Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

V saints the key matchups (players with a point to prove)

Eddie.

Hodgo v Hornby - Cant wait for this one to prove to all those doubters Hodgo is the form fullback. But taking nothing away from Hornby he has been excellent for them. both are as safe as houses and always chiming into the backline and sniffing around looking to be put into a hole.

Kerr v Head - Assuming Kerr is picked im sure he will be looking forward to making an impression on his old stomping ground. matty head has been sensational with his kicking game but i reckon keiron will be up for this one. both very good organisers with good passing games.

Kite/Ryles ( selectors favourites) v Skando - Skando has really improved for mine this year, He is hitting the line harder and running straight. The workload has always been good but the the quality of it has gone up considerably. Skando if any chance of an origin jumper has got to play all over these blokes, there the golden boys - get into them skando!!!

Im happy there going to be at full strength, sunday arvo footy, big crowd, crunch game, two sydney teams at a surburban crowd, it dont get much better then that

Bring it on!!

Suzie

Gotta agree, Eddie. Those match ups will be great to see. I'm glad the dragons are at full-strength too. There's nothing that bugs me more than the Tigers racking up a good win, and then to read, hear, the media, other team fans, saying "Oh, but such and such and so and so weren't playing for us. If they had, the Tigers wouldn't have won :roll: So let's thrash a full-strength Dragons team - so I can gloat to my step-dad :p

super_coach

eddie you sumed it up---should be a great game--they both play similar games--hogo form has been unbelievable-i would go as far to say as the form player in the nrl-has been a nine our of ten in nearly every game.This week will be a real test--should gives us an idea were we are really at.A win against this mob,might get some of the knockers off our back.I think with our work hungry mobile forwards,kerr and prince in the halves,hogo at full back and elford and the pocket rocket in the centres,things look pretty good--get out their and support the tigers--but get their early,i reckon the gates could be closed before kick off,with a full house

Snide the Tiger

Is Gasnier playing - because he and Cooper both carved against us last time - so both Dene & Elford have crucial match-ups!!!

Tigerpete

Dont forget Withers VS Wests Tigers too, he'll be out to make mockery of his former club no doubts.

mikey

The players i fear the most are Timmins, who carved us up last game, and Barret.

Get on top of them and the game is ours.

Tigerpete

yeah Timmins was awesome that day. Still history shows the stronger the saints team is for a game the more likely they are to fail to win. It wont happen for sure but there's that chance.

Mighty Tiger

Snide the Tiger said:
Is Gasnier playing - because he and Cooper both carved against us last time - so both Dene & Elford have crucial match-ups!!!

I thought Gasnier is out for the year because on an injury :?

Eddie I think your just about right with your match ups however I wouldn't put Skando by himself up against Kite and Ryles I think both Payten and Boof are looking great as well and we no longer have that one main forward at the club which really is great to see!!!!!

It will also be interesting to see what they will do with Buckets if he is named in the squad. You would think Fulton would drop off the bench for Buckets but would you drop Payten or Buff to the bench ????

skandofan

Eddie. said:
Kite/Ryles ( selectors favourites) v Skando - Skando has really improved for mine this year, He is hitting the line harder and running straight. The workload has always been good but the the quality of it has gone up considerably. Skando if any chance of an origin jumper has got to play all over these blokes, there the golden boys - get into them skando!!!

this will be VERY interesting... especially after Skando carved Clinton up at Penrith that friday game... nearly doubling his metres and hit-ups....

but rightly so clinton wasnt picked.... and yeah once u recieve a st george jumper everyone knows that without injury u r guaranteed an origin spot......

just ask hornby and kite..... wtf did they come from????

cadburys

There's also the fact that whilst this game throws up key match ups, the other point for us to prove, is that as far as scoreboards read at the end of any match, they beat us comfotably that day, on the field and on the scoreboard, 39-10.

We again don't have Benji for this return clash, but the one thing we do have, is a far bigger forward pack than in the first round.

All i could hear watching the first round on fox, was the echo from Gonzo Daley and Warren Smith, of how much bigger their forwards were, and that it was only a matter of time before the scoeline blows out.

Whilst this was true, we only had one forward of any size carving the ball up that day, Skando, plus the fact we dropped a fair bit of ball, especially in the second stanza.

This time we can match them in the big unit dept, it now remains to be seen if this time our ball security is better.

If it is, there is no reason why we can't get the bikkies.

:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

B_Tiger

we also haven't come up against a top side in good form and beaten them. I think wests tigers 2004 still have a lot to prove. They are probably on form the 8th or 9th best side (which is far higher then we have been previously) but it'd be great to see us really challenge an inform st.george side this weekend. I wouldn't even mind a loss, as long as the game is of a high quality. Skando playing very well two weeks in a row would be great to see.

tigger

I hope Linc gives Skando a hit like the one he gave to Joe Galuvao. That was one of the best hits i have seen anyone his size deliver.

SouthernTiger

Skandofan you have just killed your credibility. There is no way that Skando played over Clinton in that game. That was one of John's poorer games this year, Clinton manhandled him

cheers

s. tiger

Wobbygong

The tigers look really good to me, they are slowly but surely creeping up upon the top teams. The Dragons will be tough, however if you match it in forwards and Mears keeps ripping up the middle of the ruck, the Dragons might take you guys too lightly and get a bit of a rude shock.

I agree with Everlovin Antichrist, what's with this anti Wests sentiment, get over it for god sake your team is really looking the goods this season, there is no place for Wests versus Balmain. Tigger mate you sound as bitter as the dragons fans carrying on about Illawarra and Saints. Remember West Tigers fans are a little more sophisticated than that. Why would you want Withers to smash Skando the most underated prop in the NRL. Mate he's a champ!

Famous1

tigger said:
I hope Linc gives Skando a hit like the one he gave to Joe Galuvao. That was one of the best hits i have seen anyone his size deliver.
2 WORDS, BRAD MEYERS bleeding on the brain to poor withers

ud think he'd learn better

tigger

This is not a Balmain vs Western Suburbs thing. Skando is sh1t and should have been sent to the French League a long time ago. Lincoln is good and should have been retained.