Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Carney promises to get off booze in 2009 if Canberra let him play

Brimmer

Todd Carney promises to get off booze in 2009 if Canberra let him play

February 15, 2009 EXILED star Todd Carney has promised to give up alcohol for the entire season if Canberra will let him play in the NRL.
In a dilapidated gym at the home ground of the Goulburn Workers Bulldogs, Carney outlined his last-ditch bid to save his season.
The half-back admits he has made some mistakes and hasn't given up the drink - yet. But he's prepared to go on the wagon for the duration of the 2009 season if it means getting a game in the NRL.
Giving up alcohol was one of the conditions Canberra placed on Carney to save his career after he urinated on a pub patron in July. He refused.
Canberra, who sacked him for repeated off-field misdemeanours, hold all the cards. If the Raiders relax their stance, the NRL is expected to register a new contract.
But Carney's move is expected to be torpedoed by Raiders chairman John McIntyre and the Canberra board.
"I'm prepared to do anything to try to get back into the NRL. If it means not having a beer for the whole season, I'll do it," Carney said.
"I'd love an opportunity to start afresh and prove to everyone I'm not just a hooligan and I can play football.
"When the Raiders gave us the six-point plan, at no stage did I disagree with it. We just wanted clarification on a couple of things.
"But when we went back to them the board had already made a decision - and I can understand that. If it means I can have a fresh start, then I'm prepared to do anything. I'm prepared to do whatever it takes for an opportunity."
At least six NRL clubs - Wests Tigers, the Bulldogs, St George Illawarra, Manly, the Roosters and Penrith - remain interested in signing Carney for the next season.
French rugby union club Bayonne, where Craig Gower plays, expressed some interest for this year but there has been no further progress.
"Obviously I've never played rugby, but right now I'm looking at every opportunity and if there's something in France, great," Carney said.
"I can understand why Canberra are really bitter. They brought me from the age of 12 to where I am now and I thank them enormously.
"I know I've made some mistakes but I've missed eight months of football since round 16 last year when I was stood down. I missed the semi-finals, I've missed a full off-season and I've been knocked back from going to England.
"I'm intending to try to have a chat to the Raiders and ask if we might be able to work something out.
"Even if it's just a chat to see what it is and why. If there's something I can do to change their minds, then I'll do it.
"I would just ask him (McIntyre) why they won't let me play. Hopefully they can understand where I'm coming from. I know I hurt the club, and I put my hand up for that, but sometimes enough is enough."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,25054859-23214,00.html

Timbo

What a little tool.

If he'd agreed to do that in the first place he'd still have his big fat contract with us. But no, he had to whinge and moan like a little bitch and now he's paying for it.

Sit down and shut the f**k up Todd. You made your bed now go and lie in it. I think Maccas in Goulburn are hiring if you're looking for something to do this year.

Macko8

F**k off todd.
you squirmy prick.

As the boys proved last year,they DO NOT need you.
Without Todd Carney,we have a better chance of winning a premiership

Chachi

Boo f**king hoo.

Sure, stay off the piss for some other club...no worries...funny how things work out when you don't get everything your way huh.

Chachi

"Even if it's just a chat to see what it is and why. If there's something I can do to change their minds, then I'll do it.
"I would just ask him (McIntyre) why they won't let me play.
Dumber than a box of hammers, our Todd.

not too bright is he...it amazes me how these serial f**kup players like Carney, Bird, and Maitua don't understand why they're banned

Brimmer

Does anybody think he could actually keep that promise? Personally I think the kid would struggle...

Chachi

Thats the thing, what happens if he breaks the promise? We've released him to somebody else so there is probably nothing we could do in that situation.

What a little tool.

If he'd agreed to do that in the first place he'd still have his big fat contract with us. But no, he had to whinge and moan like a little bitch and now he's paying for it.

Sit down and shut the f**k up Todd. You made your bed now go and lie in it. I think Maccas in Goulburn are hiring if you're looking for something to do this year.

I can't add anything new as it'd be the exact same to what you've written. Jeez, Reni should feel lucky he's got a contract.

If this went through and he was caught he'd probably say something like 'someone made me drink!!'

Bay56

Geez you guys ... give the guy a break huh ... a certain tragedy in his life may have played a big part in what went on in his life.

Urinating publically links to that?
Refusing to give up alcohol to save his career?
He's had so many chances mate.
If he can prove a good year this year with no drink, good on him, seriously.

Evergreen

Bay56 said:

C'mon Bay - very wide bow there mate. All he had to do was agree to get off the grog. Regardless of what transpired beforehand, it all came down to saying yes or no.

Chachi

You know what Bay, the ONLY thing so far that has had any impact on the guy wanting to get of the piss is the reality that he can't play footy next year.

Right now this can go one of two ways, either he will learn a hard reality in life - the bit about there being consequences for poor behaviour, or he can spit the dummy and go further downhill. Maybe the message will finally sink in.

This latest pathetic pleading tells me one thing...Carney had a big problem with the Raiders stipulation that he give up the drink (for his own good mind you). Unlike every other player who has been sacked he was given a 'take it or leave it' plan to keep his contract which he tried to bluff his way out of - he failed. Then he tried to run away to the ESL - he failed again. Finally his last option in the whole world is to beg for a chance if he promises gives up the drink. If that doesn't tell you the guy has a problem with alcohol then nothing will. I'd bet every dollar I've earned that he has continued drinking over the past 6 months even though that is the cause of him losing his livelihood and a $1.4 million contract.

Bad luck Todd. Prove to everyone you can act like an adult first and maybe you will start to be treated like one.

Who cares anyway - he didn't want to play for the Raiders so why do you care so much about him?

skeepe

I understand that he went through a rough patch at home, but just how much latitude do you allow someone when they're going through a tough time? I would be behind bars regardless of the circumstances if I had done the things that he is alleged to have done, and I certainly would have agreed to anything my employer wanted if it meant I could keep a job that I love.

I can see where the Raiders are coming from - they genuinely want to make sure the kid gets the help that he needs. Until he does, I can't see their stance changing and good on them. They're putting his welfare first, something that his manager is yet to do.

Chachi

(For the Love of NEW ) south wales...We have pearce FFS ,I WANT TODD.
I'm a Canberra boy Matt...don't really care who wins the Origin as long as the Raiders lads don't get injured and it's a good series.

Don't worry, Campo at 5/8 will cover for the pathetic options NSW have at 7. They'll probably end up with Barrett or something. :crazy: