Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Time to re-acommodate the commentators

The Newcastle radio commentary this year (the ABC one I think) has had David Fairleigh as the 'expert' commentator, and he is (expert that is). Daisy gives insights all game, and not just on the Knights, but on other teams as well. His discriptions of Steve Simpson as the 'Alpha-dog' tackler in the Knights pack really helps you to see why the opposition attack starts to look for somewhere else to throw the ball when Simmo looms up. You really get a feel of how the guys on the field are thinking.

Lazzo has an unsettling ability to change his mind in mid-sentence... several times.
As for his playing days,I agree with Moffo... the bloke was overrated. He played with good sides and was lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time. In 1999, he played some the worst football I've ever seen from a front rower.. especially in the grand final, which btw, he never won.
'Unquestioned status' as the best prop in for 20 years... well its being questioned... and not for the first time.

I forgot about Darryl Eastlake.
He reportedly gave RL fans on Melbourne TV the results of a State of Origin (2001) match at around midnight. It was just before the studio was set to cross to the kickoff of this mega-delayed telecast.
This was after amovie and after some motor racing event had finished. Darryl was hosting a post-race discussion when he blurted out the scores.
The revealing of the full time score wasobviously designed to piss off the last of the hard core Melb viewers who had toughed it out to watch a game of Rugby League 'live'.

was today not enough proof of the dickheaded nature of the channel wanker commentary team??

Gould going off like a pork chop for 80mins about how crap NZ were and how they would get drilled. Standing eight count?? u fool. And to think the sharks coach chris anderson hates you....toolbox

Sterlo, wanking on about the fitness of the warriors. Another stupid comment. Same with Rabs. They were all bagging them out.

Highly annoying, Kerry mate, time to give them the flick!

Moffo

Gould is biased. Ray Warren knows very little about the game and is too busy praising the never. Sterlo is the only one who is tolerable, but his nagging can getto to me. There's probably not enough of Voss to judge him.
Sweep them all and bring in some bloke who actually works hard to be a commentator.

imported_Kaon

Andrew Voss is so <span>under-utilised </span>it's almost criminal.

Can you imagine Gould and Vautin in the box for the Grand Final.:(

turn the sound down and listen to Roy and HG, the grandfinal is one of the few games we get a chance to flick the switch on the9 boys, although I often watch with no sound at all.

MistyBee9-11

Having grown up with Rex Moffat, I am immune to bais commentators. Hence I don't pick it up when Gus does it.

I AM sick of hearing Channel 9 crap on about certain members of the Broncos, and would LOVE a little bias from Sterlo TOWARD Parra when they are playing Brisbane!

I love Gus, beause, as a coach of high standing, his insights to me, the viewer, on tactics, what players may be feeling etc, are like gold. Far better than the crap rantings of Vautin, and the over excitement of Warren. Voss is far better.

But maybe we are too harsh on our commentators. The old Warren Boland/Arthur Beetson/John Peard commentary was great. So was the Channel 10 one. I can still recall Greame Hughes calling the 1990 2nd Ashes test

As for poor commentators, anyone hear Mike Stevenson and Eddie Hemmings calling the UK league? Watching the first war of the roses, and Stevo's pro Yorkshire bias was getting to the point where the Union bred hemmings said so, and the two verballed for about 2 minutes! Appalling professionalism, but good listening.

And old Rex was great too. Very Manly biased, but a great stalwhart for which Rugby League owes a great deal. He was a pioneer.

I don't mind bias. I find it interesting - mostly the biased person gets themselves tied up in knots (read Vautin and Mossop - the latters call of the 1982 grand final was wonderful!). Where I jhate it is here the bias gets to the point of pathetic 'pawning' over a player - where Ray Warren tends to live, and at times Sterlo. I much prefer the mantally unstimulating Waly Lewis calling Broncos games over Sterlo and Warren. At least someone like Lewis can admit and recognise their bias, and try and work against it. To be fair, I think he does try.

Docker: What about the crowd noise with a choice of commentary teams from the various networks and radio brodcasters? Choose one or none at all.
The technology is there... easily.
I'd pay extra for it.

S

SpaceMonkey

Too right about Rabs and Sterlo bagging out the Warriors on Sunday, I'm glad I didn't actually watch the TV coverage until yesterday when I already knew the result. I agree with Legend that Graeme Hughes is a pretty decent commentator, he did a good job when he used to call the Warriors games in NZ. He was a bit biased at times but I think that was down to who was paying his salary.

imported_bronco

I'm just watching the replay of NRL primetime. Didn't pay much attention to it last night as I was in the chatroom. Anyway to the point I just heard that Costigan and Halligan are going to be doing the call for the Grand Final. Bloody hell I'm fuming that these two bumbling idiots are going to spoil the occaison. Give me the bias and stale nine commentary over these guys anyday.

st ted

Back in the old Amco Cup days when Ray Warren first surfaced,he was by far and away the best caller of all.
Absolutely left the rest for dead.He still does when he sticks to calling the game and calling the game only,but he now thinks that the listeners want to hear his opinion.
If only he would call the game,shit he is good.Fast and accurate and has developed a feel for it.He used to call the horse races(and was good at it) and he bought the quick recognition that those folk have to the footy call.
Some one please tell him to just call the game and not mention his opinions.

L

legend

I know this is going to sound absurd but the best commentator pound for pound is Ray Hadley. He is much faster than anyone elseand I find his description of the play very isnightful and easy to follow. If only he would leave his bias out of it he would be an excellent asset to the game. Blocker is a complete numbskull with NFI.

MistyBee9-11

I have heard Hadley call commonwealth games athletics, and , witout the NRL bias and the stupid tomfoolery that he carries on with, he is excellent.

And ST Ted is right re is summation of Ray Warren.

So, does that mean our ommentators, being involved in the game, have developed inherant biases? Or oes it mean that we are all sensetive to subt;le nuances in a call (Gould saying the Wariers had a standing 8 cound meant they were about to crack under the enormous pressure the Sharks were putting on them at the time, and NOT that he was hoping they wld get flogged, or that he hated New Zealanders etc). Or is it the old 'familiarity breeds contempt'? In almost 30 years of ontinuous League broadcasting, the commercial channels have used, what, 4 commentators (Mossop, Hughes, Waren and Voss)?