Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Top Juniors

dragon4

I'm interested to know who the next 5 best juniors coming through at the Dragons are:-

I know of Blake Lawrie, Reuben Garrick, Tom Carr, Jack Cross?

Please add your top 5 picks below.

BennyV

Dufty is a spine player. I get the point though. Would like to see a young 9 come through

Referring more to halves and hookers. The young 5/8 who played a few games of 20s this year seemed ok (blonde kid, looked similar to Hutch) but seem to have zero else, especially at 9.

I would like to see Glymin/Dufty then Carr in that order blooded as wingers in the event that Flo or our left winger is injured.

Farrell needs to be off loaded in the event that he cannot shake his back injury. He is too slow and appears to lack agility, so as a winger he is not the best option for the position.

GC Dragon

For me ..Thompson , Garrick , Dufty , Host ,Carr .....All have the goods to play first grade soon enough . All between 17 and 20 years old . But would like to see Glymin given a crack at a wing spot next season .

Isaac Thompson has the size, but was injured quite a bit this season.

Would like to see him play for Cutters and NYC next season to test himself against more mature opposition.

Garrick is very young and is a few years off first grade.

GC Dragon

I agree Saints . Garrick will play NYC . Thompson will be training with the first grade team and would have to prove himself in the Cutters i would imagine .

hardbaby

Do you guys rate Dufty? Can he overcome his size? Can he be Slateresque? Is he tough enough? How high is his involvement? I've seem him play and I can see the attraction. But is he good enough?

GC Dragon

I really rate Dufty the times i have seen him play . For me he is a genuine fullback . He has what we lack at the moment real speed and he is also a ball playing fullback . He can pass the ball well and set up his centres and wingers .Although he does lack size ...But wasn't Slater going to be a jockey when he a teenager ? . I think Dufty and Carr will naturally build up in time .

TheRev

I'm a Dufty lover, but imo his career is in the balance, he has to have a breakout year in 2016, and with his lack of height, he has to be a deadset superstar to make it into 1st grade.. im starting to have my doubts to be honest.

Carr has me interested, guy just keeps scoring points despite looking like an ungainly teenager.

I dont see anything in the halves I love, Crook/Hutch the only ones with potential but that should be enough if we can retain them.. should both be playing NSW Cup...

BennyV

Carr has that Nightingale look about him when he plays - looks completely out of place in a footy team but hust keeps trucking like a champ. If he can fill out a tad, he will be good.

Dufty is a tough one, purely because he simply cant be blooded on the wing, he will get monstered. Will need heaps of time in NSW Cup getting used to playing against big boys, so will need patience and work ethic. But could end up in firsts easily.

nrlnrl

Carr has that Nightingale look about him when he plays - looks completely out of place in a footy team but hust keeps trucking like a champ. If he can fill out a tad, he will be good.

Dufty is a tough one, purely because he simply cant be blooded on the wing, he will get monstered. Will need heaps of time in NSW Cup getting used to playing against big boys, so will need patience and work ethic. But could end up in firsts easily.

Agree with the Nightingale comparison.

As for the Under 20's players, hard to tell. I remember Daly Cherry-Evans wasn't anything special at that level. ( just one player, I know there have been others) I only remember him because of his name. As we all know, an example of star at the level & not up to the NRL is Beau Henry, so hopefully there are a few sleepers at the Dragons as well as NYC standouts like Dufty who succeed in the NRL.

Suspect from the Mann interview that he thinks he is coming to play centre at Saints.

Aitken will give him a run for his money with a full off season. No certainty Mann will play centre, particularly if Hurrell decides to come to Saints.

Hurrell isn't going anywhere for now. He will play reserves until he gets the shits or the club turfs him and I can see him off to rugby.

TheRev

Suspect from the Mann interview that he thinks he is coming to play centre at Saints.

Aitken will give him a run for his money with a full off season. No certainty Mann will play centre, particularly if Hurrell decides to come to Saints.
Mann was fullback I thought coming through, but was he left or right centre for the Storm? Or both at times? There is probably room for him and Aitken if PM goes to Wing, but end of the day 1 may push back to NSW Cup (I dont overly care who, theyre all decent), its a long season and the form players will get their chance.

Wittenberg

It's a tough balancing act isn't it?? On the one hand we have threads dealing with the lack of backs signed for 2016, and on the other hand we look at our top five prospects and the majority are backs. If one of these prospects is ready for first grade, what are we doing to that prospect when we continue to buy players to put in front of them. With regard to Duffy, he has something. He is small but there have been a few mistakes made by clubs who have seen aspiring players as being too small. Blood some of these young guys or be prepared to loose them it's as simple as that. If young players don't see a way through, the ability remains but the spark they have may become stale. That is when other clubs move in. The balancing act is tough and faces every club.