Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tri-Series flawed

Front-Rower

The only reason I can see why this tri-series is to be played fully in GB is because the last tri-series was played in Aus and NZ (I know definatley there were games in NZ, not to sure about Aus).

Its only fair the GB get to host it this time around.

ChiaPete

Not sure how effective it would be but I reckon it would be cool to see European Nations played as curtain raises to the Tri-Series matches. Take some matches to Wales, Scotland, Ireland with the likes of Aus v GB on after their respected countries matches crowds would increase perhaps???

Pete
GO BULLDOGS

The Observer

Now that the Tri Series is on for the next 3 years, RL authorities should make the most of it. It could incorporate the test series we have come to know about i.e. the Trans Tasman Series (Kangaroos Kiwis), the Ashes (Kangaroos Lions) and the Baskiville Cup (Kiwis Lions).

I would stage it like this if 2004.

APRIL - ANZAC Day test between Kangaroos and Kiwis in Sydney. 1st game to count towards Tri Series.

OCTOBER
* 3rd - NRL GF.
TRI SERIES CONTINUES
* 8th-10th. Trans Tasman Test 2 (Australia). England SL Semis
* 15th-17th. Trans Tasman Test 3 (NZ). England SL GF.
* 22nd-24th. Ashes Test 1 UK
* 29th-31st. Ashes Test 2 UK

NOVEMBER
* 5th-7th Ashes test 3 UK
* 12th-14th. Baskiville Cup Test 1
* 19th-21st. Baskiville Cup Test 2
* 26th-28th. Baskiville Cup Test 3.

The Tri Series would thus be made up of 9 tests rather than 4 as is probably the plan, but it would give a feast of footy to all three countries. So either the team with the most wins at the end of the round robin would win the Tri Series.

hgfds

I think the rights to internationals have been signed for the next 3 years so there was nil gain from a oz tri-series,in 2007 the wc and internationals can be marketed seperately so we could see nrl on 9 ,internationals wc on 7 etc.

Tidus_Raider

deluded pom? said:
Fampa said:
I can't remember the last time we had an international in Brisbane :cry:

It was 1999 in the Tri Series Tournament when 12,511 turned up to watch Aus flog G.B. 42 - 6

Alot's changes since then. RL is stronger than ever and continues to grow and Brisbane has the best RL stadium in Australia. It would sell-out easily.

Fampa

Considering Lang Park (oops Suncorp Stadium) allegedly had the best attendance of the RWC pool games, I would think that the IRLB needs to build on that experience and provide quality internationals.

Even a Friday evening (after work) as part of a 7s tournament would do well if it maintained a party atmosphere.