - let's send out Freddy and the Yak with another premiership ring!

Criswell

Kurt Sherlock's Mo said:
Another Rooster Junior snapped up by the big spending Mega Club next door, when will it end?

His BIO says he's from Wagga......... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Or is the whole of NSW Roosters Territory now??????

Criswell said:
Kurt Sherlock's Mo said:
Another Rooster Junior snapped up by the big spending Mega Club next door, when will it end?

His BIO says he's from Wagga......... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Or is the whole of NSW Roosters Territory now??????

You must have missed the part that says he's only played for the Roosters.

Peter Cusack

AKA : Yak

Born : Thursday, 27 January 1977

Height : 6ft 4"

Weight : 107

Sponsor :

Place of Birth :
Young

Greatest Moment :
2002 Grand Final

Favourite Activities :
Spending time with my family

FG Games :

Rep Honours :
Country Origin 2004

Clubs :
Sydney Roosters 1998-

Bio :
A no frills front-rower who enjoyed his best season in 2002. Cemented his position in the Roosters’ front row through consistent approach. Joined the Roosters in 1998 but like any prop worth his salt, appears to be improving with age. After a season that was marred by injury, Cusack will be back, fitter and stronger in 2004

supermario

How can a man that was just a reserver grader, turn into a premiership winning forward go to souths ??????

Next year is the beggingin of the end for the man i once knew as the yak !

Thank you very much NRL

The roosters have had this player for 9 years !!!!! 9 FREAKIN YEARS !!! and now he has to leave due to "salary cap resctrictions"

Yet the NRL will bend over backwards to keep people like johns from going to union, they won't help keep players that have been at 1 club for just under 10 years !

People like peter cusack are rare !!!!!! 9 years at one club the only person to surpass that is ricko !!!!!!!

This is utterly ridiculos and a shame on the NRL !!!!!!

The roosters have made him the player that he is, a no frills, hard working, club man !

9 FREAKIN YEARS OF SERVICE !!!!!!!!!!!!!

F*@K YOU NRL !!!!!!!!!!

Raiders Rock

Penelope Pittstop said:
I'm devo

Let's send this gut busting legend off with two premiership rings.

Peter Cusack - Salary Cap Victim

Author: Sydney Roosters
Thursday, 24 June 2004

Sydney Roosters long serving and popular prop forward Peter Cusack has been given permission to negotiate with other clubs and will leave the Roosters at the end of this season.

After 9 years at the Roosters “Yak” has become one of the club’s most popular players and a victim of salary cap restrictions. He will join South Sydney next season.

This season saw him earn his first senior representative jersey, being selected in the Country Origin side under coach Ricky Stuart.

“It is sad to loose a great club man and friend to the players, coaches, staff, sponsors and supporters.

“Yak is the style of person on and off the field, that every club needs.

“Our loss will be Souths gain because of our salary cap restrictions” concluded Ricky Stuart.

Peter Cusack has played 87 first grade games for the Roosters since arriving at Bondi Junction in 1995 from Galong near Young.

:cry: I'm in shock !!

I have to agree that Yak is a great player but you guys really deserve an oscar for bleeting out the ole' "Salary Cap Victim" line. It's because of the salary cap that we are seeing the closest competition in years. The salary cap applies to ALL NRL CLUBS!! And as much as your team want's to rort it, and try to abolish it, the salary cap is here to stay.

Perhaps if the Rortsters didn't throw bucketloads of cash at useless players such as Hodges, Walker & Finch then they'd have money to retain great clubmen such as Cusack.

You can't honestly tell me that with Freddy retiring, there's no money left to keep Yak. You'll find that the club are using the salary cap as an excuse and don't want him anymore. It happens all the time but they're too spineless to admit it!!

The end is neigh for you guys trying to buy another premiership!!

Fair dinkum, losing to the Penrith in the final, just love ya work Rortsters, I guess they're not invincible :lol:

From memory, the Raiders won the last grand final they were in... By the way, is "Rooster C0CK-BURN" still around?? He's been living over in the Raiders threads for a while but nobody would talk to him so he hasn't been around for a while.

RoostarGirl

Yeah I heard that he was leaving didn't quite believe it....thats a shame for the Club....I agree with you Muz.

As for buying premierships

you would think that a drongo like yourslef would have firgured out by now that if we "brought" premierships we would not have lost one for at least the last 25 years.

Get over yourself

if I remember correctly the raiders polled a few premierships in parliment until the lost the man that Rugby League did nothing for

well well well

I have just read an interesting piece in the Big League about the fact that Raiders are trying to pay "above the odds" for a player from another NRL club yet cant afford to keep their heart and soul players.

who would have thought that the raiders would try their way to a premiership.

oh well they may as well give it up, all the money in the treasury wont help the "green machine"

chooky

Bunny Boy said:
Its refreshing to see that some players see the light and want to clean themselves of there scummy past.

Come on over Yak, I know Souths is where you really want to be. FACT!

:lol: :lol: ummm yeahhh ok.