Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

up and coming players

Booyah

I reckon Roy Asotasi is one to watch too. I've only seen a few of his games, but he looks like a real Gun of a player.

Why he didn't play more this year I'll never know, especially considering ANDREW RYAN :lol: was in the starting lineup.

aqua_duck

westie said:
aqua_duck said:
From the Knights, watch out for 2 players in particular Michael Young, a very good young fullback, quite lanky built much like David Peachey. However the biggest prospect in the hunter is Michael Ennis, has played 1 game of 1st grade, only 19, played for NSW under 19's and Jnr Roos this year, outstanding young hooker, prolific try scorer, if Danny Buderus wasn't there he'd be a regualr 1st grader, carried the premier league team last season.

He didnt do a very good job. They still competed for the spoon. Time to go and reminisce about our 70 odd point win over ya's earlier in the year.
Mate we competed for the spoon yet he was till able to score 4 tries in a match on more than 3 occasions, so he must be doing something right. Our premier league wasnt really a premier league side, half the time it was a team of Fleggys and NEwcastle local comp players because there were so many injuries in 1st grade the real premier league players were playing 1st grade.

Canterbury

Ron Jeremy said:
Dog-E said:
Trent Cutler & Sonny-Bill Williams - Write those names down & practice pronouncing them....cos you're gonna be SCREAMING them in excitement come State of Origin time & beyond in the not-too-distant future, if you're a Blues Supporter!!...Or cursing their very existence if you're a cane toad!!
;-)

Sonny Bill Willams is garbage...he was completely outplayed by Parra young gun Justin Tslsous int here encounters this year!

He is over hyped...problem the reason why he hasn't played first grade if he was that good!!

Asotosi & Cutler are good players & we will see plenty of good games from them in the future.

was that the first or second game?

Dog-E

Balmain_Boy said:
Dog-E said:
Trent Cutler & Sonny-Bill Williams - Write those names down & practice pronouncing them

They aren't too hard to pronounce ;)

Isn't Sonny-Bill a Kiwi?

He was born in NZ, but is now 'naturalised' as an Aussie (if he wants to be!) as far as League representation goes...He played (And starred!) for the NSW U/19's just this season!...And he's only just gone 17!!

Whoever said Sonny-Bill was crap above - Mate, I can ONLY imagine that's the only game you've ever seen him play in!!...and nobody plays 100% in every game! SBW's human - he has his off days like anyone else!...Because this lad looks like he will be everything that Willie Mason SHOULD have been by now, and far more besides!!!

He has LOADS of skill, and a smart footy brain - and he is one BIG BOPPER!!..And u know what they say - "A good big man, will beat a good little man - every time!!" ;-)

Don't have 2 take my word for it right now...Just sit back 'n watch - you'll see SOON enuff!!! :D

Trent Cutler just KILLS it!!..I haven't been anticipating the blooding of a junior since...well, that i can remember, as I have him!!...I was pretty excited about Matt Riddle last year, but from what i've heard, his biggest asset was just his sheer PACE!...Great when put thru into space - But found it hard to make his OWN gaps! Whereas Trent Cutler is just awesome to watch in broken play - a REAL crowd pleaser! WATCH OUT BILLY SLATER!!!...Here comes Trent!!! :p

Canterbury

Dog-E said:
Balmain_Boy said:
Dog-E said:
Trent Cutler & Sonny-Bill Williams - Write those names down & practice pronouncing them

They aren't too hard to pronounce ;)

Isn't Sonny-Bill a Kiwi?

He was born in NZ, but is now 'naturalised' as an Aussie (if he wants to be!) as far as League representation goes...He played (And starred!) for the NSW U/19's just this season!...And he's only just gone 17!!

Whoever said Sonny-Bill was crap above - Mate, I can ONLY imagine that's the only game you've ever seen him play in!!...and nobody plays 100% in every game! SBW's human - he has his off days like anyone else!...Because this lad looks like he will be everything that Willie Mason SHOULD have been by now, and far more besides!!!

He has LOADS of skill, and a smart footy brain - and he is one BIG BOPPER!!..And u know what they say - "A good big man, will beat a good little man - every time!!" ;-)

Don't have 2 take my word for it right now...Just sit back 'n watch - you'll see SOON enuff!!! :D

Trent Cutler just KILLS it!!..I haven't been anticipating the blooding of a junior since...well, that i can remember, as I have him!!...I was pretty excited about Matt Riddle last year, but from what i've heard, his biggest asset was just his sheer PACE!...Great when put thru into space - But found it hard to make his OWN gaps! Whereas Trent Cutler is just awesome to watch in broken play - a REAL crowd pleaser! WATCH OUT BILLY SLATER!!!...Here comes Trent!!! :p

heya dog-e

have you seen any other players from our Flegg gf winning side this year? theres ment to be a stack of top notch players in there.. and with names like mortimer & lamb in the side i can see why.

trent will have a starting FB spot now that polglase is gone..

we've replaced a 3 star fullback with a 5 star fullback, i say.

EdBurton

I saw Kade Snowden for the Knights about 3 years ago and saw ALOT of potential, I can only assume that he's continued on that path considering he was picked for NSW Rep sides this year for under 18's and he's only JUST 17...

Dog-E

Canterbury said:
heya dog-e

have you seen any other players from our Flegg gf winning side this year? theres ment to be a stack of top notch players in there.. and with names like mortimer & lamb in the side i can see why.

trent will have a starting FB spot now that polglase is gone..

we've replaced a 3 star fullback with a 5 star fullback, i say.

Nah i saw SBW & Cutler running round in Premier League only - i never saw Flegg play last year...I only saw 'em when they were introduced 2 the crowd @ halftime in one of our home games last season, after they'd just won the title!

But apparently they were red-hot Premiers from what I heard - a cut above the rest!!

But isn't that ALWAYS the way down Belmore way?!?!...Heheh! Man I love our Junior setup!

Bullfrog mate - wherever you may be right now - BLESS YOU!!! :D

I HAVE seen Andrew Mortimer and Matt Lamb play in the junior leagues previously in recent years though...and from what I saw - I rate Andrew Mortimer (A very, very crafty hooker - looks to have inherited his old man's flair and inherent toughness - JUST what we so DESPERATELY need in the number 9 jersey - ASAP!!) as the more promising of the two!

yappy

Nothing like a cut above. Just be thankful the Maggies had their off day the week before and got knocked out.

That said the top three Sharks, Magpies, and Dogs were all pretty close. Plenty of good youngsters in all three clubs. SBW though is an absolute gun and will go all the way. Him and Galloway from the Sharks were the two real stand out champions I saw in Flegg.

As for Ennis he is either made to look good by the gumbies around him or he has a serious problem with Campbelltown Stadium. Saw him twice and saw NUTHIN! His NSW selection was a joke. Matty Brinkworth smashed him (as he usually does to his opponents) and even Matty wouldn't keep Rob Farah out.

Ones to watch:
Balmain's Farah is the gun hooker under 20.
Isaac De Gois and Collis are the Magpies guns and will be stars as Westie has asserted. The other really special talent we have and one guy who doesn't (yet) get the accolades he deserves is Andy Hamson. He's not quite up to size for the front row, but he's still growing. He is the hardest runner going already though and you can't teach that. Can hurt you in defence, always bends the line and can get a ball away. He's still a few years off the big time, but he'll get there and make a big impression when he does.

Phillips said:
Michael & Steve Witt
Trent Cutler
Vince Mellars
Terry Campese
Josh Miller

Vince Mellars will struggle to make the top grade next year with Tony Martin coming to the Warriors and havethe two Kiwis Test Centres at the club in Vinnie Anderson and Clinton Toopi.

From the Warriors i'd say that Jerome Ropati will be one to look out for, along with Marcus Perenara who plays in the halves (younger Brother Of Henry).

The Junior Kiwis Captain Louie Anderson younger brother of Vinnie Anderson.

Another one who has big wraps in Epalahame (Hame) Lauaki.

Hey Dog-E, are you sure Sonny's only 17? I'm his cousin (well, 2nd cousin) and I thought he was older than me, but apparently not. Was he still at school this year???

Anyway, he is a bloody Kiwi, he is as Kiwi as Benji Marshall. If he ever gets that good I'll be bloody annoyed if he refuses to play for NZ. You don't become Australian because you get recruited by an Australian club. He does have an Aussie grandma, but so do I, that's incidental, his parents are Kiwis.

Also, like BW#1F I'm hopeful that Hame Lauaki will get a run in 2004.

ali

Besides for Galloway the 2 best at Cronulla are Russell Aitken and David Simmons. Both are tremendous sportsmen who aren't neccessarily built for Rugby League at the age of 18. But a couple of good off seasons in the gym and these 2 will be awesome. Aitken will be our 5/8 for hopefully the next 10 years and Simmons is going to be Peachey's long term successor.

Both have the mark of great players, that is brilliant vision on the football field.

brook

Yappy already mentioned Robbie Farah - the kid will be a superstar

Theres a few others in Balmain worth watching but those I would consider the elite are Bronson Harrison (lock, centre, backrow or 5/8th went from sg ball to first division in 3 weeks while still only 16 has played NSW u/17's and junior kiwi's (although before thierry starts he's a true blue balmain junior - his parents are kiwi's) and will almost certainly debut in first grade next year)
The much under-rated Luke Thompson is another worth watching along with Mick Harper who is a fantastic young prop.

I also really like the look of Dave Pangai for Balmain although he's younger, at other clubs the standout I've seen has been Meaney from Manly - very much reminded me of a young menzies and I think he'll do well (although with the last two I'm talking 2-3 years time)

skeepe said:
From the Raiders:

Terry Campese
Ben Cross
Matt Gafa (not that young but deserves his chance)
Michael Weyman
Alwyn Simpson
James Evans
Jarrad Lawrence
Marshall Chalk
Todd Carney

It might have been easier if you mentioned the players who weren't going to make it! :lol:

Phillips

Rooster Cogburn. said:
skeepe said:
From the Raiders:

Terry Campese
Ben Cross
Michael Weyman
Alwyn Simpson
James Evans
Jarrad Lawrence
Marshall Chalk
Todd Carney

It might have been easier if you mentioned the players who weren't going to make it! :lol:

like the roosters premier league side

Dog-E

Thierry Henry said:
Hey Dog-E, are you sure Sonny's only 17? I'm his cousin (well, 2nd cousin) and I thought he was older than me, but apparently not. Was he still at school this year???

Anyway, he is a bloody Kiwi, he is as Kiwi as Benji Marshall. If he ever gets that good I'll be bloody annoyed if he refuses to play for NZ. You don't become Australian because you get recruited by an Australian club. He does have an Aussie grandma, but so do I, that's incidental, his parents are Kiwis.

Also, like BW#1F I'm hopeful that Hame Lauaki will get a run in 2004.

Well he was 16 last year...at some stage....that i DO know! so I spose it's possible he COULD be 18 by now if his birthday is later in the year I spose - JUST!!

But I'm damn sure I heard in a couple of places that he had made the U/19 Blues this year at the age of 17 - which as u can imagine, is quite an achievement!

And the choice is Sonny-Bill's re. who he wants to play for. Them's the rules!!...So the only incidental thing here is that he was born in NZ and had NZ parents!!! LOL :p

Personally I'd like to see him in Sky Blue and Green & Gold in the future...for the most obvious, biased reasons imaginable!! ;-)

Dog-E

Phillips said:
Rooster Cogburn. said:
skeepe said:
From the Raiders:

Terry Campese
Ben Cross
Michael Weyman
Alwyn Simpson
James Evans
Jarrad Lawrence
Marshall Chalk
Todd Carney

like the roosters premier league side

Apart from Pa'aea - and maybe one or 2 others - they're all about to collect their pensions the Roosters PL side!! :lol:

Go Gavin Lester!!! :lol: :p

aqua_duck

yappy said:
As for Ennis he is either made to look good by the gumbies around him or he has a serious problem with Campbelltown Stadium. Saw him twice and saw NUTHIN! His NSW selection was a joke. Matty Brinkworth smashed him (as he usually does to his opponents) and even Matty wouldn't keep Rob Farah out.
Well one of the games he played at Campbelltown was his first grade debut where he played in a well and truely smashed team and he didnt get much game time either so I don't know how you can make a judgement on that. As for his NSw selection, he was the best player in the under 19 game for NSW and got picked for the Australian team so maybe your the one who's a joke.

Mad Dogg

Besides the obvious one in Brett Seymour (who should finally break into our first team next season), the other big young gun the Broncos have coming through the ranks is Sam Thaiday. He's a 2nd rower/prop with a Tallis like impact.

There is also a young 5/8th named something like Tevita Qoro. He was awesome for the schoolboys in 2002, and we signed him later in the season. Haven't heard anything new about him but I'm guessing he's been playing for out Colts. He's also another cousin of Lote Tuqiri's.