Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Toddy 'fesses up

ozbash

Former rugby league star Brent Todd today admitted four fraud charges, three days before he was due to face a depositions hearing.

Todd, who played 28 tests for the Kiwis between 1985 and 1993, admitted the charges when he appeared in Auckland District Court today.
Todd, along with several other high profile sportsmen, was due to appear in court on Monday for a four-week depositions hearing.
He would now not have to appear on Monday but would be sentenced next month, the Serious Fraud Office said.
Another accused, Stanley Malik Champalal Wijeyaratne, also pleaded guilty to four charges and would appear with Todd for sentencing next month, SFO assistant director Gus Andree Wiltens said.
A deposition hearing for former All Black Doug Rollerson, former Kiwi Hugh McGahan, Touch New Zealand former chief executive, Dick Arnott, and former employee, Geoffrey Alan Thompson, is expected to still go ahead on Monday.
The charges relate to hundreds of thousands of dollars of gaming machine money intended for amateur rugby.
Late last year Todd said he would fight the charges after flying back from his Queensland home to appear in court.
Outside the court he vehemently denied the charges.
"In any business dealing I have had over the last five years I have always been advised and it has always been approved by a board," he told reporters.
"If I have done the wrong thing in the last five years I will front up and cop it on the chin – and my chin's big enough to cop it – but until I have been proved to have done something wrong I will fight the charges," he said. Todd was declared bankrupt in February last year and in September last year admitted procuring cocaine and was fined $500.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/4259392a10.html

Good on him for fronting up, this is going to be an interesting story...

Skinner

Jeez, when I saw the subject, I thought Skinny Byrne had been up to mischief :crazy:

Plea bargained, don't you hate that. It never used to happen here but it has crept in.
Mind you, it's probably saved us all a bunch of money. Not sure how much a four day
deposition hearing, followed by a (probable) trial costs but it wouldn't be insignificant.

Toddy.....you're a ratbag son. Queensland deserves you.

mean

Pokies! Some clubs can survive without them and some clubs can't. Unfortunately, the survival or requirement by some clubs to rely on pokie funding has a social impact on alot of families associated with those clubs.

Even our beloved NZRL and ARL have been tainted by shady pokie scams. I always believed that pokie directors are never independant and there's always backhanders and inappropriate activity associated with distribution.

As for Toddy, we all know where the money went. On his mid life crisis, up his nose, down his throat, in his pants, on his clothes, on the crack whores, in his ego....

Rich102

mean said:
Pokies! Some clubs can survive without them and some clubs can't. Unfortunately, the survival or requirement by some clubs to rely on pokie funding has a social impact on alot of families associated with those clubs.

Even our beloved NZRL and ARL have been tainted by shady pokie scams. I always believed that pokie directors are never independant and there's always backhanders and inappropriate activity associated with distribution.

As for Toddy, we all know where the money went. On his mid life crisis, up his nose, down his throat, in his pants, on his clothes, on the crack whores, in his ego....

That's OK. Just so long as he didn't waste it!

ozbash

Former All Black Doug Rollerson and ex-Kiwi league captain Hugh McGahan were involved in a complex web of gaming machine grants, false invoices and doctored accounts, an Auckland Court has been told.

Rollerston and McGahan are accused of defrauding thousands of dollars of gaming machine money intended for amateur rugby. They are jointly charged with five others, including former league star and television personality Brent Todd.

In a surprise move, Todd and his business partner Stanley Malik Champalal Wijeyaratne pleaded guilty to four fraud charges last Friday. They will be sentenced next month.

A depositions hearing is underway in the Auckland District Court to decide if Rollerston, McGahan and the others will stand trial. The other accused are Touch New Zealand former chief executive Dick Arnott, former employee Geoffrey Alan Thompson and one other whose name and business are suppressed.

Serious Fraud Office investigator Clive Hudson today presented a series of flow charts mapping the trail of payments and invoices between bars owned by Todd and Wijeyaratne, McGahan's management company Lateral Vision, North Harbour Rugby, Touch New Zealand and others.

Mr Hudson said 19 versions of a spreadsheet detailing the grants were found on McGahan's laptop computer.

Rollerston's lawyer, John Haigh, QC, asked Mr Hudson if he was aware of the prevalent practice among some sporting organisations of paying kickbacks to hotels they received gaming machine proceeds from.

Mr Hudson said he was aware of the practice but said the charges against the accused related more to false invoicing.

The Serious Fraud Office said it had 83 witnesses but intended calling no more than eight to give evidence at the hearing.

The hearing, which is expected to last four weeks, is continuing.

www.stuff

Lossy

ozbash said:
Rollerston and McGahan are accused of defrauding thousands of dollars of gaming machine money intended for amateur rugby.

Defrauding rugby? Oh. Well that's alright then.

mean

Polar Bob said:

I'm glad Rolleston isn't referred to as ex league player as well.

But the most ironic thing is that they all represented North Harbour Rugby somehow and yet north harbour rugby still manages to recieve grants to this day. What a joke that is.

shiznit

Polar Bob said:
what a wanker....

yeah its ok that these clowns ripped off money that could have been put aside for young kids.... some families really struggle to pay there kids subs so they can play sport. that money can really help out...

but ohwell.... keep that chip on your shoulder....

ozbash

Former All Black Doug Rollerson and ex-Kiwis league captain Hugh McGahan were today committed for trial for fraud.

