Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Vagana

beekershark

Another match where he made a total of 2.......count em....2 special plays, a little skip and run for his try in the first half, and another big play with his steal late in the 2nd half....

BUT.

Just like most of his games this year, general play wise, he has been bloody average. Today he made innocuous runs from dummy half 5 times, neither gained more than 4/5 metres and he troubled the markers little by running straight at them and sucumbing to the tackles.

His kick chase was appalling and never looked like challengind for one of sullys grubbers in goal all game.

Is he here for retirement, struggling with injury , or simply not interested ? what's the story Nige ?

Special K

He hasn't had a good chance to have a combo with Noddy(due to them both being hurt and some games noddy going to zeus as he is not using to having a good 3 only a decent 4) or with our 5/8 as we keep swaping.

Nige for mine isn't going that badly. He is a smart man and that steal turned the game. Half the blokes in our team wouldn't have even thought of it.

Those runs from Dummy Half were the only things that annoyed me about his performance, I dont know what he was thinking with them. Its good at least to see him improving with a try and 1 or 2 other major plays

beekershark

Very true mate, I guess I just expect more, he is clearly not keen, and I just imagine how good he culd be for us if he showed some enthusiasm !!

The centre is the leader of the kick chase, and that clearly is where he is failing to lead the team and our yojnger backs, because today we were again carved by long range runs for failing to properly support decent kicks with a good kick chase....yes, Zeuss, bird, sully, kent, hilder and even beats and stevo were guilty of not making the big tackles once then chased, but significant was the fact the Vagana was NEVER one of the players attempting the tackle on the kick returner.....

Our last international centre was usually the FIRST one there.

El Coconuto

We bought Vagana for his class and leadership and for a side that has at times lacked Kimmorley, Peachey and Bailey he's done an admirable job. Also consider that at times he hasn't had the best side to work with but he's maintained himself well. I'm satisfied with his performances. We're getting victories and there's still room for improvement which is a good sign.

The idea of the dummy half runs was good. Someone needed to take the workload odd the forwards so late in the game... and he stepped up to the plate to do it.

The only problem was the execution.

Sorry but I have been quietly building my criticism of Mr Vagana for a few weeks now.
this weeks major change was not actually Kent.
The biigest issue & the biggest change was changing Nigel to the other side of the field to "adddress the perceived lack of ball" problem.
He got the ball today & failed to deliver.
His missed tackle on Carmont was appauling.
When kennedy stood him up, it was appauling.
12 points to newcastle courtesy of Mr Vagana.

Somebody said something the other day which I believe is quite true.
How can you be really serious about your job if you are already thinking about your next job?

Marduk

I thought Nigel made some really good plays against the Knights. He didn't get the ball all that much, but when he did they were quality touches.

I have been saying that he will come good all year and he hasn't arrived there yet. I will give him until Noddy comes back and he is on the left. If Noddy doesn't use him on the left then something is seriously wrong.

Come on Vags.

RICHO

Nige played alright.
Give the bloke some credit!!!
He scored a try, and didn't do much (if anything wrong).

What is everyone expecting of him? Miracles? 3 tries per game?
What does he have to do?!?!?

He needs to be making line breaks and setting his wingers up atleast 3 or 4 times a game. That's why we got him.

His support play has been good and up until yesterday they were not giving him the opportunities. He ain't going to get dropped but he has to start earning his money.

I just hope Noddy uses him more now he is on the left.

beekershark

no miracles, BUt he needs to at least TROUBLE the defence.

Mcgoldrick was a far more valuable centre in both attack and defence yesterday, heavily involved and taking the line on, setting up rieck at the end was all Ryans work.

Vagana needs to kick chase, and at least sucvk 2 players into tackling him, if he makes no breaks a match but sucks in two defenders each time then thats good enough, even Bailey attracted more defence when playing centres.

For an international centre who only last year was the best in the world, its not good enough, plain and simple.

chileman

beekershark said:
Another match where he made a total of 2.......count em....2 special plays, a little skip and run for his try in the first half, and another big play with his steal late in the 2nd half....

BUT.

Just like most of his games this year, general play wise, he has been bloody average. Today he made innocuous runs from dummy half 5 times, neither gained more than 4/5 metres and he troubled the markers little by running straight at them and sucumbing to the tackles.

His kick chase was appalling and never looked like challengind for one of sullys grubbers in goal all game.

Is he here for retirement, struggling with injury , or simply not interested ? what's the story Nige ?
I thought he was out injured until he made a play at the ball halfway through the first half :shock: Didn't see the 2nd half but you'd be hoping for more out of him at the price!

Sideline Eye

Nigel needs to be put into the clear, he is a finisher not a creator. Our 5/8s dont get enough ball out to the backs, they tend to hold it for a touch too long. He needs another centre or player to attract players and then slip him the ball. Hopefully our new signing Mellars might do this.

bubs

With Kimmorley, Bailey and Vagana on the field, when Kimmroley passes to Bailey, how many times does he pass the ball to Vagana per game.
I'm guessing the average is ummm 0 times.
I feel Vagana is not enjoying his football at the moment here. He was bought as a linebreaker and for his try scoring abilities under Anderson. As he gets next to no ball being on the opposite side of both Kimmorleys passing game, and Bailey liking to hog the ball at times, confidence is down and therefore, so is his performance.
While he certainly did sign autographs for supporters at Newcastle yesterday, he appears to be a very quiet person. Doesn't like the spotlight at all in my opinion.

beekershark

He's not enjoying his footy Bubs, you got that right 100%

He's not a toiler, not a hard working player, he is a gifted ball runner and finisher as has been pointed out above. He is often seen being very slow to get back onside and his poor kick chase proves his lack of work ethic.

I just think he needs to be used in a diffferent way to take better advantage of that natiral gift