Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Carney to stay with Cronulla Sharks

Dean Ritchie
The Daily Telegraph
April 25, 2013 12:00AM

So he's signing at midnight on the 27th?

millersnose

Geeze there is a lot of faith in Carney and his attacking skill

To be realistic though he is no Darren Lockyer and can be very cold at times

yeah, but he's the best we have and has great potential still.

would you rather we lost him?

i reckon with better coaching and structure he could be great.

chewsta

Why dont we just shut up? Why do we behave this way. Maybe we should just put up a sign 'kick me here'. But really I'm serious , its a flaw that runs through our 'public relations' output. How we handle the media and it started with Super leauge when all the SL teams had to to have an overload of self publicity. We need to harden up when it comes to media .

Yup, i said pretty much the same thing in another thread mate. Its a footy club yet sometimes it seems more like f**ken home and away.
The media keeps driving us into the ground but we always go back for more punshment and give them more shit to run with. Without fail.

Weaponhead

Agree. The desperation is a reflection of a. we have very limited creativity in our side and haven't had any for years and b. there are very few creative players in the game anymore.

millersnose

yeah, but he's the best we have and has great potential still.

would you rather we lost him?

i reckon with better coaching and structure he could be great.

Fair point but I am just wary of false dawns and dread the inevitable buacketing this talented player will cop for the crime of not delivering a premiership

newman

Fair point but I am just wary of false dawns and dread the inevitable buacketing this talented player will cop for the crime of not delivering a premiership

I am usually in agreement with your sensible and measured approach but this just reads like you don't want him because he's not as good as Locky. He's nowhere near that but he's so much better than anyone on our roster it's not funny.

Been lovin' the fishing off the rocks here in Coolum the last few weeks. Using fresh mullet and whiting. Plenty of flathead out the back in Stumers creek as well. Runs past my backyard and into the ocean.

I hate living here. :p

millersnose

I am usually in agreement with your sensible and measured approach but this just reads like you don't want him because he's not as good as Locky. He's nowhere near that but he's so much better than anyone on our roster it's not funny.

Then I genuinely came across incorrectly

He is a talented player and yes he is important to sign

The locky comparison was theatrical

My comment had more to do with overblown expectation than Carneys ability

Having said that I rather doubt he will make the state side this year

The South's guy and the manly guy are more consistant

Card Shark

I rather doubt he will make the state side this year

The South's guy and the manly guy are more consistant

Herein lies why nsw lose every year. Too much chopping & changing.

He earnt his spot & didn't play great but he will be better for the run. To replace him is yet another backward step.

millersnose

Hmm

I theorise that NSW lost the last half dozen series is because Queensland has better payers

I don't know how you can conclude he 'earned his spot' I thought he was awful

Card Shark

Hmm

I theorise that NSW lost the last half dozen series is because Queensland has better payers

I don't know how you can conclude he 'earned his spot' I thought he was awful

Every year we change out halves. Until we can a few years of continuity in important positions (6,7 &9), we will give Queensland's better players additional advantage.

They must laugh at how many players we go through.

he will make SOO

Loz has already said that he wont pick A Reynolds cos hes too young and they dont want to cruel him.

so its down to

Dogs Reynolds, Maloney, Pearce, Carney, Mullen.

dunno who you are referring to at Manly. Foran is a Kiwi and DCE is QLD.

The QLD team is better anyway at every important position.

millersnose

My mistake thought Evans was NSW

Well I hope you are right because that would mean he is in form and he is very good when he is in form