The pair and three others including Touch New Zealand former chief executive Dick Arnott, former Touch NZ employee Geoffrey Alan Thompson and a woman who has name suppression conceded in Auckland District Court morning that they had a prima facie case to answer.

They are accused of using false invoices to defraud sports organisations out of charity money.

Last week former Kiwis player Brent Todd and Stanley Malik Champalal Wijeyaratne admitted similar charges.

They will be sentenced next month.

The hearing had been set down for four weeks, but Serious Fraud Office lawyer David Jones, QC, said the list of 83 witnesses had been whittled down to no more than eight after Todd and Wijeyaratne's guilty pleas.

The SFO presented just one witness on Monday, forensic accountant Clive Hudson, who described a "merry-go-round" of gaming machine grants and false invoices for services never rendered, which he claimed were designed to financially benefit the accused.

They included payments to a travel account, which on one occasion was used by Arnott to attend a former Touch New Zealand employee's wedding in Rarotonga. In another case, a team trip to Great Britain was allegedly invoiced for a higher amount than the actual cost.

Nineteen versions of a spreadsheet detailing the alleged fraud were found on McGahan's laptop computer, he said.

Rollerson is accused of doctoring the books while he was the North Harbour Rugby Union chief executive.

His lawyer, John Haigh, QC, said the SFO did not have any evidence his client had taken or received any funds.

"That's because he didn't receive a brass razoo," he said.

www.stuff

JJ

Funny that McGahan in spite of all this is still 'writing' columns and giving his opinion on radio sport

f**k all the merkins - at least Todd has saved the tax payer some money

Lossy

shiznit said:
what a wanker....

yeah its ok that these clowns ripped off money that could have been put aside for young kids.... some families really struggle to pay there kids subs so they can play sport. that money can really help out...

but ohwell.... keep that chip on your shoulder....

Hi Shiznit.

Long-time listener, first-time caller. I thought it was blatant enough that it didn't need an emoticon. :sarcasm: There you go.

And before I forget: f*ck you. F*ck you and anyone who looks like you.

ozbash

Former rugby league star Brent Todd is to testify against his co-accused in a gaming machine-fraud trial next year.

Todd and his business partner, Stanely Malik Champalal Wijeyaratne, admitted four charges of fraudulently obtaining a total of $2 million in gaming machine money when they appeared in Auckland District Court last month, just days before the case was to go to a depositions hearing.

Former All Black Doug Rollerson, Kiwis captain Hugh McGahan, Touch New Zealand former chief executive Dick Arnott and former employee Geoffrey Alan Thomson, and an Auckland businesswoman who has name suppression are to stand trial on similar charges next year.

Todd was sentenced yesterday to 12 months home detention and 190 hours community service.

In sentencing Todd, Judge Everret started with a five year prison term but cut it by one-third in recognition of his earlier guilty plea, 12 months for agreeing to testify against his co-accused and six months for having repaid about $300,000 of his $1 million share of the illegally gained proceeds.

"You have not paid as much as Mr Wijeyarante has to date. That is because you can't, you are not able to pay.

"You have been made bankrupt, you have lost your assets and you're now working in employment and there is no prospect of any further reparation," he said.

"I could have given a greater reduction had there been greater reparation paid."

He then granted him home detention for the maximum period of one year.

"It is not an easy sentence because I am going to impose a condition that it be monitored by me. Not that I don't trust you Mr Todd, but...I want to see how it is going and how you are coping."

Todd was also sentenced to 190 hours community service but would be allowed to continue working at his two jobs, understood to be Matthew Ridge's Auckland carwash business, Car-Fe, and as a bouncer at a nightclub.

Wijeyaran, who had repaid almost all of his share of the $2 million, was fined $50,000.

On his way into the courthouse, Mr Todd said he was nervous about the outcome of the hearing.

"All I want to say is I deeply regret what's happened and...I'm here to face it, whatever happens," he said.

Television personalities Matthew Ridge and April Iremia were at the courthouse to support Todd.

"You've got to support your friends," Iremia said.

dubdubdub.stuff.nz

Skinner

Soft, too f**ken soft.

Toddy, you are an absolute arsehole mate.

Were you on fire, I would certainly not provide any moisture whatsoever to douse
the flames.

And now you are going to dob on your mates.........prick.

*EDIT* Skinner

Sorry folks....this lowlife ain't worth a pinch of sh*t.

da mad maori

Skinner said:
Soft, too f**ken soft.

*EDIT* Skinner

Sorry folks....this lowlife ain't worth a pinch of sh*t.

tch tch, sorry too Skinner and know where you're coming from. But that is not neccessary.
Private lives have nothing to do with what this is about.
Otherwise yep, agree with that other stuff you mention.

mean

April 'mediawhore' Iremia fronts the next Woman's Day, "How I Once Nearly Died Going Up The Escalator To Courtroom 4", next week - "Why I Named My Son's Middle Name Brent."