Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"Tim Sheens gives young players a go"

The Gambler

Agreed. Sheens hasn't let anyone go who was gone onto bigger and better things.

Well I don't quite agree with that statement either. He has made a few errors in judgement - I just think he has made plenty of decent calls as well.

Who has he let go that has been shown in hindsight to be the wrong decision. The worst one in my opinion was Bronson Harrison.

Bronson would sort of suit our team because he is a damaging runner of the footy but it isn't a terrible decision.

The Gambler

Who has he let go that has been shown in hindsight to be the wrong decision. The worst one in my opinion was Bronson Harrison.

Bronson would sort of suit our team because he is a damaging runner of the footy but it isn't a terrible decision.

Fifita has looked pretty good so far this year.

I reckon Fifita is okay from what I have seen of him and he would be great as a bench prop for us but compared to Woods and Galloway it isn't close. Gibbs is good as well.

Teo again would fit into our squad because he is different to our backrowers however I can't stand him.

His last 15 yrs in nrl are 5 yrs failed with cowboys and 3/10 yrs taking the tigers to the finals...nothing to brag about realy

Pistol_Pete

Andrew Everingham has certainly done SFA
Couldn't get a game or even a hello ahead of Fitzspastic a couple of seasons back
Bet he regrets not furthering his career under supercoach

hybrid_tiger

Sheens' biggest mistake is surely letting Gibbs go.

Aside from that, I'll admit that not many other players that left were huge losses, though as Pistol Pete says, Everingham certainly should have played first grade ahead of Fitzhenry when he was here. And there are probably another few examples that I can't think of right now.

Fifita was thrown huge money by the Sharks and I don't blame Sheens/the club for not matching that.
Te'o was a heartless dog and I'm glad he was turfed.
Bronson Harrison was inconsistent as hell and only really had one good year at Canberra. One of those players that looked promising but never took the next step.

Teo's killing it now
Couldnt be f**ked during his time here
Says it all really

How many do we have that could be ''killing it'' with the right personnel behind them, that currently couldnt be f**ked?

Pistol_Pete

Bronson could have been a good second rower with us ... if he wasn't playing prop with Danny Galea and Corey f**king Payne as Parra racked up a thousand

boonboon

Yep and miller made 3 errors and missed 5 tackles . If he controls the game like that in 20s imagine how bad he will be in firsts

Miller has been pretty poor in most of the games I've seen, particularly regarding control and direction. The more I see him the more I don't want to see him in firsts.

I'd try and poach Hodgkinson from Dogs on the cheap.

Is this the second biggest myth in rugby league after "Tim Sheens is a good coach"

Sheens distrusts youth and would rather sign or re-sign a knackered clown than promote youth. In the last few seasons he has either re-signed or brought out of retirement (or saved impending retirement), super league, park football, Timbrell Park touch the following:
- Jason Moodie
- Daniel Fitz f**king Henry
- Matt Utai
- John Skandalis (15 times)
- Ray Cashmere
- Braith Analsta
- Rumours of a knackered Brent Kite abound
- Wade McKinnon

The only rival in the recruiting old spastics (Utai exempt at least he has a go) was Kearney who did the Maguire, Webb, Whatuira, Walker, Maitua thing in the space of 1 month.

Has the prick gone to Easts yet ?

In the last 12 months he has given the following TEENAGERS a go:
Groat, Miller, Korobiete, Sironen, Simona, Tedesco.
Plus Woods only just turned 20.

Not many clubs would have brought that many teenagers into the top grade in such a short space.

Next year that is going to translate into Woods, Groat, Tedesco, Sironen and Korobiete all being in the top 17 on a weekly basis.

How many more teenagers do you want in the top grade?
There has to be a balance with expeience.

Miller has been pretty poor in most of the games I've seen, particularly regarding control and direction.
Thanks Shanghai, I don't get to see the Tigers now that I have moved out of Sydney. I'll take the feedback.

Yep and miller made 3 errors and missed 5 tackles
and the last 2 guys who played half in 1st grade made how many errors and missed how many tackles?

super_coach

In the last 12 months he has given the following TEENAGERS a go:
Groat, Miller, Korobiete, Sironen, Simona, Tedesco.
Plus Woods only just turned 20.

Not many clubs would have brought that many teenagers into the top grade in such a short space.

Next year that is going to translate into Woods, Groat, Tedesco, Sironen and Korobiete all being in the top 17 on a weekly basis.

How many more teenagers do you want in the top grade?
There has to be a balance with expeience.

Mate he will only pick them if their isnt a 35year old option available.Shines has already said he wants to resign Lote and it isnt to play reserves

I think that this thread is way off base.

Sheens does give young players a decent go. Miller is a classic example. Despite all the crying about him not getting a fair go he has had plenty of chances.

Sheens at the same time does hold onto some players too long however young players definitely get given a go.